WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE DIVISION OF INCOME, SALES, AND EXCISE TAX

NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS

Pursuant to sec. 227.112, Wis. Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Division of Income, Sales, and Excise Taxes hereby seeks comment on the proposed guidance document listed in the table below.

SUBMITTING PUBLIC COMMENTS

Public comments on proposed or adopted guidance documents may be submitted online at: <u>https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/contactUs/proposed-Guidance.aspx</u>.

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION

The period for public comment for proposed guidance documents ends 21 days after publication in the Administrative Register, unless the Governor approves a shorter commenting period.

Document Number	Document Title
100100	Closing a Business - Common Questions

State of Wisconsin Department of Revenue

Closing a Business

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public comment as provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

Follow these steps to close your business with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and prevent future notices and assessments. You must file a return for each period the business was active.

Employee Withholding Tax

- 1. File final withholding tax deposits through end date (WT-6)
- 2. Issue wage and withholding information returns to employees (W-2)
- 3. File annual withholding reconciliation (WT-7) and supporting information returns within 30 days of end date
- 4. Close your withholding tax account
 - Complete the Request to Close Account in My Tax Account, or
 - Email <u>DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov</u>, or
 - Call (608) 266-2776
- 5. Visit our <u>withholding page</u> for filing options

Sales and Use Tax

- 1. Review *When is a sale of a business or business assets subject to sales tax?*
- 2. File final sales and use tax return within 30 days of end date
- 3. Close your sales and use tax account:
 - Complete the Request to Close Account in My Tax Account, or
 - Email DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov, or
 - Call (608) 266–2776

Income or Franchise Tax

- 1. File final income or franchise tax return
 - Check as final, unless filing Schedule C
 - Report gain or loss on sale or liquidation of assets

Partnerships and S corporations - Provide a copy of final Schedule 3K–1 or Schedule 5K–1 to partners or shareholders

Other Tax Types

- 1. File final returns for any other tax account registered with the department (e.g., excise tax, premier resort area tax, local exposition tax)
- 2. Close your business tax account:

- Complete the Request to Close Account in My Tax Account for each business tax account, or
- Email <u>DORBusinessTax@wisconsin.gov</u>, or
- Call (608) 266-2776

Review federal responsibilities. See Internal Revenue Service Closing a Business Checklist

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect as of February 19, 2020: Sections 71.20, 71.24, 71.32, 77.58, 78.13, 78.50 and 78.59, Wis. Stats.

Laws enacted and in effect after February 19, 2020, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to February 19, 2020, that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec. 73.16(2) (a), Wis. Stats.

Guidance Document Certification: <u>https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Certification-Statement.aspx</u>

Guidance Document Number: 100100

February 19, 202

About Us
Contact Us
Employment
Media Room
Plain Language
Privacy
Legal
Training

Copyright © State of Wisconsin All Rights Reserved
Image: Comparison of the second seco