

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

## STRENGTHENING WISCONSIN FAMILIES

Representative Steve Kestell, **Chair** W3829 State Highway 32 Elkhart Lake, WI 53020

Senator Dale W. Schultz 515 N. Central Avenue Richland Center, WI 53581

Senator Lena C. Taylor 3407 West Highland Drive Milwaukee, WI 53208

Lisa Boyd-Gonzalez YWCA of Greater Milwaukee 1915 North Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Drive Milwaukee, WI 53212

Charity Eleson 555 W. Washington Avenue, Suite 200 Madison, WI 53703

Kenneth Munson Children's Service Society of WI 3284 North Summit Avenue Milwaukee, WI 53211

Paula Roberts City of Milwaukee Health Department 841 N Broadway, 3rd Floor Milwaukee, WI 53202-3653

Carol Wright Executive Director Marquette County Human Services P.O. Box 405 Montello, WI 53949 Representative Don Pridemore 2277 Hwy K Hartford, WI 53027

Representative Donna J. Seidel 807 South 20th Street Wausau, WI 54403

Jon D. Angeli Grant County Department of Social Services 253 So. Harrison Street Lancaster, WI 53813

John Burgess Family and Children's Center 1707 Main Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Paul Minkus 2606 Sara Road Madison, WI 53711

Jodi Roberts 4648 Willow Street Morrisonville, WI 53571

Jack Westman Wisconsin Cares, Inc. 1234 Dartmouth Road Madison, WI 53705-2214

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to study the Wisconsin Works (W-2) Program and the child welfare system to determine methods to improve collaboration between the two systems in order to support, strengthen, and, in some cases, reunify families. The committee shall review recent legislative audits of both systems. The committee shall determine how the W-2 Program may be more supportive of the family unit. In addition, the committee shall study how participation in the child welfare system affects the receipt of public benefits and how public benefits affect a parent's ability to meet conditions under a child welfare court order.

15 MEMBERS: 2 Senators, 3 Representatives, and 10 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Laura Rose, Deputy Director; Scott Grosz, Staff Attorney; Anne Sappenfield, Senior Staff Attorney; and Tracey Uselman, Support Staff.