

State of Misconsin 2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE

## **2019 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 13**

March 15, 2019 – Introduced by Representatives KRUG, ALLEN, BOWEN, CONSIDINE, DUCHOW, EDMING, KATSMA, KERKMAN, KITCHENS, KUGLITSCH, MURPHY, MYERS, PETRYK, PLUMER, RAMTHUN, ROHRKASTE, SARGENT, SINICKI, SORTWELL, SPIROS, SPREITZER, SUBECK, C. TAYLOR, THIESFELDT, TITTL, TUSLER, VORPAGEL, VRUWINK, WICHGERS and ZIMMERMAN, cosponsored by Senators JACQUE, CARPENTER, COWLES, CRAIG, DARLING, KOOYENGA, MARKLEIN, OLSEN, RINGHAND, RISSER, L. TAYLOR, WIRCH and WANGGAARD. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: congratulating the Milwaukee Brewers on their 2018 season.
2	Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers ended their 2018 season with a record of
3	96–67, clinching the best league record for the first time since 1982; and
4	Whereas, the team won the National League Central division; and
5	Whereas, the team advanced to the playoffs for the first time since 2011 and for
6	the fifth time in the franchise's history; and
7	Whereas, the team had a 12-game winning streak to end the regular season
8	and start the postseason; and
9	Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers were one of the best teams despite having
LO	one of the lowest budgets in the league due to their spirited and determined play; and
11	Whereas, the team's manager, Craig Counsell, was named the Sporting News
12	National League Co-Manager of the Year and has been praised by players as a leader
13	and pillar of the clubhouse; and

2019 – 2020 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers advanced to the National League
2	Championship Series after sweeping the Colorado Rockies in the National League
3	Divisional Series and were one win away from making the World Series; and
4	Whereas, Christian Yelich won the National League batting title for the first
5	time in the team's history and received the National League MVP Award during his
6	first season with the team, accounting for the franchise's fifth league MVP Award;
7	and
8	Whereas, Jesús Aguilar, Travis Shaw, and Christian Yelich all hit at least 30
9	home runs during the 2018 season; and
10	Whereas, the pitching staff set a franchise record of 1,428 strikeouts in the 2018
11	season; and
12	Whereas, the team sent five players to the All-Star Game: Christian Yelich,
13	Jesús Aguilar, Lorenzo Cain, Josh Hader, and Jeremy Jeffress; and
14	Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers drew 2,850,875 fans in attendance during
15	the 2018 season, averaging 35,195 per game; now, therefore, be it
16	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
17	Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the players, coaches, and other
18	staff members of the Milwaukee Brewers on their 2018 season.
19	(END)