Adjustments in Dollar Amounts for Liens on Vehicles for Towing and Storage under Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g)

The following notice is being submitted for publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as required under Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g)(c):

Public Notice

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Notice of Dollar Amount Adjustments for Liens on Vehicles for Towing and Storage

Under Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g)(c), the department is required to annually adjust the dollar amounts that may be charged for towing or storing a vehicle identified under par. (a) of Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g). Under this law, the department shall adjust the dollar amounts by the annual change in the consumer price index, all items, U.S. city average, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor.

The Department has determined that current dollar amounts specified under Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g)(a) shall increase by **4.7%**, according to the annual average percent change in the consumer price index (All Urban Consumers – 2021 Annual Average).

Therefore, the dollar amounts contained in Wis. Stat. § 779.415(1g)(a) are adjusted to the following dollar amounts:

If the vehicle is subject to a lien perfected under Wis. Stat. ch. 342, a towing lien shall have priority only to the extent of \$130 for a vehicle having a manufacturer's gross weight rating of 20,000 pounds or less and \$440 for a vehicle having a manufacturer's gross weight rating of more than 20,000 pounds. A storage lien shall have priority only to the extent of \$12 per day but for a total amount of not more than \$760 for a vehicle having a manufacturer's gross weight rating of 20,000 pounds or less and \$32 per day but for a total amount of not more than \$1,890 for a vehicle having a manufacturer's gross weight rating a manufacturer's gross weight rating of 20,000 pounds or less and \$32 per day but for a total amount of not more than \$1,890 for a vehicle having a manufacturer's gross weight rating of more than 20,000 pounds. If the value of the vehicle exceeds \$950 the lien may be enforced under Wis. Stat. § 779.48(2). If the value of the vehicle does not exceed \$950, the lien may be enforced by sale or junking as provided in sub. (2).

These revised dollar amounts for liens on vehicles for towing and storage shall apply to services commenced on or after **January 1, 2023** for which a lien is claimed. These revised dollar amounts shall remain in effect until the first day of the first month following publication of new adjusted dollar amounts in the *Wisconsin Administrative Register*.

Contact Information:

Kevin LeRoy, Section Manager Trade Practices Bureau Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 2811 Agriculture Drive P.O. Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708-8911 Telephone: (608) 224-4925 kevin.leroy@wisconsin.gov