

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

## TAX EXEMPTIONS FOR RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY (COLUMBUS PARK)

Representative Jeff Fitzgerald, Chair 910 Sunset Horicon, WI 53032

Representative Mark Gottlieb 1205 Noridge Trail Port Washington, WI 53074

Representative Ann M. Nischke 202 W. College Avenue Waukesha, WI 53186

Representative Leah Vukmir 2544 North 93rd Street Wauwatosa, WI 53226

Paul Hoffman Hoffman Corporation N434 Greenville Center Appleton, WI 54914

Frederic E. Mohs Mohs, MacDonald, Widder & Paradise 20 North Carroll Street Madison, WI 53703

Mary Reavey City of Milwaukee 200 East Wells Street, 507 City Hall Milwaukee, WI 53202

John Sauer WAHSA 204 South Hamilton Street Madison, WI 53703 Representative Terese Berceau 4181 Cherokee Drive Madison, WI 53711

Senator Julie M. Lassa 1900 Clark Street Stevens Point, WI 54481

Senator Cathy Stepp 14520 50th Road Sturtevant, WI 53177-1034

Gregg Hagopian City of Milwaukee 200 East Wells Street, 800 City Hall Milwaukee, WI 53202-3551

Robert Jones WISCAP 1310 Mendota Street, Suite 107 Madison, WI 53714-1039

Timothy J. Radelet Foley & Lardner LLP P.O. Box 1497 Madison, WI 53701-1497

Fritz Ruf Wisconsin Housing Preservation Corp. 2 East Mifflin Street, Suite 401 Madison, WI 53703

Earl R. Thayer 5210 Fairway Drive Madison, WI 53711

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to study issues surrounding the property tax exemption for property leased as residential housing, including: (1) the impact of *Columbus Park Housing v. City of Kenosha*, 267 Wis. 2d 59 (2003) on the exemption; (2) the effect of the exemption on: municipalities, property taxpayers, residents of tax-exempt housing, the availability of financing for development of low-income housing, and benevolent activities of tax-exempt organizations; and (3) any other issues the committee considers relevant. The committee shall develop and recommend legislation relating to these issues as it finds appropriate

16 MEMBERS: 2 Senators, 5 Representatives, and 9 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Laura Rose, Deputy Director, Mary Matthias, Senior Staff Attorney, and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.