

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR POWER (Rep. Phil Montgomery, Chair)

December 14, 2006 Room 411 South State Capitol

9:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

9:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE'S NOVEMBER 15, 2006 MEETING.

9:10 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF STAFF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- Memo No. 2, State Laws Limiting the Construction of New Nuclear Power Plants (November 29, 2006).
- Memo No. 3, Overview of Presentations to the Special Committee (December 13, 2006).
- Suggested Principles for Policy Changes on Nuclear Power in Wisconsin, email message to Chair Montgomery from Public Member Michael Corradini (November 19, 2006).

9:15 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATIONS: TRANSPORTATION OF RADIOACTIVE WASTES.

- Jay Jones, Physical Scientist, Office of Logistics Management, Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management.
- Lisa Janairo, Council of State Governments Midwestern Office.
- Paul Schmidt, Chief, Radiation Protection Section, Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS).

- 11:15 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATION: COST COMPARISON OF ELECTRIC GENERATION TECHNOLOGIES.
 - Steve Gehl, Technical Executive, Energy Technology Assessment Center, Electric Power Research Institute.
- 12:15 p.m. LUNCH.
- 1:30 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 4:25 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:30 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Hansen; Reps. Benedict, Honadel, and Vos; and Public Members Ceel, Corradini, Higley, Nekola, Orth, Pickens, Rude, Schillinger, Shaten, Stratton, Ward, and Weissgerber.