7

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR EXAMINING BOARD

NHA 4.03

Chapter NHA 4 LICENSURE

NHA 4.01	Licensure.	NHA 4.04	Accommodations relating to a disability.
NHA 4.02	Biennial renewal.	NHA 4.05	Display of license and current registration certificate.
NHA 4.03	Reciprocity.		

Note: Chapter NHA 4 as it existed on June 30, 1980 was repealed and a new chapter NHA 4 was created effective July 1, 1980.

NHA 4.01 Licensure. (1) APPLICATION. An applicant for licensure shall:

(a) Submit an application for licensure on a form approved by the board.

(b) Satisfy the examination requirements specified in s. NHA 2.01 (3).

(c) If the applicant has not completed a regular course of study, submit evidence of successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department's website at: http://dsps.wi.gov.

- (d) Satisfy any one of the following educational requirements:
- 1. A regular course of study.
- 2. A program of study.
- 3. Specialized courses.

(e) Provide a statement relating to any pending criminal charge or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats. An applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the board with all related information necessary for the board to determine whether the circumstances of the pending charge or conviction substantially relate to the practice of nursing home administration.

(2) REAPPLICATION. An applicant who fails to satisfy all requirements for licensure within 2 years after filing an application for licensure shall file a new application, retake the state law examination and resubmit verification of successful completion of the NAB examination.

(3) REGISTRATION. Every person granted a license as a nursing home administrator shall be deemed registered for the current registration period. Registrants must qualify biennially for certificates of renewal.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1980, No. 294, eff. 7–1–80; r. and recr. Register, February, 1995, No. 470, eff. 3–1–95; am. (1) (b), r. and recr. (1) (c), cr. (1) (d) and (e), Register, September, 1997, No. 501, eff. 10–1–97; am. (1) (c), Register, January, 2000, No. 529, eff. 2–1–00; CR 01–101: am. (1) (d), Register February 2002 No. 554, eff. 3–1–02; CR 14–078: renum. (1) (d) to (1) (d) (intro.), cr. (1) (d) 1. to 3. Register November 2015 No. 719, eff. 12–1–15.

NHA 4.02 Biennial renewal. (1) REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL. To renew and obtain a new certificate of registration a licensee must, by July 1 of the even–numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter, file with the board:

(a) An application for renewal on a form prescribed by the board;

(b) Evidence that the licensee has, during the biennial period immediately preceding application, completed the continuing education requirements specified in s. NHA 3.02;

(c) The fee required under s. 440.03 (9) (a), Stats.

(2) FAILURE TO RENEW. A licensee who fails to meet the requirements of sub. (1) by the renewal date shall cease and desist from acting as a nursing home administrator. A licensee who has failed to meet the requirements under sub. (1) may renew and obtain a new certificate of registration by satisfying the following requirements:

(a) If applying less than 5 years after the renewal date, submitting to the board:

1. An application for renewal on a form prescribed by the board:

2. An affidavit that the licensee has not acted as a nursing home administrator after July 1 of the biennial period for which the licensee was last currently registered;

3. Evidence that the licensee has, within the 24 months immediately preceding application, completed 24 contact hours in approved continuing education programs as required under s. NHA 3.02; and,

4. The required renewal fees under ss. 440.03 (9) (a), and 440.08 (3), Stats.

(b) If applying 5 years or more after the renewal date, satisfying the requirements in par. (a) and submitting proof of:

1. Successful completion of educational coursework required by the board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and welfare; and,

2. Successful completion of an examination required by the board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and welfare.

(3) REINSTATEMENT. (a) A licensee whose license has unmet disciplinary requirements, such as a suspension, which has not been renewed within 5 years after the renewal date or whose license has been surrendered or revoked may apply for reinstatement of the license by submitting all of the following:

 Evidence of completion of requirements in s. NHA 4.02 (2)
(b) if the licensee has not held an active Wisconsin license within the last 5 years.

2. Evidence of completion of disciplinary requirements, if applicable.

3. Evidence of rehabilitation or change in circumstances, warranting reinstatement of license.

(b) A licensee whose license has been revoked may not apply for reinstatement of the license until 1 year after revocation of the license in accordance with s. 456.11 (2), Stats.

(c) A licensee may not practice as a nursing home administrator prior to being granted reinstatement of a license.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1980, No. 294, eff. 7-1-80; correction in (2) (intro.) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 4., Stats., Register, September, 1989, No. 405; am. (3) (c), Register, June, 1991, No. 426, eff. 7-1-91; am. (1) (c), r. and recr. (2), r. (3), renum. (4) to be (3), Register, October, 1993, No. 454, eff. 11-1-93; renum. (3) to be NHA 4.05, Register, September, 1997, No. 501, eff. 10-1-97; CR 14–078: am. (1) (c), (2) (a) 4., cr. (3) Register November 2015 No. 719, eff. 12–1–15.

NHA 4.03 Reciprocity. The board at its discretion and otherwise subject to laws pertaining to licensure of nursing home administrators may grant a license as a nursing home administrator to an applicant who holds a current license issued by the proper authorities in any other jurisdiction, which has not been revoked or suspended, upon payment of the fee required under s. 440.05 (2), Stats., and submission of evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has satisfied all of the following:

(1) Has a bachelor's degree in any field that was obtained from an accredited college or university or holds a current certification as a nursing home administrator granted by the American college of health care administrators.

Note: The American College of Health Care Administrators may be contacted at 1800 Diagonal Road, Suite 355, Alexandria, VA 22314.

Removed by Register June 2021 No. 786. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code .

NHA 4.03

(2) Has practiced as a nursing home administrator for at least 2,000 hours in any consecutive 3-year period within the 5-year period immediately preceding the date of application for licensure.

(3) Has passed the state law examination required for licensure under s. NHA 2.01 (3) (b).

(4) Does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats. An applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the board with all related information necessary for the board to determine whether the circumstances of the pending charge or conviction substantially relate to the practice of nursing home administration.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1980, No. 294, eff. 7–1–80; am. (intro.), (1) and (3), r. and recr. (2), Register, May, 1986, No. 365, eff. 6–1–86; am. (3), Register, June, 1991, No. 426, eff. 7–1–91; am. (intro.), (2) and (3), cr. (4), Register, September,

1997, No. 501, eff. 10–1–97; am. (intro.) and (2) to (4), r. and recr. (1), Register, January, 2000, No. 529, eff. 2–1–00.

NHA 4.04 Accommodations relating to a disability. A qualified applicant with a disability shall be provided with reasonable accommodations requested in connection with the completion of an application for licensure submitted under s. NHA 4.01 or 4.03.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1980, No. 294, eff. 7–1–80; r. and recr., Register, September, 1997, No. 501, eff. 10–1–97.

NHA 4.05 Display of license and current registration certificate. The license and certificate of biennial registration shall be displayed in a prominent place by every person licensed and currently registered by the board.

History: Renum. from NHA 4.02 (3), Register, September, 1997, No. 501, eff. 10–1–97.