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Assembly Committee on Insurance 
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Good Morning Chairman Petersen and Distinguished Members of the Committee: 

 

My name is Nichole Yunk Todd and I represent Wisconsin Community Services, better 

known as WCS, the state’s oldest and largest social services agency providing services 

to individuals who are involved in the justice system.   

 

My agency is the operating partner of the Center for Driver’s License Recovery and 

Employability.    

 

Over the past eight years, I and others at the Center have worked to identify and 

change laws related to driver’s license suspensions.  We have achieved bipartisan 

success, with Governors Walker and Doyle signing these reforms.  These changes have 

helped to dramatically increase the number of legal drivers on our roads, improving 

the safety for all who use them. 

 

While we do not doubt Rep. Sanfelippo’s sincerity in bringing forth this legislation in 

an effort to increase the number of insured drivers in our state; unfortunately, it will 

have the opposite effect by further destabilizing low to moderate income drivers who 

cannot afford auto insurance despite what the law requires.  

 

Mandatory auto insurance became effective in Wisconsin on June 1, 2010, over the 

objections of the insurance industry.  Since then, our law enforcement officers have 

been aggressively enforcing it.  The annual number of tickets written for driving 

without insurance and driving without proof of insurance has been well over 100,000.  

Last year, these two categories represented the third and fourth highest written tickets 

in our state.  

 

These drivers are not getting off easy.  They receive a ticket that generally ranges 

between $120 and $250 for driving without insurance.  Someone making minimum 

wage will work 17 to 35 hours to be able to pay this ticket.  If they do not or cannot 

pay, their driver’s licenses will be suspended for up to two years for failure to pay a 

forfeiture.    
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Yet, Wisconsin has almost the same rate of uninsured drivers as we did when the bill 

went into effect in 2010, which was still during the Great Recession.  It was 15% then, 

today it is a little lower, at 12%, which can be credited to a stronger economy. 

 

The legislature cannot ignore the fact that many individuals who have low to moderate 

incomes cannot afford auto insurance.  According to J. Robert Hunter, former Federal 

Insurance Commissioner under Presidents Ford and Carter, and former Texas 

Insurance Commissioner, the majority of persons with low to moderate incomes have 

to pay over $1,000 per year for auto insurance.  For those of you who are not familiar 

with this income level, these are individuals who make $12,000 per year or less.   

 

Based on a dozen studies of industry rates nationwide, individuals with low to 

moderate incomes are clearly penalized for factors that have nothing to do with 

unsafe driving: 

 

 Less education means higher auto insurance rates;  

 A lower-paying job means higher rates;  

 Being single, divorced, or widowed means higher rates;  

 Even a short lapse in coverage means higher rates;  

 Not paying your premium in full means higher rates; 

 Living in a poorer zip code means higher rates;  

 Living in an area with a higher percentage of people of color means higher 

rates; and 

 A lower credit score means higher rates.   

 

We all know people who are paying higher rates because of one or more of these 

factors, including family or friends.  Do you think they deserve to be penalized with up 

to a three-year license suspension and up to $1,500 in fines if they cannot afford to keep 

up with Wisconsin’s relatively new auto insurance requirement? 

 

We all want to be safe on the road and protect ourselves and our family and friends.  

Getting into an accident with someone who does not auto insurance is extremely 

frustrating; so frustrating that it seems like we all know someone to whom this has 

happened.  Maybe it has even happened to you.  It might help for you to know the true 
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size of this what this bill seeks to make into a major problem. 

 

 

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation issues over 4000,000 suspensions and 

revocations each year.  Please guess in your mind the percentage this 400,000 who are 

suspended or revoked for being a guilty party in an uninsured auto accident.  The 

answer might surprise you: one percent.   

 

Some people might still say, ‘Sure, that is not a lot of accidents, but they are driving my 

rates up’.  This is not the case.  Those of us who do have auto insurance pay only $5 a 

year to our respective companies to cover these uninsured claims.     

 

Rep. Sanfelippo has reached out to our group, and, to his credit, has made notable 

changes since this bill was first referred to the assembly judiciary committee with much 

harsher penalties, where it was stuck because it did not have enough support.  We 

sincerely appreciate his efforts, but we must still strongly urge to you oppose this bill.   

  

Thank you for your time.  I am happy to answer any questions. 

 

END 


