



WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

PLACEMENT OF SEX OFFENDERS

Representative Garey D. Bies, **Co-Chair** 2520 Settlement Road Sister Bay, WI 54234

Senator Lena C. Taylor 3407 West Highland Drive Milwaukee, WI 53208

Mel Flanagan Milwaukee County Circuit Court, Branch 4 821 W. State St. Milwaukee, WI 53233-1427

Sandy Maher-Johnson Citizens for a Safe Wisconsin 7804 Stonewood Circle Franklin, WI 53132

Larry Rickard W194 S8476 Providence Way Muskego, WI 53150

Marla Stephens State Public Defender, Appellate Division 735 N. Water St. #912 Milwaukee, WI 53202 Representative Scott Suder, **Co-Chair** 102 South 4th Avenue Abbotsford, WI 54405

Susan Eberhard UW-Stout 250 Vocational Rehabilitation Bldg. P.O. Box 790 Menomonie, WI 54751

Kerry Kirn Clark County 517 Court Street #308 Neillsville, WI 54456

Terry Marshall ATTIC Correctional Services, Inc. 601 Atlas Avenue Madison, WI 53707-7370

Audrey Skwierawski Asst. D.A., Milwaukee County 231 West State Street Milwaukee, WI 53233

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to study current policies and practices of the Department of Corrections relating to placement of persons who have been convicted of a sex offense in the community. The special committee shall also review current statutes relating to placement of sex offenders and determine whether additional statutory requirements on where such offenders may be placed would enhance public safety. The special committee shall also study the effect of placing additional statutory requirements on the ability to place offenders and the impact of additional requirements on urban and rural areas of Wisconsin.

11 MEMBERS: 1 Senator, 2 Representatives, and 8 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Don Salm and Anne Sappenfield, Senior Staff Attorneys; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.