

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

State of Misconsin 2023 - 2024 LEGISLATURE

LRB-5768/1 MRK:cjs&wlj

2023 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 118

February 12, 2024 - Introduced by Representatives Vos, Neubauer, August, Binsfeld, Magnafici, Armstrong, Spiros, Wittke, Novak, Bare, Stubbs, Ohnstad, C. Anderson, Steffen, O'Connor, Duchow, Dittrich, Summerfield, Michalski, Zimmerman, Macco, Shelton, Sinicki, S. Johnson, Considine, Palmeri, Subeck, Kitchens, Schraa and Jacobson, cosponsored by Senators Lemahieu, Hesselbein, James, Ballweg, Testin, L. Johnson, Wirch and Roys. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: recognizing and commending the National Conference of State Legislatures on its 50th anniversary in 2025.

Whereas, the National Conference of State Legislatures was founded in 1975 and has evolved during the past half-century to become the premier organization solely dedicated to serving state and territorial legislators and legislative staff; and

Whereas, NCSL was created from the merger of three organizations that served or represented state legislatures and that shared the belief that legislative service is one of democracy's worthiest pursuits; and

Whereas, NCSL is a bipartisan organization with three objectives: to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of state legislatures; to foster interstate communication and cooperation; and to ensure states a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system; and

Whereas, our nation's state legislatures are laboratories of democracy and have continuously shown that they are capable of tackling emerging challenges; and

1	Whereas, state legislatures are where people from different backgrounds,
2	representing different communities, can come together and find common ground
3	and
4	Whereas, NCSL has facilitated the exchange of ideas, provided critical research
5	and information, and encouraged a rigorous review of complex issues confronting our
6	communities, states, and nation; and
7	Whereas, NCSL strives to strengthen the bonds between America's state
8	legislatures and the international community; and
9	Whereas, the Wisconsin Legislature has played an active role in NCSL since the
10	organization's founding; and
11	Whereas, in 1975, Legislative Council Director Bonnie Reese became the first
12	NCSL Staff Chair from Wisconsin and was followed by multiple staff chairs from
13	Wisconsin including State Auditor Dale Cattanach in 1985–86, Senate Chief Clerk
14	Donald Schneider in 1992–93, and Legislative Reference Bureau Chief Steve Miller
15	in 2006–07; and, in 2019, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos was elected as the first NCSL
16	President from Wisconsin; and
17	Whereas, Speaker Vos currently serves as NCSL President Emeritus, and
18	Legislative Council Director Anne Sappenfield serves as NCSL Immediate Past Staff
19	Chair; and
20	Whereas, Assembly Majority Leader Tyler August and the Legislative
21	Reference Bureau's Administrative Services Manager Wendy Jackson currently
22	serve on the NCSL Executive Committee; now, therefore, be it
23	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
24	Wisconsin State Legislature recognize and commend the National Conference of

- State Legislatures for its superb leadership and its commitment to the legislative institution; and, be it further
- Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk transmit a copy of this joint resolution
 to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

5 (END)