

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

DIFFERENCES IN LAWS APPLICABLE TO CITIES AND VILLAGES

Representative Mark Gottlieb, **Chair** 1205 Noridge Trail Port Washington, WI 53074

Representative Joan Ballweg 170 West Summit Street Markesan, WI 53946

Patrick Cannon City Administrator 300 East Main Street Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Mike May City Attorney 210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Rm. 401 Madison, WI 53703

Mike Morse Village Attorney W156 N8480 Pilgrim Road Menomonee Falls, WI 53051-3140 Senator Jeff Plale, **Vice Chair** 1404 18th Avenue South Milwaukee, WI 53172

Representative Suzanne Jeskewitz N80 W15239 Hilltop Drive Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

Mr. Dan Mahoney Plover Village Administrator Plover Municipal Building P.O. Box 37 2400 Post Road Plover, WI 54467

Jerry Menne Village President 1099 Daisy Lane Ashwaubenon, WI 54304

Curt Witynski Assistant Director League of Wisconsin Municipalities 4318 Waite Circle Madison, WI 53711

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to review laws relating to cities and villages, other than those laws that relate to the fundamental organizational structure that distinguishes cities and villages, to determine discrepancies and inconsistencies in the application of those laws to each type of municipality and recommend, when appropriate and advantageous, rectifying those discrepancies and inconsistencies that exist for no apparent policy rationale.

10 MEMBERS: 1 Senator, 3 Representatives, and 6 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Don Dyke and Ronald Sklansky, Senior Staff Attorneys; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.