## Chapter DE 16

## CERTIFICATION OF EXPANDED FUNCTION DENTAL AUXILIARIES

DE 16.01 Authority. DE 16.04 Education requirements.
DE 16.02 Definitions. DE 16.05 Supervised practice.
DE 16.03 Certification.

**DE 16.01 Authority.** The rules in this chapter are adopted pursuant to authority in s. 447.035 (3) (a), Stats.

History: EmR2304: emerg. cr., eff. 3–1–23; CR 23–051: cr. Register June 2024 No. 822, eff. 7–1–24.

**DE 16.02 Definitions.** In this chapter, "auxiliary" means an expanded function dental auxiliary certified under s. 447.04 (3), Stats.

History: EmR2304: emerg. cr., eff. 3–1–23; CR 23–051: cr. Register June 2024 No. 822, eff. 7–1–24; correction in numbering made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., and correction made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register June 2024 No. 822.

- **DE 16.03 Certification.** (1) Each applicant for an expanded function dental auxiliary certification shall complete the following:
- (a) Submit a completed application form as specified by the department.

Note: Instructions for applications are available on the department of safety and professional services' website at http://dsps.wi.gov.

- (b) Pay the fee as required by s. 440.05 (1), Stats.
- (c) Submit proof of completion of an accredited educational program specified under s. 447.035 (3) (b) 2., Stats.
- (d) Evidence satisfactory to the board the applicant has current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved by the Wisconsin department of health services

**(2)** Pursuant to s. 447.05 (1) (b), Stats., once granted, a certification to practice as an expanded function dental auxiliary is permanent unless revoked and is not subject to periodic renewal.

History: EmR2304: emerg. cr., eff. 3–1–23; CR 23–051: cr. Register June 2024 No. 822, eff. 7–1–24.

- **DE 16.04 Education requirements.** In order to enroll in an educational program specified under s. 447.035 (3) (b) 2., Stats., each applicant shall complete one of the following:
- (1) At least 1,000 hours of practice as a dental assistant and a certified dental assistant credential from the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. or a successor organization approved by the dentistry examining board.
- (2) At least 2,000 hours of practice as a dental assistant, verified by a supervising licensed dentist.

History: EmR2304: emerg. cr., eff. 3–1–23; CR 23–051: cr. Register June 2024 No. 822, eff. 7–1–24.

- **DE 16.05** Supervised practice. (1) An auxiliary certified under s. 447.04 (3), Stats., may perform any of the functions listed in s. 447.035 (2), Stats., under the supervision of a Wisconsin licensed dentist.
- (2) The supervising licensed dentist who has delegated a procedure to an auxiliary certified under s. 447.04 (3), Stats., shall remain on the premises for the duration of the delegated procedure and verify that the procedure has been performed successfully.

History: EmR2304: emerg. cr., eff. 3–1–23; CR 23–051: cr. Register June 2024 No. 822, eff. 7–1–24; correction in (1), (2) made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register June 2024 No. 822.