

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

ENHANCING RECREATIONAL TRAILS FOR NON-MOTORIZED USE

Senator Jim Sullivan, **Chair** 2650 North 72nd Street Wauwatosa, WI 53213

Representative Spencer Black 5742 Elder Place Madison, WI 53705

Mike Carlson Gathering Waters Conservancy 211 South Paterson Street, Suite 270 Madison, WI 53703

Chris Fortune Saris Cycling Group 5253 Verona Road Madison, WI 53711

Mary Motiff Tourism and Recreation, Bayfield County P.O. Box 832 Washburn, WI 54891

David Phillips Governor's State Trails Council 30 Southwick Circle Madison, WI 53717 Representative Jim Ott, **Vice-Chair** 11743 N. Lakeshore Drive Mequon, WI 53092

Representative Dean R. Kaufert 1360 Alpine Lane Neenah, WI 54956

Charlie Dee Instructor, Milw. Area Technical College 2024 North Hi Mount Boulevard Milwaukee, WI 53208

Jack Hirt Bicycle Federation of Wisconsin 1845 N. Farwell Avenue, Suite 100 Milwaukee, WI 53202

Joel Patenaude Silent Sports Magazine P.O. Box 152 Waupaca, WI 54981

Harry Wozniak Wheel and Sprocket 5722 South 108th Street Hales Corners, WI 53130

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to review safety issues regarding conflicts between motorized and non-motorized uses, ways to avoid conflicts among trail uses, education programs to provide information about how to avoid trail use conflicts, and increased enforcement by DNR wardens, regarding safety, noise, and operational issues. The committee will also review the availability of private land for non-motorized recreation and address ways to increase that availability.

12 MEMBERS: 1 Senator; 3 Representatives; and 8 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Mark Patronsky and Don Salm, Senior Staff Attorneys; Dan Schmidt, Senior Analyst; and Wendy Ulrich and Joan Bloom, Support Staff.