

2023 Assembly Joint Resolution 29

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** proclaiming May 2023 as Jewish American Heritage Month.

Whereas, since 2006, Jewish American Heritage Month has been observed nationwide every May to recognize the more than 360-year history of Jewish contributions to our nation's civic, social, economic, and cultural life; and

Whereas, it is estimated that over 330,000 persecuted Jews from Germany, Russia, Poland, and several other countries overcame restrictions and immigration quotas to find refuge in the United States between 1933 and 1952; and

Whereas, many Jewish American survivors of the Holocaust have dedicated their lives to fighting for civil rights and educating future generations about the dangers of bigotry and anti-Semitism and the resilience of the human spirit; and

Whereas, it is estimated that over 33,000 Jews live in Wisconsin today, worshiping at over 30 active synagogues; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison branch of Hillel began in 1924 and is the second-oldest in the nation; and

Whereas, several renowned Jewish Americans have resided in Wisconsin, including author Edna Ferber, U.S. Senators Herb Kohl and Russ Feingold, actors Gene Wilder and Charlotte Rae, magician Harry Houdini, and Israeli Prime Minister Golda Meir; and

Whereas, the Jewish tenet *tikkun olam*, translated from Hebrew as "repair of the world," is a call to Jews to pursue justice and righteousness for all of humanity; and

Whereas, the Jewish experience in America has consistently reminded us that liberty and opportunity ultimately triumph over prejudice and hate; now, therefore, be it

*Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That* the Wisconsin Legislature proclaims May 2023 as Jewish American History Month and joins all Wisconsinites in thanking our fellow

of

Jewish American citizens for shaping or religious freedom, and teaching us the virt	ur country's character, strengthening our promise ues of justice, hope, and perseverance.
Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Edward A. Blazel Assembly Chief Clerk