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Pursuant to sec. 227.112, Wis. Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Division of Income,
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table below.

SUBMITTING PUBLIC COMMENTS
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https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/contactUs/proposed-Guidance.aspx.
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The period for public comment for proposed guidance documents ends 21 days after publication
in the Administrative Register, unless the Governor approves a shorter commenting period.
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State of Wisconsin

D

epartment of Revenue

COVID-19 Request for Relief - Questions and
ANnswers

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the Legislative
Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public comment as
provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

The

department may grant waivers and extensions to taxpayers that request COVID-19 relief for certain

returns and payments due in 2020. Information about this relief is provided at revenue.wi.gov in an
article titled "Taxpayers May Request Extensions and Waivers During_the COVID-19 Public Health
Emergency." This document provides additional information about this relief.

1. Is there any relief available if T already filed and paid my taxes?

2. I filed my return but am not able to pay. What should I do?

3. I've been granted an extension, but I still can't pay by the extended due date. What should I do?

4. My business was closed during_the period and I have no tax due. What should I do?

5. Will T lose the retailer's discount on my sales tax return if I file or pay late?

6. I received a notice of amount due from the department. Can I request an extension of time to pay
or appeal?

7. Why won't the application accept my FEIN?

8. What is the deadline for applying_for relief?

1. Is there any relief available if I already filed and paid my taxes?
If you paid interest and penalties for an eligible period, you may request relief by using the appeal
process in My Tax Account. No relief is available if you filed and paid your taxes and did not incur
any interest or penalties.
Note: Persons granted relief for interest and penalties will retain their retailer's discount on a
timely-paid sales and use tax return.

2. I filed my return but am not able to pay. What should I do?
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You may not request an extension for returns that have already been filed. However, you may
request a waiver of interest and penalties by doing one of the following:

o Within 60 days of your notice date, file an appeal using My Tax Account.
o After 60 days of your notice date, send a request to DORCompliance@wisconsin.gov.

I've been granted an extension, but I still can't pay by the extended due date. What
should I do?

You should file your return by the extended due date to avoid late filing fees and penalties. If you

do not pay by the extended due date, interest will accrue at 18% per year on any unpaid balance.

If you are unable to pay, you may request a payment plan. A collection fee of 6 2 % ($35

minimum) and a $20 payment plan fee will apply. From now to July 15, 2020, we will not require
financial disclosure documentation for payment plans related to business taxes that can be
resolved within 12 months.

My business was closed during the period and I have no tax due. What should I do?
You must file a return showing $0 tax due for the period (zero return). You can request an

extension to file zero returns, but returns not filed by the due date, including any extended due
date, may be subject to late filing fees.

Will I lose the retailer's discount on my sales tax return if I file or pay late?
The retailer's discount is allowed if the taxes are paid on or before the due date of the return, or

on or before the extended due date if one has been granted.

I received a notice of amount due from the department. Can I request an extension of
time to pay or appeal?
Contact us before the due date of the notice using the contact information in the notice.

Why won’t the application accept my FEIN?
Sole proprietorship businesses may have to enter their social security number. The department

may not have a record of your FEIN or may have a different FEIN on record.

Contact us at 608-266-2776 for assistance.

What is the deadline for applying for relief?
The department will accept applications online through June 10.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as of
April 21, 2020: Chapters 71, 77, 78, and 139, Wis. Stats., sections 66.0615, 196.025, and 323.10, Wis.

Stats.

Laws

,and secs. Tax 2, 4, 7, 8,9, and 11, and sec. PSC 172, Wis. Adm. Code.

enacted and in effect after April 21, 2020, new administrative rules, and court decisions may

change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to April 21, 2020, that is contrary to

the in
Stats.

formation in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis.
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WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Customer Service Bureau

PO Box 8949

Madison, WI 53708-8949

Phone: (608) 266-2776

Fax: (608) 327-0232

Email additional questions to DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov
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