$\begin{array}{c} LRB-6257/1 \\ CMH:cjs \end{array}$ 

## 2021 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 151

March 10, 2022 - Introduced by Representatives Hong, Stubbs, Baldeh, Bowen, Conley, Considine, Emerson, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Novak, Ohnstad, S. Rodriguez, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Spreitzer and Vruwink, cosponsored by Senators Roys, Agard and Bewley. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison men's basketball
2	team for winning a share of the 2021-2022 Big Ten Conference Championship
3	title.
4	Whereas, the UW-Madison men's basketball team defeated Purdue 70-67 to
5	earn a share of the $2021$ – $2022$ Big Ten Conference Championship title; and
6	Whereas, by winning a share of the regular-season title, the UW-Madison
7	men's basketball team won their second Big Ten title in three years and became the
8	Number 2 seed in the tournament; and
9	Whereas, the UW-Madison men's basketball team also won the 2021 Maui
10	Invitational after defeating Saint Mary's College 61-55; and
11	Whereas, the UW-Madison men's basketball team demonstrated exceptional
12	resilience and excellent sportsmanship throughout the 2022 regular season; and
13	Whereas, the UW-Madison men's basketball team has earned 17 first-team
14	All-Big Ten honors since 2002, the most of any school in the Big Ten Conference; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison men's basketball team received postseason league honors where Coach Greg Gard was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second time in his career and the second time in the last three seasons; and

Whereas, Johnny Davis earned 2021–2022 Big Ten Player of the Year, Brad Davison earned second-team All-Big Ten honors, Chucky Hepburn earned Big Ten All-Freshman Team distinction, and Tyler Wahl was awarded All-Big Ten honorable mention; and

Whereas; the UW-Madison community and the entire state of Wisconsin takes pride in the perseverance demonstrated by the team; now, therefore, be it

\*Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That\* the members of the

Wisconsin State Legislature hereby commend and congratulate the UW-Madison men's basketball team, the coaching staff, and the athletic department on winning a share of the 2021–2022 Big Ten Conference Championship title and wish the team success as it begins postseason play.

(END)