

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Terry C. Anderson, Director Laura D. Rose, Deputy Director

TO: MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON WISCONSIN'S TRANSPORTATION

NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE

FROM: Dan Schmidt, Senior Analyst

RE: LRB-1149/P1, Relating to Creating a Council on Transportation Infrastructure in the

Department of Transportation

DATE: January 6, 2005

This memorandum describes the provisions of the preliminary bill draft LRB-1149/P1. The draft was prepared at the request of Senator Ted Kanavas, Chairperson of the Special Committee on Wisconsin's Transportation Network Infrastructure, in response to testimony heard by the Special Committee in its initial four meetings. The Special Committee was directed to examine Wisconsin's transportation network infrastructure, especially the infrastructure for the transportation modes of railroads, seaports, and air; to determine ways to improve these facilities; to encourage intermodal forms of transportation; and to encourage regional cooperation among Midwestern states in improving freight and passenger transportation to increase efficiency and to alleviate highway congestion.

The draft establishes a 15-member Council on Transportation Infrastructure in the Department of Transportation. The Council is charged with making recommendations and providing advice to the Office of the Secretary of Transportation on matters related to transportation infrastructure development, with an emphasis on intermodal transportation opportunities between railways, harbors, and airports in Wisconsin. The Council must meet with the Secretary of Transportation or his or her designee at least once each quarter.

The Council consists of the following 15 members:

- 1. Five members, appointed by the Governor, who have knowledge or experience in matters related to transportation infrastructure.
- 2. Five state officers, appointed by the Governor, whose duties are related to transportation infrastructure.

- 3. Three representatives to the Assembly, appointed as are members of Assembly standing committees, who serve on any Assembly standing committee dealing with transportation matters.
- 4. Two Senators, appointed as are members of the Senate standing committees, who serve on any Senate standing committee dealing with transportation matters.

Members of the Council on Transportation Infrastructure appointed by the Governor serve on the Council for three-year terms. Legislative members serve for the length of the legislative session during which they were appointed, generally, two years.

If you have any questions regarding LRB-1149/P1 or the information contained in this memorandum, please feel free to contact me at the Legislative Council staff offices.

DWS:jal