
WLC: 0038/2

DWS:ksm

TRAIL:  ATV Fees

01/12/2007

AN ACT to renumber and amend 23.33 (2j) (c); to amend 23.33 (2) (c), 23.33 (2) (d)

and 23.33 (2) (dm) 2.; and to create 23.33 (2j) (c) 2. of the statutes; relating to: fees

for registration of all−terrain vehicles for public and private use, fees for commercial

all−terrain vehicle certificates, and fees for nonresident all−terrain vehicle trail

passes.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as
follows:

JOINT  LEGISLATIVE  COUNCIL  PREFATORY NOTE:  This bill draft was
prepared for the Joint Legislative Council’s Special Committee on State
Trails Policy.

SECTION  1.  23.33 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

23.33 (2) (c)  Registration; public use; fee.  Any all−terrain vehicle may be registered

for public use.  The fee for the issuance or renewal of a registration certificate for public use

is $30 $50.

NOTE:  Under current law, no person may operate, and no owner may
give permission for the operation of, an all−terrain vehicle (ATV) within
the state of Wisconsin unless the ATV is registered for public use (i.e.,
for use on public trails or routes), private use (i.e., used exclusively on
private property), is exempt from registration or is certified for
commercial use (i.e., manufacturers, dealers, or distributors or persons
engaged in the business of renting ATVs).

This provision increases the fee for issuance or renewal of a registration
certificate for public use of an ATV from $30 to $50.  The registration is
valid for 2 years.

Based on current department of natural resources (DNR) estimates that
approximately 230,000 ATVs share a public registration (calculated at
115,000 registrations per year to generate the annual number), the
current fee raises about $3.5 million annually.  Assuming the same
230,000 registrations, under this provision of the bill, the fee increase
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would raise approximately $5.75 million annually.  The result is an
increase in revenue of approximately $2.25 million annually.

SECTION  2.  23.33 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

23.33 (2) (d)  Registration; private use; fee.  An all−terrain vehicle used exclusively for

agricultural purposes or used exclusively on private property may be registered for private use.

The fee for the issuance of a registration certificate for private use is $15 $25.

NOTE:  This provision increases the fee for issuance or renewal of a
registration certificate for private use of an ATV from $15 to $25.  The
private registration is valid from initial purchase of the registration to the
time that ownership is transferred.

The DNR estimates that approximately 5,000 ATVs are registered for
private use each year.  The current fee of $15 raises about $75,000
annually.  Assuming a continued 5,000 private registrations each year,
the increased fee, at $25, would raise approximately $125,000 per year.
The result is a revenue increase of approximately $50,000 annually.

SECTION  3.  23.33 (2) (dm) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

23.33 (2) (dm) 2.  The fee for the issuance or renewal of a commercial all−terrain vehicle

certificate is $90 $100.  Upon receipt of the application form required by the department and

the fee required under this subdivision, the department shall issue to the applicant a

commercial all−terrain vehicle certificate and 3 reflectorized plates.  The fee for additional

reflectorized plates is $30 $40 per plate.

NOTE:  This provision increases the fee for issuance or renewal of a
certificate for commercial use of an ATV from $90 to $100.  The
commercial certificate is valid for 2 years.

Based on DNR estimates that approximately 650 ATVs are registered for
commercial use annually, the fee currently raises about $60,000
annually.  Assuming the same 650 annual registrations in the future,
under this provision of the bill, the new fee would raise approximately
$65,000 annually. This results in a revenue increase of about $5,000
annually.

The current fee of $30 per reflectorized plate is increased to $40 per
plate for each additional plate that is issued beyond the 3 plates that are
issued with the commercial certificate.  The DNR estimates of
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approximately 100 additional plates sold per year result in revenue of
approximately $3,000 annually under current law and approximately
$4,000 annually under the new provisions.  The increase results in an
approximate increase of $1,000 annually.  The fee for additional plates is
also increased under this provision.

SECTION  4.  23.33 (2j) (c) of the statutes is renumbered 23.33 (2j) (c) 1. and amended

to read:

23.33 (2j) (c) 1.   The fee for a an annual nonresident trail pass issued for an all−terrain

vehicle that is exempt from registration under sub. (2) (b) 2. is $17.25 $44.25.  A An annual

nonresident trail pass issued for such an all−terrain vehicle may be issued only by the

department and persons appointed by the department and expires on June 30 of each year.

SECTION  5.  23.33 (2j) (c) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

23.33 (2j) (c) 2.  The fee for a 7−day nonresident trail pass issued for an all−terrain

vehicle that is exempt from registration under sub. (2) (b) 2. is $17.25.  A 7−day nonresident

trail pass issued for such an all−terrain vehicle may be issued only by the department and

persons appointed by the department and expires seven days after issuance.

NOTE:  These provisions increase the annual fee for a nonresident
all−terrain vehicle (ATV) trail pass to $44.25 and establish a 7−day
nonresident trail pass for a fee of $17.25.  The current statute requires
the department of natural resources to collect an issuing fee of $0.75 for
issuing a nonresident ATV trail pass.

This provision will increase the amount of the total fee for each annual
and 7−day nonresident trail pass to $45 and $18, respectively.  Based on
current nonresident ATV trail pass sales estimates of 12,500 annually,
the current fee raises approximately $215,000 annually.  Assuming,
under the new fees, that 80% of the nonresidential ATV trail users will
purchase a weekly pass and the remaining 20% of nonresident ATV trail
users will purchase an annual pass, the weekly pass will raise
approximately $250,000 annually and the annual pass approximately
$63,000 annually.  This results in total annual revenue of approximately
$313,000, an increase of approximately $98,000 annually.

SECTION  6.0Initial applicability.
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(1)  FEE INCREASE.  The treatment of section 23.33 (2) (c), (d), (dm) 2. of the statutes first

applies to all−terrain vehicle registration certificates issued or renewed on the effective date

of this subsection.

(2)  FEE INCREASE  The treatment of sections 23.33 (2j) (c) of the statutes first applies

to annual nonresident trail passes issued or renewed after January 1, 2009.

(END)
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