

State of Misconsin 2021 - 2022 LEGISLATURE

LRB-5587/2 CMH:amn

2021 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 88

January 6, 2022 - Introduced by Senators Roys, Agard, Ballweg, Bewley, Carpenter, Cowles, Darling, Erpenbach, Jacque, Johnson, Kooyenga, Larson, Marklein, Pfaff, Ringhand, Smith and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Stubbs, Hong, Subeck, Baldeh, Allen, Andraca, Billings, Bowen, Cabral-Guevara, Conley, Considine, Drake, Duchow, Emerson, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Kerkman, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Penterman, Riemer, S. Rodriguez, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spiros, Spreitzer, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, Vining, Vruwink, Wichgers, Pope, Anderson and Dittrich. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1 **Relating to:** commending the UW-Madison volleyball team, the coaching staff, the 2 athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2021 NCAA Division 3 I Women's Volleyball National Championship title. Whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team won the 2021 NCAA Division I 4 National Championship title for the first time by defeating the Nebraska 5 6 Cornhuskers in an epic five-set match; and 7 Whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team demonstrated exceptional athletic performances and displayed outstanding mental toughness and grit throughout the 8 9 season; and 10 Whereas, National Player of the Year and five-time First Team All American, 11 Dana Rettke scored the game winning point to give UW-Madison the title; and 12 Whereas, freshman Anna Smrek won Most Outstanding Player of the tournament; and 13 14 Whereas, Sydney Hilley, Dana Rettke, and Anna Smrek made the All-Tournament team; and 15

23

1	whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team had a remarkable season with a
2	31–3 record for the season; and
3	Whereas, the team was led by seniors Lauren Barnes, Sydney Hilley, Giorgia
4	Civita, Dana Rettke, and Grace Loberg, who were joined by teammates Danielle
5	Hart, Julia Orzol, Jade Demps, Lauren Jardine, Devyn Robinson, Izzy Ashburn,
6	Julia Wohlert, Anna Smrek, Liz Gregorski, Joslyn Boyer, MJ Hammill, Sydney Reed,
7	and Anna MacDonald; and
8	Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head
9	Coach Kelly Sheffield, Assistant Coach of the Year Brittany Dildine, Assistant Coach
10	Gary White, Director of Volleyball Operations Jesica Williams, Technical
11	Coordinator Annemarie Hickey, Volunteer Assistant Coach Mackenzie Long,
12	Athletic Trainer Kristen Walker, Strength and Conditioning Coach Kevin Schultz,
13	Video Producer and Brand Manager Bianca Miceli, and Associate Director of Brand
14	Communications Diane Nordstrom; and
15	Whereas, the UW-Madison community and the whole state take pride in the
16	integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its
17	accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
18	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
19	Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW-Madison volleyball team,
20	the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2021
21	NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship title and wish the
22	student-athletes continued success in their bright futures.

(END)