November 2020

Wisconsin Private Colleges, Tribal Colleges, and Other Private, Post-Secondary Schools

Prepared by: Emily Hicks, Staff Attorney, and Dan Schmidt, Deputy Director

PRIVATE COLLEGES

Wisconsin has over 20 private, nonprofit, accredited degree-granting colleges and universities, a majority of which are members of the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU). WAICU acts as the official representative of its member institutions and has a statutorily reserved seat on certain state boards. Though the state does not directly fund any WAICU institutions, many state-funded scholarships, grants, and programs may be used by students attending private, nonprofit colleges and universities. Besides these specified board seats and state-funded aid to students, WAICU institutions operate entirely independent of the state. The following institutions belong to WAICU:

Alverno College Edgewood College Mount Mary University

Bellin College Herzing University Medical College of Wisconsin

Beloit College Lakeland University Nashotah House Theological Seminary

Cardinal Stritch University

Lawrence University

Northland College
Carroll University

Marquette University

Ripon College
Carthage College

Marian University

St. Norbert College
Columbia College of Nursing

Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design

Silver Lake College
Concordia University Wisconsin

Milwaukee School of Engineering

Viterbo University

Wisconsin Lutheran College

Each institution has a distinct mission, emphasis, and approach to teaching and learning. Some of the institutions are religiously affiliated but, except for Nashotah House Theological Seminary, all accept students regardless of creed. A comparative review of private institutions, as well as links to the websites of each institution, can be found at: http://www.wisconsinsprivatecolleges.org/colleges.

Private colleges and universities receive no direct operating funding from the state. They are governed by private boards of trustees. All private colleges and universities in Wisconsin are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, except for Nashotah House, which is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.

WAICU is designated by state statute as the official representative of Wisconsin's private colleges and universities and, therefore, acts on behalf of both WAICU-member and nonmember institutions in some circumstances. The college and university presidents of WAICU-member institutions serve as WAICU's Board of Directors. The president of WAICU or his or her designee, along with the president of the University of Wisconsin System and the president of the Wisconsin Technical College System, is a member of the Educational Communications Board, the Wisconsin Technology Council, the College Savings Program Board (EdVest), the Distance Learning Authorization Board, and the Council on Workforce Investment. [ss. 15.185 (5), 15.57, and 15.675, Stats.; 29 U.S.C. s. 3111.]

TRIBAL COLLEGES

There are two tribal colleges in Wisconsin: the College of Menominee Nation (CMN); and the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa College (LCOOC). The main CMN campus is located in Keshena, and there is also a campus in Green Bay.

LCOOC has a main campus in Hayward and three Outreach Sites operating on four nearby Ojibwe reservations: Bad River; Lac du Flambeau; Red Cliff; and St. Croix. LCOOC also provides research, education, and community outreach through its Community College Extension at the Hayward campus.

Each college is operated as a nonprofit institution by the respective tribe, and both offer two-year associate degrees and less-than-two-year certificates in a variety of fields. CMN also offers bachelor's degrees in select programs. The colleges have an open enrollment policy, meaning nontribal members may enroll. Both tribal colleges are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Additional information about the tribal colleges is available on their websites: http://www.menominee.edu/ and https://www.lco.edu/.

PRIVATE TRADE, CORRESPONDENCE, BUSINESS, AND TECHNICAL SCHOOLS

There are over 200 private schools in Wisconsin that train people in a wide variety of occupations. The majority of the schools are for-profit businesses owned by an individual or a corporation. The schools vary greatly in size, but most provide small classes and individualized instruction.

Private post-secondary schools, including for-profit post-secondary schools (except those regulated by other state agencies, such as cosmetology schools) and in-state nonprofit post-secondary institutions incorporated after January 1992 are regulated under the Educational Approval Program (EAP).

Most private post-secondary schools serving Wisconsin students, whether they are located within or outside the state, are required to obtain EAP approval prior to advertising or providing training. Training which leads to employment or ongoing education is generally approved. Approval must be renewed annually.

The following kinds of training are exempt from EAP oversight:

- Religious or strictly sectarian training.
- Professional development.
- Training provided for a business with limited access to nonemployees.
- Employers training their own employees.

Under Wisconsin law, if a private post-secondary school serves a Wisconsin resident, even if only via online programming, it must be EAP-approved unless the school is exempt. However, many schools offering programs and degrees via the internet do not seek EAP approval. To protect themselves, consumers may contact the Department of Safety and Professional Services before enrolling in schools offering distance learning programs. [s. 440.52, Stats.]

More information regarding EAP-approved schools is available at: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Programs/EducationalApproval/Default.aspx.