

2025 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 65

June 6, 2025 - Introduced by Senators MARKLEIN, PFAFF, KEYESKI, RATCLIFF, ROYS and SPREITZER, cosponsored by Representatives TRANEL, NOVAK, KURTZ, JOHNSON, J. JACOBSON, BROWN, GOODWIN, MIRESSE, MURPHY, O'CONNOR, SINICKI, STROUD, STUBBS and PRADO. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: congratulating Southwest Wisconsin Technical College for winning
2	the 2025 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence.
3	Whereas, Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, located in Fennimore,
4	Wisconsin, is a part of the Wisconsin Technical College System, a statewide
5	network of colleges that provides accessible, affordable, and high-quality education
6	and training to support Wisconsin's workforce and communities; and
7	Whereas, the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program awards the
8	prestigious Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence to recognize community
9	colleges that achieve high and improving levels of student success, particularly for
10	students from historically underserved backgrounds; and
11	Whereas, the Aspen Prize is awarded every two years and is based on rigorous
12	data analysis, interviews with leadership, faculty, staff, students, and community
13	members, and site visits to finalist colleges; and
14	Whereas, in 2025, Southwest Wisconsin Technical College was selected as the

winner of the Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, earning a \$700,000
 award and being named the top two-year college in the country; and

Whereas, the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program praised Southwest
Wisconsin Technical College for its robust teaching and learning practices, strong
relationships with employers and four-year university partners, effective advising,
and programs that include work-based learning and other high-impact practices;
now, therefore, be it

8 **Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the Wisconsin 9 State Legislature commends and congratulates Southwest Wisconsin Technical 10 College on this extraordinary national recognition and extends its appreciation to 11 the college's faculty, staff, students, and community partners for their outstanding 12 contributions to higher education in Wisconsin.

13

(END)