LRB-5219/1 RJL:amn

2023 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 141

March 6, 2024 - Introduced by Representatives ROZAR, MACCO, STEFFEN, O'CONNOR, SCHMIDT, MAXEY, GOEBEN, DOYLE, RATCLIFF and JOERS, cosponsored by Senators COWLES, WIMBERGER, CABRAL-GUEVARA, WANGGAARD, SPREITZER and JAMES. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: urging support for a constitutional amendment to provide states with authority to regulate campaign financing.

Whereas, the residents of Wisconsin have a compelling interest in fostering robust political debate, freedom of speech, and self-government, in securing the liberty and political equality of our citizens, in guarding against corruption, and in advancing federalism and the interests of the states; and

Whereas, over the past few decades, the Supreme Court has gradually come to equate election spending with "free speech," and this spending has the potential to drown out speech rights for all citizens, narrow debate, weaken federalism and self-governance in the states, and increase the risk of systemic corruption; and

Whereas, the states and U.S. Congress should have the ability to enact reasonable regulations regarding this spending; and

Whereas, the framers wisely granted the states ultimate power to amend our

Constitution where necessary to make it and our union ever more perfect and to protect and preserve self-government and liberty; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature, on behalf of the people of Wisconsin, declares its support for a constitutional amendment to clarify that states may regulate the spending of money to influence federal elections, and that in doing so, the states and Congress may distinguish between natural persons and legally recognized entities such as corporations, unions, and government authorities; and, be it further

Resolved, That a suitable copy of this resolution be prepared and submitted to the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate, the Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate, and each member of the Wisconsin congressional delegation.

(END)