Order of the Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development proposes an order to amend DWD 270
and to create DWD 270.05 (2m), relating to an exception for child labor permits related to a pu
health emergency.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 021-20, was approved by the Governor on April 16, 20
published in register No. 772A3, on April 20, 2020, and approved by the Department of Work
Development on May 13, 2020. This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on May

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce Development

Finding of Emergency

The Department seeks to revise Chapter DWD 270 to create an exception to child labor permit:
the public health emergency declared in the Governor's Executive Order # 72 to protect the stat
residents from the SARS-CoV-2 virus which causes the coronavirus disease. In response to the
health emergency, on April 16, 2020, the Department of Health Services Secretary-designee iss
Emergency Order # 28 (the "Safer at Home" order), directing public schools and some governn
offices to close. Various public schools and government offices are child labor permit locations
on-line system for child labor permits is in place. To address worker shortages and staffing inst
experienced by businesses while authorized labor permit offices are closed to the public during
health emergency, the Governor issued Emergency Order #13, which created a temporary exce
Department's rules that require child labor permits for certain minors. Emergency Order #13 spp
requirements that employers must satisfy to hire minors who are 14 and 15 years and who have
obtained child labor permits because of the public health emergency. On May 13, 2020, the W
Supreme Court declared that the Safer at Home order is invalid and unenforceable, but carved
provision relating to public schools, which will remain closed. See Wisconsin Legislature v. P
W1 42. Therefore, there is still limited access to permit offices and the need for the temporary ¢
continues.

Statutes Interpreted
Sections 103.005(1) and 103.66(1), Stats.
Statutory Authority
Sections 103.005(1) and 103.66(1), Stats.

Explanation of Statutory Authority
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Related Statutes or Rules
Sections DWD 270.05 to 270.08 establish requirements for child labor permits.

Plain Language Analysis

Currently, with specified exceptions, ch. DWD 270 prohibits employing or permitting a minor
unless the minor first obtains a child labor permit. This rule creates a new temporary exception
applies during the period beginning on May 11, 2020, and ending on September 1, 2020. Duri
period, the new exception allows employers to employ minors who are 14 and 15 years old and
not obtained child labor permits. For the exception to apply, an employer or authorized individu
sign a written intent to hire. In addition, the employer must obtain the minor's proof of age, pa
guardian consent, and a copy of the minor's social security card. The rule also requires the emy
notify the Department about the minor and, no later than October 1, 2020, file an application fc
labor permit on behalf of the minor and pay the permit fee.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations
None. Federal law does not require work permits or age certificates for minors to be employed.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Michigan and Minnesota have also suspended in person issuance of child work permits as a res
pandemic.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Emergency Order # 13, DWD 270 and relevant statutes relating to child labor permits were rev
part of the process for developing this proposed rule. No other data or analysis was needed.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in prepara
economic impact analysis

This rule is intended to have no negative impact on business so therefore no analysis was neces

Effect on small business
No negative impact on small business.
Agency contact person

Matthew White, Director, Bureau of Investigations



Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission

E-Mail: DWDAdminRules@dwd.wisconsin.gov
Comments will be accepted until a date to be determined.

SECTION 1. DWD 270.05 (1) is amended to read:

DWD 270.05 (1) PERMITS NECESSARY FOR MINORS. Except as provided in sub- subs.
(2m), no minor may be employed or permitted to work in any gainful occupation unless the mi
obtains from a permit officer a written permit authorizing the employment of the minor within
periods of time stated in the permit, which shall not exceed the hours prescribed by law.
SECTION 2. DWD 270.05 (2m) is created to read:

DWD 270.05 (2m) EXCEPTION FOR PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY. (a) In this subsect
"minor" means a minor who is 14 or 15 years old.

(b) Child labor permits for minors are not required during the period beginning on M:z
2020, and ending on September 1, 2020, if all of the following requirements are met:

1. The employer of a minor or an individual authorized by the employer signs a writtel
hire that specifies the job duties to be performed by the minor and the hours and time of day to
by the minor.

2. The employer of a minor obtains all of the following information before hiring or p
the minor to work:

a. Proof of age, including a birth certificate, baptismal certificate, Wisconsin driver’s |
identification card described in s. DWD 270.07 (1), or other evidence specified in s. DWD 270

b. Written consent from the minor's parent, guardian, or court-ordered foster parent co

the employment or a countersignature of the parent, guardian, or foster parent on the written in


mailto:DWDAdminRules@dwd.wisconsin.gov
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DWD%20270.05(2)

(c) Upon receipt of all of the information required under par. (b) 2. regarding a minor,
employer shall notify the department that the minor has commenced employment by email to

workpermits@dwd.wisconsin.gov. The notification shall include all of the following:

1. Attestation that the employer has reviewed the minor's proof of age and social secut
information.

2. A copy of the employer's written intent to hire described in par. (b) 1.

3. The written consent from the parent, guardian, or court-ordered foster parent descrit
(b) 2.b.

(d) Employers shall file a permit application on behalf of each minor employee hired
permitted to work under this subsection and make payment for the permit fee under s. DWD 27
each such minor to a work permit office designated by the department no later than October 1,

(e) Pursuantto its discretionary authority under s. 103.66, Stats., the department shall
take enforcement action against an employer for hiring and permitting a minor to work without
the requirements under pars. (b) and (c) for that minor employee have been met for work perfo
during the period beginning on May 11, 2020, and ending on September 1, 2020,.

(f) An employer who fails to timely file a permit application and make payment for pe
as required under par. (d) shall be subject to enforcement action.

SECTION 3. This emergency rule shall take effect upon publication in the official sta
newspaper.

Dated this day of May, 2020

STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE
DEVELOPMENT
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