14

LRB-5380/1 MPG:emw

## 2021 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 111

January 18, 2022 - Introduced by Representatives Sanfelippo, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dittrich, Gundrum, Horlacher, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Neylon, Ramthun, Rozar, Spiros, Steffen, Tusler, Wichgers and Wittke. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: calling for the resignation of the administrator, assistant 1 2 administrator, and several members of the Wisconsin Elections Commission. 3 Whereas, the Wisconsin Constitution vests the power to make and change laws in the Wisconsin Legislature; and 4 5 Whereas, through an Act, the Legislature created the Wisconsin Elections 6 Commission to faithfully administer and enforce Wisconsin's election laws in a 7 transparent manner, free from partisan bias; and 8 Whereas, on February 8, 2021, the Legislature charged the Legislative Audit 9 Bureau with the task of evaluating the recent efforts by the Elections Commission 10 to comply with election laws; and Whereas, on October 22, 2021, the Legislative Audit Bureau reported its 11 12 findings to the Legislature, identifying numerous instances of election law violations 13 by the Elections Commission and its staff, including their failure to perform their

statutorily required duties, issuance of elections guidance that contradicted existing

statutes, and failure to promulgate administrative rules to reflect recent changes to elections statutes; and

Whereas, on October 28, 2021, the Racine County Sheriff's Office announced the results of an investigation, accusing several members of the Elections Commission of violating election laws by issuing directives to local government officials to illegally suspend the use of special voting deputies during the 2020 elections; and

Whereas, the purposeful actions of the administrator of the Elections Commission and several of its members to ignore or contravene existing laws in effect usurped the Legislature's constitutional authority to write the laws of this state, undermining the legitimacy of government in Wisconsin and the public's confidence in Wisconsin's elections process; and

Whereas, the egregious misconduct of Elections Commission Administrator Meagan Wolfe, Assistant Administrator Richard Rydecki, and Commissioners Marge Bostelmann, Julie M. Glancey, Ann S. Jacobs, Dean Knudson, and Mark L. Thomsen renders them unfit to serve in their current positions; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature forcefully urges Wisconsin Elections Commission Administrator Meagan Wolfe, Wisconsin Elections Commission Assistant Administrator Richard Rydecki, and Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Marge Bostelmann, Julie M. Glancey, Ann S. Jacobs, Dean Knudson, and Mark L. Thomsen to immediately resign from the Elections Commission; and, be it further

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

Resolved, That failing such resignations, the Wisconsin Legislature should undertake all actions available to it under the law that are necessary to effect the abovenamed individuals' removal from the Elections Commission; and, be it further Resolved, That the Wisconsin Legislature recommends that the Wisconsin attorney general conduct a thorough investigation of the abovenamed individuals' conduct in the administration of the 2020 elections and make referrals as necessary to the appropriate district attorneys for the filing of criminal charges.

8 (END)