

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

<u>AGENDA</u> SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON ENHANCING RECREATIONAL TRAILS FOR NON-MOTORIZED USE (Senator Jim Sullivan, Chair)

August 14, 2008

Ramada Convention Center, Aspen Room 205 S. Barstow Street Eau Claire, Wisconsin

1:00 p.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

1:05 p.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Mark C. Patronsky, Legislative Council Staff.
- Senator Jim Sullivan, Chair.
- 1:15 p.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.
- 1:30 p.m. DISTRIBUTION OF MATERIALS:
 - Memo No. 1, State Statutes and Administrative Rules Related to Trails (August 4, 2008).
 - Memo No. 2, Summary and Recommendations of the 2006 Legislative Council Special Committee on State Trails Policy (August 4, 2008).
 - Publication, *Funding For Wisconsin Trails*, PUB-PR-464, prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources' Bureau of Parks and Recreation and Community Financial Assistance, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, and the Wisconsin Department of Administration (April 2002, edited December 2003).

1:45 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Brigit Brown, State Trails Coordinator, Bureau of Parks and Recreation, Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- Diane Conklin, Snowmobile, ATV and Recreational Boating Grant Manager, Bureau of Community Financial Assistance, DNR.

(OVER)

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <u>leg.council@legis.state.wi.us</u> <u>http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc</u>

- Rodney Clark, Director, Bureau of Transit, Local Roads, Railroads and Harbors, Division of Transportation Investment Management, Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT).
- Thomas Huber, State Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator, DOT.
- John Duffe, Program Manager, Bicycle and Pedestrian Facilities Program, DOT.
- 2:30 p.m. PUBLIC TESTIMONY.
- 4:00 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 5:30 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 5:35 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 5:45 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Ott, Black, and Kaufert; and Public Members Carlson, Dee, Fortune, Hirt, Motiff, Patenaude, Phillips, and Wozniak.