Wisconsin Legislative Council

ACT MEMO

Prepared by: Anna Henning, Senior Staff Attorney



March 1, 2022

2021 Wisconsin Act 128[2021 Senate Bill 607]

Threshold for Timber Sales

BACKGROUND

A sale of timber from a state, county, or community¹ forest must be advertised twice in a newspaper² and approved by the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, if the sale exceeds a certain threshold. Under prior law, that threshold was an estimated value of \$3,000.

2021 WISCONSIN ACT 128

2021 Wisconsin Act 128 modifies the sales threshold for the application of the advertisement and approval requirements, described above, to either an estimated volume of at least 500 cord equivalents or an estimated value of \$10,000.

Effective date: February 6, 2022

AH:ksm

¹ A "community forest" is a forest owned by a city, village, town, or school district. [s. 28.20, Stats.]

² The newspaper must have general circulation in the county where the timber is located.