

2023 Assembly Joint Resolution 43

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commemorating Hmong-Lao Veterans Day and honoring the Hmong-Lao veterans who served alongside the United States in the Vietnam War.

Whereas, during the Vietnam War, the Central Intelligence Agency and U.S. Armed Forces recruited, organized, trained, and assisted Hmong-Lao forces to combat the North Vietnamese Army and Pathet Lao forces; and

Whereas, thousands of Hmong-Lao people courageously fought alongside Americans throughout the Vietnam War and, facing harsh retribution from the Vietnamese and Lao governments following the war's end, many were ultimately forced to flee their homes; and

Whereas, on May 14, 1975, the last of the Hmong-Lao soldiers and their families fled Laos for the Nam Phong refugee camp in Thailand to later resettle in communities throughout the United States, including Wisconsin, and today, our state is home to a significant number of Hmong-Lao veterans; and

Whereas, in accordance with 2021 Wisconsin Act 31, May 14 of every year is designated as a day to thank Hmong-Lao veterans in Wisconsin for their service and sacrifice, recall their accomplishments, and encourage schools to include their military service in discussions and curriculums surrounding the Vietnam War; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin Lao Veterans of America (WLVA) has established chapters throughout our state to serve local communities and educate the public about the contributions of our Hmong-Lao veterans during the Vietnam War; and

Whereas, today, the state of Wisconsin joins the WLVA and all Wisconsinites in reflecting on the tremendous, and too often overlooked, heroism and sacrifice of Hmong-Lao veterans in our state; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin

Legislature recognize May 14, 2023, as Hmong-Lao Veterans Day and pay tribute to those Hmong Lao veterans who honorably and bravely served alongside the United States in the Vietnam War.	
Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Edward A. Blazel Assembly Chief Clerk