

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AND CONTINUITY OF GOVERNMENT

(Senator Robert Jauch, Chair)

July 30, 2008

Large Conference Room Legislative Council 1 East Main St., Suite 401 Madison, WI

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

• Terry C. Anderson, Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council.

10:15 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

10:25 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- Chapter 166, Stats.
- Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners Act (Last Revised or Amended in 2007), National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (November 1, 2007).
- Letter from 11 local emergency management officials, to Johnnie L. Smith, Administrator, Wisconsin Emergency Management, distributed at the request of Chair Jauch (March 16, 2007).

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- Letter, from Gregg A. Cleveland, La Crosse Fire Chief (forwarded by Representative Jennifer Shilling), distributed at the request of Chair Jauch (July 15, 2008).
- Memorandum, from Rick Olin, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Bureau, *Description of County and Municipal Levy Limit Program*, distributed at the request of Chair Jauch (July 18, 2008).

10:30 a.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Johnnie Smith, Administrator, Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management.
- Tom Anderson, Emergency Coordinator, and Billie Bayou, Emergency Assistance Volunteer Registry Coordinator, Wisconsin Department of Health Services.

12:00 p.m. LUNCH.

1:00 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Art Zoellner, Continuity of Government Director, Wisconsin Department of Administration.
- Robert Marchant, Senate Chief Clerk, and Patrick Fuller, Assembly Chief Clerk.
- 2:45 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 3:15 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 3:20 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 3:30 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Ballweg, Kerkman, and Schneider; and Public Members Alexander, Dalton, Hamedani, Hartje, Kessler, Ritger, and Smith.