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Certification Statement 

As the Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR), I have reviewed this guidance document or proposed 
guidance document and I certify that it complies with secs. 227.10 and 227.11, Wis. Stats. I further certify that the 
guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is not 
explicitly required or explicitly permitted by a statute or rule that has been lawfully promulgated. I further certify that 
the guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is more 
restrictive than a standard, requirement, or threshold contained in the Wisconsin Statutes.  

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE  

 

Peter Barca  

Secretary of Revenue 



https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-chargebk.aspx 

Chargeback of Rescinded or Refunded Taxes 
Sec. 74.41. Wis.  Stats. 

1. What is a chargeback of rescinded or refunded taxes?
A municipality may request reimbursement (chargeback) of property taxes it has refunded or
rescinded to a property owner. If the request is approved, the other taxing jurisdictions must
pay the municipality back for the amounts it had previously shared with them as part of the
property tax settlement process.

Before submitting a chargeback request to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR),
these must occur:

0   Property owner requests a refund for overpaid taxes from their municipality  

 Municipality rescinds or refunds overpaid taxes to the property owner 
0   Municipality must rescind or refund the overpaid taxes before submitting its chargeback 

request to DOR 

2. How do I file a chargeback of rescinded or refunded taxes?

You must electronically file (e-file) your Request for Chargeback of Rescinded or Refunded Taxes (Form 

PC-201). This form is located in My DOR Government Account. For more information, review our 

Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government. 

3. Do I need a PIN number or password to file a chargeback request?
This form is located in My DOR Government Account. You must be authorized to file. For more 
information, review our Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government.  

2. What are the requirements for submitting a request for chargeback of rescinded or
refunded taxes to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR)?
Starting on the January 1, 2018 property tax assessment, the tax refunded for any single
description for one year is $250 or more. Taxes refunded/rescinded for any of the five
assessment years immediately preceding the year Form PC-201 is submitted (or taxes
refunded/rescinded because of a court determination) must be submitted no later than one year
after the date of the court's determination.

For property tax assessments as of January 1, 2017 or prior, the refunded/rescinded tax amount
must be at least $500 or your tax district must accumulate at least $5,000 of rescinded/refunded
taxes levied for the same year.

Note: The property owner must receive a refund for the overpaid tax with all applicable interest,
if any, before the municipality submits a chargeback request to DOR.

3. What if a municipality doesn't file the request by the October 1 deadline?
If the municipality does not file a request by the October 1deadline, it may file a request (Form

PC-201) with DOR before the next October 1. DOR will not make a determination for the 
request until November 15 of the following year. 
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4. When and who does DOR notify after making a determination? 
After DOR determines the amount of rescinded or refunded taxes for requests received by 
October 1, we certify the chargeback amount by November 15. DOR provides the municipal clerk 
with a copy of the request with the determination, showing the tax amount billed to each taxing 
jurisdiction. DOR also notifies each affected taxing jurisdiction. Note: These amounts are listed 
on the copy even if DOR denies the request. 

5. When do the affected taxing jurisdictions have to pay their amount of the 
chargeback to the municipality that filed the chargeback request? 
Each taxing jurisdiction must pay the municipality the total amount it owes by February 15 of the 
year following the determination. 

6. Does a Tax Incremental District have any effect on our chargeback determination 
made by DOR? 
Taxes refunded or rescinded for properties within a Tax Incremental District (TID) are not eligible 
for a chargeback unless the TID's current value is less than the TID's base value in the year the 
property owner received the tax refund. 

7. Does the chargeback amount have an effect on mill rate limits? 
No. Under state law (sec.  74.41(6),  Wis.  Stats.), if a taxing jurisdiction  levies a tax to fund  
an amount the taxing jurisdiction is required to pay, the amount should not be considered  
when determining whether the taxing jurisdiction  complies with any statutorily imposed mill 
rate limit. 

8. What is a Preliminary Chargeback Determination memo, and why did I receive one? 
DOR reviews any large requests submitted and mails a preliminary chargeback determination memo 
to each municipality and taxing jurisdiction. The memo serves as our preliminary approval, which 
allows other taxing jurisdictions to budget for the amount they will owe the municipality. 

DOR still certifies the total amount of all requests for each taxing jurisdiction by November 15 
each year. Each taxing jurisdiction must still repay the total amount it owes by February 15 of the 
year following the determination. 

9. Do we need to issue bills to each taxing jurisdiction? 
No. By November 15 each year, DOR informs each taxing jurisdiction of the amount it owes to 
the municipal treasurer by the following February 15. 

10.  How do we know what statute relates to the rescinded or refunded tax? 
The assessor should identify the appropriate Wisconsin Statute. 

 
11. Should I file Form PC-200 or PC-201? 

• Form PC-201,  (Chargeback of Rescinded or Refunded Taxes,) –  is a sec. 74.41 Wis. Stats.  
correction.     

• Form PC-200,  (Chargeback of Uncollected Net Personal Personal Property Taxes,) –  is a sec.  
74.42 Wis. Stats. correction. . 

 

Municipality may file this form betweenNo earlier than February 2 and no later than April 1. To file, the 
following must be true:, the municipality may file Form 
PC-200 
o Personal property taxes must have been were settled in full the previous year, which were 

delinquent at the time of settlement 



 

o Personal property taxes have not beenwere not collected in the intervening year, (and which 
remain delinquent,) if the taxes are owed by an entity that has ceased operations, filed a 
petition for bankruptcy, or are due on personal property that has beenwas removed from 
the next assessment roll 
 

For refunded or rescinded taxes - file Form PC-201 
 

°  Complete for illegal personal property or real estate taxes 
0     Note: Submit this form to DOR for a determination 
 

For delinquent personal property - file Form PC-200. This situation is not the 
same  as refunded or rescinded taxes. 
Example - when to file Form PC-200: 

 
0  20187 personal property taxes were unpaid as of January 31, 20198 
0    Municipality settled in full, as the taxes were delinquent at time of settlement 
0  In 201209, these taxes remain unpaid and one of the following applies. The entity: 

• Ceased operation 
• Filed a  petition for  bankruptcy 
• Owes taxes on personal property that will be removed on the next assessment roll 

0   No earlier than February 2 and no later than April 1, 202019 , the municipality may file 
Form PC-200 and inform its taxing jurisdictions 

 
Note: 

 
0    Do not submit the PC-200 to DOR 
0   You must submit a copy to the treasurer of each taxing jurisdiction between February 2 and 

April 1for the amount settled in full the previous February 
 

12. Where do Ifind Form PC-201, Request for Chargeback of 
Rescinded or Refunded Taxes? 

You must electronically file this form.It is located on our 
website at: revenue.wi.qov/Paqes/Form/qovtvc-Home.aspx  

13.12. Are there additional resources for the chargeback process? 
Yes.  For more information, review  Publication  PA-600, Property Tax Refund 
Requests and the Chargeback Process. 

 

Certification  statement 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-levy.aspx 

County and Municipal Levy Limits  

Sec. 66.0602, Wis. Stats. 

 

1.  What are county and municipal levy limits?  

Levy limits provide the maximum amount a town, village, city and county may implement as a property 
tax levy on parcels within their boundaries. 

2. What is the maximum amount a county, town, village or city can levy?  

Towns, villages, cities and counties use the Levy Limit Worksheet to determine the maximum allowable 
property tax levy they can implement without potentially receiving a penalty under state law (sec. 
66.0602, Wis. Stats.). 

On the Levy Limit Worksheet (Forms SL-202M and SL-202C) 
• TheYour allowable levy is the amountshows in Section A, Line 8 before adjustments from Section D 

of the levy limit worksheet and Section A Line 10 
Line 10 is the sum of Line 8 (levy limit before adjustments) and Line 9 (total adjustments from 
Section D) including all adjustments from Section D of the levy limit worksheet.   

•  

Special resolution (Form SL-202M) 

• If a town with a population less thanunder 3,000 approves a levy limit increase by special resolution, it 

must enter the total town tax levy, (including the increase approved by the town electors,) must be 

entered in Section A, Line 11 of municipal levy limit worksheet. 
• The amount on Line 11 is your allowable levy  

3. Where do I report the actual levy on the Levy Limit Worksheet?  

You report the actual levy on the Statement of Taxes (SOT), not on the Levy Limit Worksheet. You must 
use the Levy Limit Worksheet to calculate and report the allowable levy limit. 

Even if your actual levy is less than your allowable levy limit, you must submit your Levy Limit Worksheet 
showing your allowable levy limit. Your actual levy is reported on your SOT.  

4. Do I need to complete the Levy Limit Worksheet if there are no adjustments to our allowable levy?  
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Yes. Each county and municipality must submit a Levy Limit Worksheet to the Wisconsin Department of 
Revenue (DOR). You should review your allowable levy limit before adjustments in Section A to ensure 
your municipality's property tax levy is less than or equal to the allowable levy limit. If there are no 
adjustments, you would not enter any amounts in Section D, then submit. 

5. What is our allowable levy limit?  

Use the Levy Limit Worksheet to calculate your maximum allowable levy for the current year. The 
starting number in this calculation is the prior previous year's actual levy (except if there was an excess 
levy in the previous prior year) plus the current year's personal property aid. The allowable adjustments 
may vary. 

Complete the appropriate Levy Limit Worksheet:  

o County Levy Limit Worksheet (Form SL-202C) 
o Municipal Levy Limit Worksheet (Form SL-202M) 

 

6. What is the penalty for exceeding the levy limit?  

The penalty is a loss of shared revenue. This is a dollar for dollar penalty. Example: If a municipality 
exceeds its levy limit by $1,000, its state shared revenue payment is reduced by $1,000. If the penalty 
amount is greater than the state shared revenue payment amount for that year, the remaining penalty 
amount is deducted from subsequent state shared revenue payments until the penalty is paid in full. 

7. How does state law (sec. 66.0602 (2m)(b), Wis. Stats.), affect our municipality or county?  

The state created a law (sec. 66.0602 (2m)(b), Wis. Stats.), which can be summarized as: 

On or after July 2, 2013, if a county or municipality adopts a new fee or a fee increase for covered 
services (which were partly or wholly funded in 2013 by property tax levy), that county or municipality 
must reduce its levy limit in the current year by the amount of the new fee or fee increase, less any 
previous reductions. This also applies to payments in lieu of taxes. 

Covered services include: 
o Garbage collection – except for municipalities or counties that owned and operated a landfill on 

January 1, 2013 
o Fire protection – excluding the production, storage, transmission, sale and delivery, or 

furnishing of water for public fire protection purposes 
o Snow plowing 
o Street sweeping 
o Storm water management 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/slfiling.aspx
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The total amount of the reduction implemented by a county or municipality, including prior year 
reductions, should not exceed the amount funded by tax levy in 2013 to provide the covered service. 

8. Does a municipality or county need to adjust their its levy limit due to a reduction of general 
obligation debt authorized prior to July 1, 2005 debt?  

Per 2017 Wisconsin Act 59, since effective for the December 2017 tax levies, counties and municipalities 
must reduce their levy limit if their general obligation debt service levy for debt authorized prior to July 
1, 2005 is less in the current year compared to the prior previous year. This is referred to as a "negative 
debt adjustment." The reduction is entered in Section D, Line B of the Levy Limit Worksheet.  

Note: Starting with December 2017 tax levies, there is no longer an exception to the "negative debt 
adjustment." In result, if it applies, the reduction must be entered.  

9. Does general obligation debt authorized before July 1, 2005 (referred to as old debt) become new 
debt (general obligation debt authorized after July 1, 2005) when it is refinanced? 

No. If old debt is refinanced, it remains old debt for purposes of the levy limit worksheet. Therefore, 
you cannot include the scheduled principal and interest payments for old debt that was refinanced, in 
Section D, Line E of the Levy Limit Worksheet. 

 
10. Where do I report general obligation debt authorized after July 1, 2005 on the Levy Limit 

Worksheet? 

Report scheduled principal and interest payments for the next year on general obligation debt 
authorized after July 1, 2005, in Section D, Line E of the Levy Limit Worksheet. The payments must be 
scheduled and cannot be early/extra payments, unscheduled payments, or loan payoffs. Since general 
obligation debt authorized after July 1, 2005 is not base building ( does not remain in the base levy going 
forward), only include the amount you need to levy for in Section D, Line E. 

11. What is the process for exceeding the allowable levy limit for a town with a population under 3,000?  

For towns with a population under 3,000, a town board may adopt a resolution to exceed the levy limit, 
which is approved by electors at a special town meeting. The steps are listed below.  

a. Hold a town board meeting – at the meeting, the town board proposes and approves, by 
majority vote, a specific levy limit increase amount.  If approved, the board prepares the written 
resolution Town Board to Propose Exceeding Levy Limits, dates and signs it.  by majority vote the 
board members approve exceeding the levy limit. If it is approved, the board prepares a written 
resolution of the Town board proposing to exceed the levy limit.  

b. Post public notices for the special town meeting – must post in three public places at least 15 
days before the special town meeting. It should state that the board approved exceeding the 
levy limit by an increase of "X" amount, which the electors will be voting on at this special town 
meeting.  



c. Hold special town meeting – for the electors to vote on the town board's resolution proposing 
to exceed the levy limit by "X" amount. The vote must be on the exact amount approved by the 
town board. A majority vote of the electors is needed to approve the levy limit increase 
proposed and approved by the town board. If approved, the clerk prepares the written 
resolution Resolution of Electors to Exceed the Levy Limit at Special Town Meeting of Electors.  
The number of votes (aye and nay) must be included on the resolution. 

d. Prepare Resolution for electors to exceed the levy limit – clerk prepares resolution at the 
special town meeting, where a majority vote by the electors is needed to approve the town 
board resolution. The number of votes (aye and nay) must be included.  

 

If approved, the town must provide DOR with the following within 14 days: 

o Town board resolution proposing to exceed the levy limit (signed and dated) 
o Public notice for the special town meeting 
o Resolution of electors approving to exceed the levy limit (signed, dated, with voting results) 

 

12. What is the process for exceeding the allowable levy limit for a county, city, village or town with a 
population over 3,000?  

Under state law (sec. 66.0602(4), Wis. Stats.), all counties, cities, villages or towns with a population over 
3,000 may exceed its their levy limit after adopting a resolution to exceed its the levy limit, which is 
approved in a referendum. 

o Referendums can only be held in the fall at a partisan primary of or general election; they 
cannot be held in the spring 

o Referendum language must include the purpose for the increase and the term of the increase. 
You must use the language outlined in the statute for the referendum question. See sec. 
66.0602 (4) (c), Wis. Stats., for the required language. 

If approved, the county, city, village, city or town must provide DOR with the following within 14 days: 
o Signed Resolution for the Increase by Referendum 
o Copy of the ballot 
o Voting results 

 

13. Can a municipality increase the levy for an increase in charges assessed by a joint fire department?  

Yes. You can enter an adjustment in Section D, Line I of the Levy Limit Worksheet, which increases your 
levy limit if the charges assessed by your joint fire department increased and your municipality meets 
the requirements below. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/66/VI/0602/4


Under state law (sec. 66.0602(1)(am), Wis. Stats.), “Joint fire department" means a joint fire department 
organized under sec. 61.65 (2) (a) 3., or 62.13 (2m), or a joint fire department organized by any 
combination of two or more cities, villages, or towns under sec. 66.0301 (2). 

If your municipality is a member of a joint fire department by statute and the increaseed in assessed charges 
result in your municipality exceeding its levy limit, you can enter an adjustment in Section D, Line I if all the 
following apply: 

o The joint fire department's total charges assessed for the current year (not just your 
municipality's share) compared to the prior year, increaseed less than or equal to the 
percentage change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) from October 1 through September 30 of 
the current year, plus 2 percent. Note: The percentage change in CPI from October 1, 2017 8 
through September 30, 2018 9 is 2.4 1.9 percent. 

o All municipalities covered by the joint fire department must adopt a resolution supporting 
exceeding the levy limit the increase. 

 

Example: If the prior year (prior budget year) total assessed charges were $50,000 and the joint fire 
department's current year (year you are budgeting for) total assessed charges are $60,000, there that is 
an increase of $10,000 or 20 percent; the municipality does not qualify for an adjustment on this line of 
the Levy Limit Worksheet. Note: Tthe increase cannot be more than 4.4 3.9 percent for the 2018 9 Levy 
Limit Worksheet. 

14. Where should a municipality or county adjust the levy for an increase or decrease in costs associated 
with an intergovernmental cooperation agreement?  

You may make an adjustment in Section D, Line H of the Levy Limit Worksheet, which is used for an 
increase or decrease in costs associated with an intergovernmental cooperation agreement. This line is 
for a redistribution of costs for an existing agreement. This line cannot be used for a new service, 
increased costs or a new intergovernmental cooperation agreement. Example: if one member increases 
costs by 25 percent, the other members should decrease their costs to account for it. 
 

15. Can a municipality or county increase the levy for unreimbursed emergency expenses? 
• Yes. However, to increase a municipality's or county's levy limit for unreimbursed emergency 

expenses, the following must apply. 
o Emergency must be declared by the governor 
o Final determinations from all agencies' reimbursement requests were submitted  

• If qualified based on the above, the unreimbursed emergency expenses can be reported in the 
year the emergency is declared or the following year.   

• The amount of unreimbursed expenses is entered in Section D Line G of the levy limit worksheet.  
 

16. What impact does the personal property law change have on levy limits?  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/61.65(2)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/62.13(2m)
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Per Wis Act 59, Code 2 personal property – locally assessed machinery, tools and patterns, can no longer 
be levied for. Instead, the Wisconsin Department of Revenue will distribute a new personal property aid 
payment under sec. 79.096, Wis. Stats. Effective for December 2018 tax levies, the allowable levy limit is 
reduced by this new personal property aid. The reduction in the levy limit is replaced by the personal 
property aid payment that is issued the first Monday in May each year, beginning in May 2019.      

17. How does a municipality determine if an occupancy permit has been issued? 

Before a homeowner can occupy a newly built residence, an occupancy permit must be issued. This is 
not the same as a building permit. The occupancy permit is issued once the home is determined to be in 
a condition suitable for occupancy. These permits are generally issued by the building inspector. 

 

18. How is the median price of a new residential dwelling unit determined? 

To determine the median price, you must include all single-family residential dwelling unit sales from the 
previous year. If you are unsure if a home was sold, check with your local assessor. Once you have a list of 
sales prices for all single-family homes sold in the previous year, you can calculate the median as follows.   

1. Arrange the amounts in order by size 
2. If there is an: 
 a. Odd number of terms, the median is the center term 

b. Even number of terms, add the two middle terms and divide by 2 

 

 
Certification statement 
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Wisconsin County and Municipalities Financial Report (MFR)  
Sec. 86.303(5)(c), Wis. Stats. 

 

 
1.  Who is required to file a Financial Report?  

Each Wisconsin municipality and county is required to submit electronically file (e-file) a Financial Report to with the 
Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) showing prior year revenues and expenditures. 

E-file Forms to fileforms – located in My DOR Government Account: 
o Form AForm A - counties 
o Form CForm C - cities, villages and towns (with proprietary funds) 
o Form CTForm CT - towns (with no proprietary funds) 

The forms are available on our  
 

2. When is the filing deadline for MFR? 
Municipalities and counties with a population: 

o Less than 2,500 or less –  - March 31 
o Over 2,500 –  - March 31May 1 
o Extended due date for all municipalities and counties – : May 15 (no request required) 

 
Municipalities and counties with a population over 25,000: 

o July 31 –  - must also submit an auditor's opinion with a final version of the Financial Report 
o Auditor's opinion must indicate whether the information submitted is a clear representation of the 

municipality's or county's audited financial statements 

3. Will I be charged a penalty if I file this report late?  
o Yes. If you do not file this report by May 15, state law requires a late filing penalty that reduces your General 

Transportation Aid payments from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT). 
o If DOR does not receive your report, we may request that a Certified Public Accountant compile the report from 

your municipal or county records. Your municipality or county is billed directly for this cost. 

4. Will I receive MFR information in the mail?  
In mid-January, DOR emails each municipality and county a Financial Report letter, which includes: 

o Filing instructions 
o Financial Report Summary – prior year financial report data filed by the municipality or county ("playback"). This 

report is located on our website under Municipal Reports. 
o State Payment Register – record of payments that Wisconsin state agencies made to Wisconsin municipalities 

and counties. This report is located under Reports S. 
o U.S. Census Bureau Form F-65 – is available on our MFR web page 

 
5. Can I electronically file this report?  

Yes. You must electronically file (e-file) this report from our website.located in My DOR Government Account. For more 
information, review Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government.  

 
a. Go to the MFR web page 
b. Select the appropriate report 
c. Select "Start Filing" and enter the required information 
d. Once complete, click "Submit" and get your confirmation number 
e. Print or save the report for your records 

6. Can I amend the e-filed report?  
NoYes. YYou cannot submit an amended e-file formcan file an amended report in My DOR Government Account. You 
must submit the amended report to DOR by fax or email: 
Fax: (608) 264-6887  
Email: lgs@wisconsin.gov 
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7.  I'm having trouble with the Form Tax Roll Reconciliation page (Section B) page. What should I do?  
o Review the Tax Roll Reconciliation Cash Basis Accounting Instructions 
o In the e-file form 

 On the "Accounting Basis" page, make sure you selected "Cash Basis Accounting" 
 Review your entries for errors 
o Review the cover page to ensure you selected the correct accounting method: 
 Cash Basis accounting (C) 
 Modified Accrual accounting (M) 
 Check beginning and ending balances of all accounts 

 
8.  My report does not balance. What should I do? 

o Review your entries for errors 
o Check beginning and ending balances of all accounts 
o Make sure all the amounts from your accounts were correctly transferred to the form  
o  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DORForms/sl-103tax-roll.pdf


https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-retr-retr-c.aspx#ca11 

Real Estate Transfer Fee Common Questions - C  
 
Corrections (before Register of Deeds records the eRETR) 

1. Can you describe the eRETR correction procedure?  
The following describes the eRETR correction procedure - if an error is discovered on a real estate transfer return 
before the Register of Deeds records the transfer, the Register of Deeds will contact call the preparer at the 
number listed on the bottom of the receipt and notify him/her of the error(s). After being notified by the Register 
of Deeds, the preparer needs to: 

o Return to the eRETR web page. "Restore" the saved file and make the necessary corrections. 
o Once you make all corrections, select "Submit" and print the new receipt (which will have a different 

receipt number)  
Note: Each time you click the "Submit" button, it creates a new receipt number. Verify you made all 
necessary corrections before clicking "Submit." Make sure to save a copy of the corrected file.  

o After the corrections are resubmitted, the preparer should send or deliver the new receipt to the Register 
of Deeds 

o Register of Deeds will then enter the new receipt number. Once the Register of Deeds receives the receipt 
for the corrected return, you may discard the receipt for the original incorrect return. 

o To view and print the "Register of Deeds Criteria for an Electronic Real Estate Transfer Return (eRETR)," 
visit: revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Publications/slf-pe100e.aspx 
 

2. If I do not have a document number, how do I file an Amended Real Estate Transfer Return (PE-500x)?  
o A document number is generated after a deed is recorded. An Amended Real Estate Transfer Return 

(PE-500x) is only used after a deed is recorded and an error is discovered.  
o If you discover an error before you receive a document number, you can correct the error by doing one 

of the following:  
1. While electronically filing the eRETR, if you see an error noted on the Summary page, go back to 

the section with the error and make the correction before clicking "Submit" 
2. If you discover an error after you already submitted your return (clicked the green "Submit" 

button), return to the eRETR home page and restore the saved file 
1. Select "Start" and then "Restore Saved Information" (located on the right side below 

the "Remaining time" counter) 
2. Locate the file on your computer using the "Browse" function and then select "Upload 

File" 
3. Make the correction, save and click "Submit."  You will get a receipt with a new receipt 

number to send in with document. Discard the "old" receipt. (Note: If you did not save 
the return, you must complete a new eRETR.) 

3. If the deed is already recorded by the Register of Deeds, you may file an Amended Real Estate 
Transfer Return (Form PE-500x) to correct the error. 

Note: If you need to re-record a deed or record an affidavit of correction, you must file another eRETR. You may 
not use an amended real estate transfer return (Form PE-500x) for this purpose. You can only file a Form PE-
500x after a deed is recorded and if the error is only on the eRETR. 

 
3. Can I correct a deed by electronic filing an Amended (PE-500x)? 

No.,  To correct an error on a deed, you must complete a new deed and a new Electronic Real Estate Transfer 
Return (eRETR) that needs to filedto file it with the Register of Deeds. 

 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-retr-retr-c.aspx#ca11
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/RETr/Home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Publications/slf-pe100e.aspx


Levy Limit Fact Sheet 
(sec. 66.0602(2m)(b) Wis. Stats.)

1

Created in 2013 Wisconsin Act 20

Statute Summary
On or after July 2, 2013, if a municipality adopts a new fee or a fee increase for covered services (which were partly or 
wholly funded in 2013 by property tax levy), that municipality must reduce its levy limit in the current year by the amount 
of the new fee or fee increase, less any previous reductions. This also applies to payments in lieu of taxes. The required 
reduction to a municipality’s levy limit should not exceed the amount funded by levy in 2013.

The covered services include: 
 •	 Garbage collection
 •	 Fire protection
 •	 Snow plowing

 •	 Street sweeping
 •	 Storm water management

Definitions
The items listed are not all-inclusive.

Garbage Collection 
The collection and disposal of garbage includes:
•	 Collection of garbage, rubbish and discarded items from properties within the jurisdiction
•	 Operation of a landfill site, including: incinerators, refuse pulverizer systems, site covering, gate attendants, central 

collection transfer points, solid waste drop off sites and site monitoring
•	 Note

»	 This does not include recycling
»	 Garbage collection may not be a covered service for any political subdivision that owned and operated a landfill  

on January 1, 2013

Fire Protection 
•	 Includes all fire protection activities, such as fire fighting training, fire inspection, investigation of fire losses, fire 

prevention education, fire signs and fire fighting
•	 Does not include the production, storage, transmission, sale and delivery, or furnishing of water for public fire 

protection purposes

Examples
Example 1 – a municipality funded its fire protection services of $100,000 by tax levy in 2013. The municipality adopts a 
new fee of $25,000 on July 15, 2013 for its 2014 budget. 
Result – the municipality must reduce its 2013 levy limit by $25,000

Example 2 – in 2013, a municipality funds its storm water management of $400,000 partly by tax levy of $300,000 and 
partly by fee of $100,000. On July 8, 2013, the municipality adopts a fee increase of $50,000 for its 2014 budget. 
Result – the municipality must reduce its 2013 levy limit by $50,000

Example 3 – a municipality funds its garbage collection of $200,000 solely by fee in 2013. On July 20, 2013, the 
municipality adopts a fee increase of $30,000. 
Result – the municipality is not required to adjust (reduce) its levy limit due to this fee increase since the service was not 
funded partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013 

Within the 2013-2015 budget (2013 Wisconsin Act 20), the state created Wis. Stats. sec. 66.0602(2m)(b). 
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Levy Limit Fact Sheet (sec. 66.0602(2m)(b) Wis. Stats.)

Common Questions
1. 	Does the provision affect other services? 
	 Only the five services listed are affected. Fees for services not listed are not subject to this provision (levy adjustment). 

2. 	Does the provision apply to a municipality that begins paying for a covered service by a fee instead of tax levy? 
	 Yes, if a covered service was funded partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013 and a municipality adopts a fee on or after July 2, 

2013, the municipality is required to reduce its levy limit. 

3. 	 Does the provision apply to a municipality that pays for a covered service partly by a fee and partly by tax levy in 2013? 
	 Yes. The statute applies to covered services that were funded partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013. A municipality that 

funds a covered service partly by fee and partly by tax levy is required to reduce its levy limit, if it adopts a fee increase 
on or after July 2, 2013. 

4. 	Does the provision apply when a municipality that had a covered service for several years which was paid for by a 
fee, such as a storm water utility, adopts a fee increase? 

	 • 	 If the covered service was not funded partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013 (i.e., funded 100% by fee), the statute does 	
	 not apply. 

	 • 	 If the covered service was funded partly by tax levy and partly by fee in 2013, the statute applies to any fee increase 	
	 adopted on or after July 2, 2013. 

5. 	Does the provision apply when a municipality begins to provide a covered service for the first time and chooses 
to fund the service 100% through a fee? 

	 No. The statute applies to covered services that were provided by a municipality and funded partly or wholly by tax levy 
in 2013. 

6. 	Can a municipality create a new fee, such as a fire inspection fee, without being required to adjust its property 
tax levy limit? 

	 Fire protection, which includes fire inspection, is a covered service. If a municipality funded its fire protection service 
partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013 and adopts a new fee or fee increase on or after July 2, 2013, the municipality is 
required to reduce its levy limit. 

7.	 A municipality provided a covered service funded partly by levy and partly by fee in 2013. In 2014, it is expecting 
more fee revenue, not due to an adopted fee increase but from population growth and the increased use of 
services. Does the municipality need to adjust the levy limit in this situation?

	 No. Since the expected fee revenue in 2014 is from population growth and increased service use, it does not need to 
adjust the levy limit.  It only needs to adjust the levy limit if the municipality adopts a new fee or a fee increase on or after 
July 2, 2013 for covered services (funded partly or wholly by tax levy in 2013).

8.	 What can a municipality do if this provision applies and it does not wish to adjust its property tax levy limit? 
	 The statute states a municipality’s governing body can adopt a resolution stating that the levy limit should not be 

reduced. The resolution must then be approved in a referendum. 

If you have questions, contact us at (608) 266-8618 or lgs@revenue.wi.gov. 

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Division of State and Local Finance
Local Government Services Bureau



https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-lottcr.aspx#lc18 

 

Wisconsin Lottery and Gaming Credit Program 

18. I didn't receive the Lottery and Gaming Credit on my property tax bill for previous years. Can I apply for 
the Lottery and Gaming Credit refund for those years? 
 
If you are eligible for the Lottery and Gaming Credit, and your property tax bill does not list the 
credit, you must file a late claim application with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue by October 
1, after your property tax bill is issued. Under state law, a taxpayer may only claim the previous 
year's missing Lottery and Gaming Credit.    (sec. 79.10 (10) (bm), Wisc. Stats.) 
 
Example: If your 2019 property tax bill (issued December 2019) does not show the credit, you have 
until October 1, 2020 to file a late claim and receive a credit.  

 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-lottcr.aspx#lc18
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Treasurer' s Settlement Sheet 
 

Secs. 74.25 and 74.30, Wis. Stats. 
 
 

 

1. What is the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) provides the Treasurer's Settlement 
Sheet (Form  PC-501) for counties to report the February settlements. DOR uses the 
completed form to verify tax collections compared to the taxes levied in the municipal 
records. DOR also uses the form to identify and resolve discrepancies. The Treasurer's 
Settlement Sheet should reconcile with the Statement of Taxes (SOT). 

2. Am I required to file a Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 
 

°  February settlements - Yes. Under state law (sec. 74.25, Wis. Stats.), counties 
must submit a Treasurer's Settlement Sheet for municipalities with February 
settlements to DOR by March 15. 

0   August settlements - under state law (sec. 74.30, Wis. Stats.), if you have an August 
settlement, submitting a Treasurer's Settlement Sheet is optional 

 
3. What is the deadline for filing the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 

0    March 15 - if your municipality has a February Settlement, DOR must receive the 
completed form by March 15 

0    Note: Also provide a copy to the municipa l clerk and treasurer, and the county treasurer 
 

4. How do I submit the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 
You must electronically file (e-file) the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet with DOR. There are two 
methods available to e-file this form: 

1. File transfer - you may use this method if your county has an approved  file format 
• Visit the Government  E-Services  File Transfer  page 
• Select "Ready to Transfer" under "Treasurer's Settlement Sheet File Transmission" 
• Submit your file 
• Save your receipt number 
• If there is a problem with your file, we will contact you 

 
2. E-file form - you may e-file this form. Many fields automatically calculate and/or pre-fill 

based on values reported to DOR on other forms (ex: SOT, Apportionments) 
• Visit the Government  E-Services Online Filing page 
• Select the "Treasurer's Settlement Sheet" (PC-501) 
• Enter the required information and submit to DOR 
• Print and/or save a copy for your records, including your confirmation number 

 
5. Do I need a PIN number or password to use the File Transfer method? 

No. You are not required to use a PIN number or password, or pre-register. 
 
 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-setsh.aspx


 

 

6. 6. Do I need a PIN number or password to use the E-file form? 
 
This form is located in My DOR Government Account. You must be authorized to file. For more information,  
review our Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government.  
 

 
7. Will my data be encrypted or otherwise protected when it's transmitted over 

the Internet? 
Yes. Your data is protected during transmission. The file posts through HTTPS (Hypertext 
Transfer Protocol over SSL) to a web server and the data is protected with SSL (Secure 
Sockets Layer) 128-bit encryption. This encrypted protocol is the same standard used for 

Internet financial transactions. 
 

8. Will I receive a confirmation receipt after I submit the Treasurer's 
Settlement Sheet? 

File transfer method 
 

0    Successful transfer - Yes. If the file transferred successfully, you will receive a notification ("OK 
Transfer Complete") that DOR accepted the file. If there are errors or we cannot process the file, 
we will contact you. 

0      Unsuccessful transfer - if your file did not transfer, you will receive a notification stating that errors 
exist and must be corrected before submitting 

 
E-fi/e form - after submitting a complete and error-free form, you will see a date stamp and 
confirmation number. Save and/or print the form for your records. 

 
9. What information do I need to file the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 

You need a complete tax roll, where: 
 

0   All collections and state tax credits have been applied 
°  First dollar and lottery and gaming credits have been posted 
0 All unpaid taxes were extended 
0   Tax roll is balanced and reconciled to the Certificate of Correctness and SOT 

 
For more detailed information, review " I  nstructions  - Tax  District Treasurer's  
Settlement Sheet." 

https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx


 

 

10. What if the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet and the Statement of Taxes {SOT) do 
not reconcile? 

The Treasurer's Settlement Sheet and the SOT should reconcile. If they do not, you must: 
 

0  Notify the municipality 
0     Provide DOR with a detailed explanation why the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet does not 

reflect what is reported on the SOT 
0   If the discrepancy is due to incorrect information on the SOT, amend the SOT to correct 

any identified errors 
 

11.  How often do Managed Forest {MFL) rates change and how are we notified? 
Rates can change every five years. The last rate update occurred in 2018; prior rates change 
in 2013. The next rate update will be 2023. DOR updates the form and instructions, emails 
municipalities with the new rates, and discusses the changes in training opportunities. 

12. Can I amend the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet? 
Yes. You may amend the Treasurer's Settlement by using either the file transfer or e-file 
method. If a municipality has a duplicate file transfer, DOR recognizes it as amended. 

Note: When using the e-file form, the report type will show "Amended," complete all required 
information and submit. Print and/or save the amended copy for your records. 

 

Certification  statement 
 
 

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT: 
MS 6-97 
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Local Government Services Bureau 
PO Box 8971 
Madison, WI 53708-8971 
Fax: (608) 264-6887 
Email additional questions to lqs@wisconsin.gov 

 
About Us Contact Us Employment Media Room Plain Language Privacy Legal 
Training 

Copyright © State of Wisconsin All Rights Reserved 
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Net New Construction  

Secs. 66.0602 and 79.05, Wis. Stats. 

 

1. What is "net new construction?" 

o DOR's Equalization Bureau calculates net new construction each year 
o It includes changes to equalized value due to new building construction and land 

improvements minus changes to equalized value due to the demolition/destruction of 
buildings and removal of land improvements 

o Net new construction amounts for each county and municipality is located at: 
revenue.wi.gov/Pages/EQU/nnc.aspx 

 

2. When it is calculated, does net new construction include or exclude property in tax incremental 
financing (TIF) districts?  
Net new construction is calculated based on all taxable property in a municipality or county, including 
property in TIFs. 

3. How does the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) use net new construction?  
DOR uses net new construction as part of the county and municipal levy limits.   

Note:  The percentage used on the Levy Limit Worksheet is carried out to three decimal places, the Net 
New Construction Report only shows two decimal places. 

4. Does DOR use net new construction for other calculations?  
Yes. DOR uses net new construction to determine the allowable increase in spending under the 
expenditure restraint program. 

Note:  The percentage used to calculate the allowable increase in spending under the Expenditure 
Restraint Program is carried out to three decimal places, the Net New Construction Report only shows 
two decimal places. 

5. When is net new construction available?  
DOR posts the net new construction reports to our website by August 15 of each year. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/66/VI/0602
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/66/VI/0602
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/79/I/05
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/79/I/05
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/EQU/nnc.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/EQU/nnc.aspx
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Real Estate Transfer Fee Common Questions N-P 

1. How do you complete the transfer returns when there is an uneven division of real estate 
among co-owners? Assume three siblings jointly own three properties: Property 1 has a fair 
market value of $60,000, and properties 2 and 3 have a value of $90,000 each. Sibling A 
receives property 1, sibling B receives property 2, and sibling C receives property 3. 

On three transfer returns, the values of the properties should be allocated as follows: 

Property 1 to Sibling A: 

Name   
Value Prior 

 
Value After 

 
Value Change 

Grantor: Sibling B $20,000 $ 0.00 ($20,000) 

Grantor: Sibling C $20,000 $ 0.00 ($20,000) 

Grantee: Sibling A $20,000 $60,000 $40,000 

Total FMV $60,000 $60,000 $0 

Property 2 to Sibling B:  

Name  
Value Prior 

 
Value After 

 
Value Change 

Grantor: Sibling A $30,000 $ 0.00 ($30,000) 

Grantor: Sibling C $30,000 $ 0.00 ($30,000) 

Grantee: Sibling B $30,000 $90,000 $60,000 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-retr-retr-n-p.aspx#ret121
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-retr-retr-n-p.aspx#ret121


Name  
Value Prior 

 
Value After 

 
Value Change 

Total FMV $90,000 $90,000 $0 

Property 3 to Sibling C: 

Name  
Value Prior 

 
Value After 

 
Value Change 

Grantor: Sibling A $30,000 $ 0.00 ($30,000) 

Grantor: Sibling B $30,000 $ 0.00 ($30,000) 

Grantee: Sibling C $30,000 $90,000 $60,000 

Total FMV $90,000 $90,000 $0 

Summary  

Name  
Value Prior 

 
Value After 

 
Value Change 

Sibling A $80,000 $ 60,000.00 ($20,000) 

Sibling B $80,000 $ 90,000.00 $10,000 

Sibling C $80,000 $90,000 $10,000 

Total FMV $240,000 $240,000 $0 

Example summary - in a true partition, there is no gain (or loss) of value of ownership interest; the 
property is divided equally in value among the owners. In this example, sibling A conveyed an 
interest in value of $20,000. The fee due on the value of $20,000 is allocated on the transfer returns 
for the deeds to Properties 2 and 3, where sibling A is the grantor. Siblings B and C gained an interest 



over all; therefore, they did not "convey" a value in the real property and are not subject to transfer 
fee per state law (sec. 77.25(5), Wis. Stats.). 

Completing the returns for the deed of:  

Property 1 from B and C to Sibling A 

a. Type of Transfer: Check "Other" and explain "partition" 

b. Total value of Real Estate transferred: $40,000 

c. Transfer Fee: $0.00 

d. Exemption: 5 applies to B and C as there is no gain or loss in value 

Property 2 from A and C to Sibling B 

e. Type of Transfer: Check "Other" and explain "partition" 

f. Total value of Real Estate transferred: $60,000 

g. Transfer Fee: $30.00 (payable by A for $10,000, being one-half the $20,000 value 
differential) 

h. Exemption: 5  

Property 3 from A and B to Sibling C 

i. Type of Transfer: Check "Other" and provide the explanation "partition" 

j. Total Value of Real Estate transferred: $60,000 

k. Transfer Fee: $30.00 (payable by A for $10,000, being one-half the $20,000 value 
differential) 

l. Exemption: 5 



Note: The property value is determined by each property's fair market value per state law (sec.77.21 
(3), Wis. Stats.). Do not adjust the fair market value by the amount of any liens on the property. 
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Wisconsi n Room Tax Report 
 

 

1.  Who must file the Wisconsin  Room Tax Report? 
 

Every municipality that imposes a room tax must electronically file (e-file) the Room Tax Report each 
year. 

Note: Municipalities may have originally imposed the room tax under state law (sec. 66.75, Wis. 
Stats.). This statute was renumbered; it is now sec. 66.0615, Wis. Stats. These municipalities are still 
required to file the Room Tax Report. 

2. How does a municipality submit its annual Room Tax Report? 
 

You must electronically file (e-file) your Room Tax Report. This form is located in My DOR Government 
Account. For more information, review our Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government.  

 Make sure to review the filing instructions before starting. 

E-file form – you must e-file this form.  

 Visit the Government E-Services Online Filing page 
 Select the "Room Tax Report" Form (SL-304) 
 Enter the required information and submit to DOR 
 Print and/or save a copy for your records, including your confirmation number 

A municipality should e-file the Room Tax Report (SL-304) on our website. Make sure to review the 
filing instructions before starting. 

3. What is the deadline for filing the Room Tax Report? 
 

The deadline for filing the room tax report is May 1 each year.  Room tax reports not filed by the  
deadline, may be imposed a penalty of $50 per day. 

 
4. What happens if a municipality does not file its Room Tax Report by the due date? 

 
If the Room Tax Report is not filed timely, DOR may imposecharge a penalty of $50 per day beyond 

after the filing due date, up to a maximum of $3,000. 

5. Can a municipality amend its Room Tax Report? 
 

Yes. A municipality maycan amend its Room Tax Report while before the filing deadlinethe filing period 
is still open by accessing the e-file form. 

6. What is reported on the Room Tax Report? 
 

https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx


 

 

The following items a re reported on the Room Tax Report: 
 

0  Room tax rate imposed 
0    Total (gross) tax collections from Janua ry 1through December 31 
0    Revenues forwarded to a tourism entity/commission 
0   Tourism entity/commission members 
0    Detailed expenditures of $1,000 or more made by the tourism entity/commission 
0 If a municipality collected room taxes on May 13, 1994 - attach ordinance in effect on May 13, 1994 

and the municipality's financial statement completed nea rest to May 13, 1994 
 
 

7. Will the Room Tax Reports be available to the public? 
 

Yes. DOR posts the filed Room Tax Reports on our website. 
 

8. The Room Tax Report requires a municipality to detail expenditures made by a tourism 
entity/commission  of $1,000 or more. How should I report payroll expenditures on ·the 
Room Tax Report? · 

 
In the expenditures section of the Room Tax Report, a municipa lity may report "Payroll" as one 
expenditure. 

9.  How can a municipality enforce the collection of room tax revenues? 
 
Review the options outlined in sec. 66.0615(2) Wis. Stats. are Only a municipality may collect these 
taxes. DOR cannot  distribute the sales and use tax or income tax information of a business. Your 
municipality can initiate the inspection and audit of the hotel's financial records under sec. 66.0615(2)(a), 
Wis. Stats. 

9.  
 
 

Certification  statement 
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School Levy Tax Credit  

Sec. 79.10, Wis. Stats. 

 

1. How is the school levy tax credit calculated? 

Formula for calculating the school levy tax credit: 

Municipality's 3-Year Average School Levies 
Statewide 3-Year Average School Levies                                x Total Funding =                            Municipality's Credit 
 
Ex:          6,660,558     
          4,832,905,497     x 940,000,000 =    $1,295,478 
 

 

2. Is the school levy tax credit paid to the school district?  

No. The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) distributes this credit to counties and municipalities. DOR makes the payments to the county 
where the municipality is located and then the county distributes the payment to the municipality. Note: DOR can make payments directly to the 
municipality if the municipality qualifies for one of the exceptions and follows the requirements under state law. (sec. 79.10(7m)(cm), Wis. Stats.) 

3. When are towns, villages and cities notified of the school levy tax credit amount?  

DOR must inform municipalities of their school levy tax credit payments on or before November 20 each year. (sec. 79.10 (2), Wis. Stats.) 

4. How is the school levy tax credit reported on individual property tax bills?  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-slevytcr.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/79/II/10
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/79/II/10
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State of Wisconsin 
Department of Revenue 

 
 
 

Sharing Non-Manufacturing Omitted Taxes 
 

Sec. 74.315, Wis. Stats. 
 
 

 

1. Is a municipality required to share non-manufacturing omitted taxes with other taxing jurisdictions? 
 

Yes. If the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the omitted taxes affect the 
municipality's equalized value. 
Yes. If the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the taxation district's equalized 
valuation changed due to the submitted omitted taxes, DOR will notify the taxation district and the 
taxation district must distribute the resulting collections. 

2. What are the requirements for submitting a request to share omitted taxes to DOR? 
 

If the total non-manufacturing omitted tax listed on a municipality's tax roll exceeds $5,000, the municipality 
must file a Request for Sharing Non-ManufacuringManufacturing Omitted Taxes (PC-205) with DOR by 
October 1in the year the omitted taxes are listed on the tax roll. (sec. 74.315, Wis. Stats.) 

3. What if the tax roll is not finalized by October 1? 
 

After October 1, if the roll is not finalized, the municipality must file a request (PC-205) with DOR before the 
next October 1. 

 
 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/F  AQS/slf-nmomittx.aspx 12/5/2019 
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DOR Sharing Non-Manufacturing  Omitted Taxes 
4. When does DOR notify municipalities of its determination? 

Page 2 of 3 

 

DOR makes our determination by November 15 for requests received by October 1. DOR then informs the 
municipality of the determination. Beginning with determinations in 2020, the determination notices will  
included in the determination notice will be a link to our website that will includewith detailed information 
and further explanationmore information regardingon the omitted tax request. PriorBefore 2020, DORWe  
included a copy of the request with the determination, showing the tax amount to be shared with each 
taxing jurisdiction.  Note: These amounts are listed on the copy even if the request is denied. A 
municipality may share the omitted tax even if DOR denies the request. 

5. If the amount of omitted taxes on a municipality's tax roll is $5,000 or less, is the 
municipality required to file a request with DOR? 

 
No. If the total amount of omitted tax on the municipality's tax roll is $5,000 or less, a municipality is not 
required to file a Request for Sharing Non-Manufacturing Omitted Taxes (Form PC-205) with DOR. 

6. Where do Iget Form PC-205, Request for Sharing Non-Manufacuring Omitted TaxesHow do I file a 
Request for Sharing Non-Manufacturing Omitted Taxes (Form PC-205)? 

 
You must electronically file (e-file) Form PC-205.this form. Form PC-205 is located at: 
revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/slfilinq.aspx. This form is located in My DOR Government Account. For 
more information, review our Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government.  

 

 E-file form – PC-205   
 Visit the Government E-Services Online Filing page 
 Select the "Request for Sharing Non-Manufacturing Omitted Taxes" Form (PC-205) 
 Enter the required information and submit to DOR 
 Print and/or save a copy for your records, including your confirmation number 

NOTE: Beginning with 2019 DOR e-filed forms, you will need to set up a "My DOR GOV Account" found here 

 

7. If DOR determines the omitted taxes affect the equalized value, when does a 
municipality need to settle with other taxing jurisdictions? 

 
Once the taxes are collected, the taxation district must distribute the _ taxes in the January or. February 
settlement under state law (secs. 74.23 (1) (a) 5, 74.25 (1) (a) 4m, and 74.30 (1) (dm), Wis.  Stats.). 

8. Where should a municipality send the state's share of omitted taxes? 
 

Since January 1, 2017 (per Wisconsin Act 59), the state eliminated the forestation state tax. 
 

For omitted taxes before January 1, 2017, send the state's payment to: 
Department of  Natural  Resources,  FN/2 PO 
Box 7921 
Madison, WI 53707-7921 

 
Include: 

 
0  Statement identifying the funds are for taxes collected on omitted property 
0   Municipality's name 

 

https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx


9. How many years can a municipality go back for reporting omitted property? 
 

You may report omitted property for the previous two years for real or personal property, unless previously 
reassessed for the same year or years. This does not apply to manufacturing property assessed by DOR. 
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https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-soa.aspx 
 

Statement of Assessment (SOA) 
 

Sec. 70.53, Wis. Stats. 
 
 

 

1. What is the Statement of Assessment (SOA)? 
A municipal clerk or real property lister electronically files (e-files) the SOA with the Wisconsin 
Department of Revenue (DOR). Once the Board of Review (BOR) adjourns and adjustments are 
made on the assessment roll, the clerk or real property lister reports the locally assessed values to 
DOR. It is important that the values are accurate and reported timely since the values are used to: 

° Certify school, technical college and special district equalized values 
° Create a final SOA, which includes the state assessed manufacturing property and the 

aggregate ratio used to calculate property tax bills 
0    Note: Final SOAs are posted on our Reports web page from October through December 

 

2. What is the deadline to file an SOA? 
You must file your SOA with DOR by the second Monday in June or after your BOR is complete. Do not 
file your SOA until the BOR adjourns and all adjustments a re made to the assessment roll. 

3. How do I file an SOA? 
You must electronically file (e-file) your SOA by using either our e-file form or file transfer.: 
 

 
E-file form – this form is located in My DOR Government Account. For more information, review Online Filing 
Help – Using My DOR Government.  

you may e-file this form. Many fields automatically pre-fill based on values reported to DOR by  
other files (ex: MFL and PFC acres reported by DNR) 
Visit the Government E-Services Online Filing page 

 Select the "Statement of Assessment Form" (PA-521C) 
 Enter the required information and submit to DOR 

Print and/or save a copy for your records, including your confirmation number 
 

File transfer - you may use this method if your county has an approved file format  
 Visit the Government E-Services File Transfer page 
 Select "Ready to Transfer" under "Statement of Assessment File Transmission"  
 Submit your file 
 Save your receipt number  
 If there is a problem with your file, we will contact you 

4. Do I need a PIN number or password to use the File Transfer method?  
             No,. You you are not required to use a PIN number or password, or pre-register. 
 
5       Do I need a PIN number or password to use the E-file form? 

   Since this form is located in My DOR Government Account (MyDORGov), you must be an authorized 
MyDORGov user. For more information, review Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government. Beginning with 
2019 DOR e-filed forms, you will need to set up a "My DOR GOV Account" found here  

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-soa.aspx
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Documents/settle.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/slfeserv.aspx
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx


 

 
  
 

6 Why is it important to submit a complete and accurate SOA? 
DOR uses the SOA to make determinations of school and special district valuations, equate the state 
assessed manufacturing property, and to determine the ratio for calculating fair market value estimates. 

Note: If you report any corrections to assessed va lues on Line 23 of your SOA, you must report the 
corresponding net taxes and refunds due in Sections J and K on the SOT. 

7 Why did the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) contact us about our Managed Forest Land 
(MFL) or Private Forest Crop (PFC) acreage? 

In March each year, the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) provides DOR with  a file 
listing the MFL and PFC acres in each municipality.Ifmunicipality. If DOR contacted you, it may be 
because the acreage you submitted on the SOA did not reflect the acreage provided by DNR, and you did 
not provide an explanation as to why the acreage did not match. 

8 How often do Managed Forest (MFL) rates change and how are we notified 
Rates can change every five years. The last rate update occurred in 2018; prior rates changed in 2013. The 
next rate update will be in 2023. DOR updates the form and instructions, emails municipalities with the new 
rates, and discusses the changes in training opportunities. 

9 Do I need to report an assessed value for a special district if it does not levy any tax? 
Yes. Since DOR is required to certify equalized values of legally formed town sanitary districts, public lake 
protection and rehab districts, and metropolitan sewer districts, the assessed va lue must be reported. 

10 How do I record a Section 70.43 Correction on Line 23 of the SOA? 
Report omitted property on Line 23, real estate on A and personal property on B. You a lso report sec. 
70.43, Wis. Stats., corrections of errors by the assessor on Line 23. Report real estate on Cl and personal 
property in C2. Both of these should be for the prior year, not something found on the current assessment 
roll after the Board of Review. 

Note: If you report omitted property and/or a sec. 70.43 correction on the SOA, you must report the 
corresponding amount of net taxes or refund due in Section K of the SOT. 

11 Where can I find my final SOA? 
As we complete an SOA, DOR posts each final SOA (which may include manufacturing va lues) on our 
website at: revenue.wi.qov/Pages/Report/s.aspx. 

10. I filed my SOA. Why isn't there a final SOA for my municipality? 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/F  AQS/slf-soa.aspx 11/27/2019 

http://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/F


 

 

DOR works on final SOAs in batches starting in mid-late October through December and posts Final SOAs 
after we complete each batch. 

11. I amended my SOA. Why don't I see the amended values on the final SOA? 
Since other processes rely on an SOA's information, it is important for DOR to have the most accurate SOA. 
If you amended your SOA after we posted the final to our website, we will still process it. However, we will 
not post the Final SOA with the amended values. DOR will not calculate a new aggregate ratio. When you 
calculate property tax bills, use the aggregate ratio found on the Final SOA and the updated values from the 
amended SOA. 

12. Are there additional resources for the SOA process? 
Yes. Review !fl Publication PA-502, Assessment and Tax Roll Instructions for Clerks. This publication 

provides an overview of the SOA and other processes a clerk and/or treasurer may be responsible for 
throughout the year. 
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https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-tiw.aspx 
 

Tax Increment Worksheet 
 
 

 

1. What is the Tax Increment Worksheet (TIW)? 
The Tax Increment Worksheet (PC-202) calculates property tax amounts for the Tax Incremental 

Districts (TIDs) within a municipality. The TIW uses the overlying taxing 
jurisdiction's apportioned tax levies and the value increment within each taxing jurisdiction to determine their share 
of the tax increment. The total tax increment is distributed to the municipality's TIDs. 

 

2.  Who needs to file the TIW? 
Any town, village or city with one or more TIDs with a positive total value increment must complete the TIW 
each year. You must file this worksheet before you can file the Statement of Taxes (SOT). 

 

3. How do I file the TIW? 
You must electronically file (e-file) the TIW. This form is located in My DOR Government 
Account. For more information, review our Online Filing Help – Using My DOR Government. 

 E-file form – Most values on the TIW are Auto-Filled   
 Visit the Government E-Services Online Filing page 
 Select the "Tax Increment Worksheet" Form (PC-202) 
 Enter the required information and submit to DOR 
 Print and/or save a copy for your records, including your confirmation number 

NOTE: Beginning with 2019 DOR e-filed forms, you will need to set up a "My DOR GOV Account" found here 

our website:  https: //www. revenue. wi .gov/Paqes/OnlineServices/slfilinq .aspx 

 
4. What is the deadline to file the TIW? 

Each required municipality must e-file the TIW with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) by the third 
Monday in December. Note: You must file the TIW before you complete the mill rate worksheet. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-tiw.aspx
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://ww2.revenue.wi.gov/VaultExternal/userExternalData/userExternalDetailsReview.html
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-vault.aspx


 

 

 
5. Where do my values come from for filing the TIW? 

Most values on the TIW are auto-filled. The only value you need to report is the municipality's local levy, 
which is the sum of these lines from the Statement of Taxes (SOT): 

0  Other special purpose district taxes ( Line D1) 
0   Other state special charges (Line D4) 
° County special charges (Line D5) 
0   All other town, village or city taxes (Line D6) 

 
Note: 

0    Do not include any tax increment in your municipality's local levy 
0    Special purpose districts are not authorizing taxing jurisdictions; in result, you must include their levies 

in your municipality's local levy on the TIW 
 
 

6. What if an auto-filled apportioned levy is missing or incorrect? 
You must contact the taxing jurisdiction  directly. Taxing jurisdictions  (except schools) report their 
apportioned levies to DOR. School districts provide their apportioned levies to the Wisconsin Department of 
Public Instruction (DPI), which is shared with DOR. 

 

7. Which levy amount from the TIW should Iuse to calculate property tax mill rates - 
Column A (Apportioned Levy) or Column E (Levy Amount)? 
Use Column E (Levy Amount) to calculate mill rates for property tax bills: This will ensure the total 
apportioned tax levies and the tax increment are collected. Column A (Apportioned Levy) amounts will be 
shown on your municipality's SOT. Column F's (Tax Increment) amount will appear on the SOT, Section D, 
Line 2. 

 

8. I found an error on my TIW; can Ifix it? 
Yes. You can electronically amend Form PC-202, located on our website: 
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/slfiling.aspx 
After you amend the TIW, you may also need to amend the SOT. 

 
 

Certification statement 
 
 

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT: 
MS 6-97 
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Local Government Services  Bureau 
PO Box 8971 
Madison, WI 53708-8971 
Fax : (608) 264-6887 
Email additional questions to lgs@wisconsin.gov 

 
About Us Contact Us Employment Media Room Plain Language Privacy Legal 
Training 

Copyright © State of Wisconsin All Rights Reserved 

http://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Onli
mailto:lgs@wisconsin.gov

	Chargeback 2019 CQ Revision LMO.lk
	1. What is a chargeback of rescinded or refunded taxes?
	2. What are the requirements for submitting a request for chargeback of rescinded or refunded taxes to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR)?
	3. What if a municipality doesn't file the request by the October 1 deadline?
	4. When and who does DOR notify after making a determination?
	5. When do the affected taxing jurisdictions have to pay their amount of the chargeback to the municipality that filed the chargeback request?
	6. Does a Tax Incremental District have any effect on our chargeback determination made by DOR?
	7. Does the chargeback amount have an effect on mill rate limits?
	8. What is a Preliminary Chargeback Determination memo, and why did I receive one?
	DOR reviews any large requests submitted and mails a preliminary chargeback determination memo to each municipality and taxing jurisdiction. The memo serves as our preliminary approval, which allows other taxing jurisdictions to budget for the amount ...
	9. Do we need to issue bills to each taxing jurisdiction?
	10.  How do we know what statute relates to the rescinded or refunded tax?
	11. Should I file Form PC-200 or PC-201?
	Note:
	12. Where do Ifind Form PC-201, Request for Chargeback of Rescinded or Refunded Taxes?
	You must electronically file this form.It is located on our website at: revenue.wi.qov/Paqes/Form/qovtvc-Home.aspx
	12. Are there additional resources for the chargeback process?


	County and Municipal Levy Limits ANW.lk 01-07-2020
	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-levy.aspx
	County and Municipal Levy Limits

	County-Muni-FinancialReportForms.lk
	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-finrep.aspx
	Wisconsin County and Municipalities Financial Report (MFR)

	eRETR FAQ Corrections dlw.lk
	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-retr-retr-c.aspx#ca11
	Real Estate Transfer Fee Common Questions - C
	Real Estate Transfer Fee Common Questions - C
	Corrections (before Register of Deeds records the eRETR)


	LevyFactSheet.2020updates.lk
	Lottery and Gaming Credit.lk.Nick's Changes.lk
	MTS 2019 CQ Revision LMO.lk
	1. What is the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	2. Am I required to file a Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	3. What is the deadline for filing the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	4. How do I submit the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	5. Do I need a PIN number or password to use the File Transfer method?
	7. Will my data be encrypted or otherwise protected when it's transmitted over the Internet?
	8. Will I receive a confirmation receipt after I submit the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	9. What information do I need to file the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?
	10. What if the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet and the Statement of Taxes {SOT) do not reconcile?
	11.  How often do Managed Forest {MFL) rates change and how are we notified?
	12. Can I amend the Treasurer's Settlement Sheet?

	Net New Construction revised ANW.lk
	Net New Construction
	Net New Construction

	RETF_FAQ_Partition_Question_4_Update.lk
	Room Tax 2019 CQ Revision LMO.lk
	1.  Who must file the Wisconsin  Room Tax Report?
	2. How does a municipality submit its annual Room Tax Report?
	3. What is the deadline for filing the Room Tax Report?
	4. What happens if a municipality does not file its Room Tax Report by the due date?
	5. Can a municipality amend its Room Tax Report?
	6. What is reported on the Room Tax Report?
	7. Will the Room Tax Reports be available to the public?
	8. The Room Tax Report requires a municipality to detail expenditures made by a tourism entity/commission  of $1,000 or more. How should I report payroll expenditures on  the Room Tax Report?


	School Levy Tax Credit common questions update ANW.lk
	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-slevytcr.aspx
	School Levy Tax Credit
	FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT:


	SharingNonMfgOmittedTaxes.PC 205 2019 CQ Revision LMO.lk
	DOR Sharing Non-Manufacturing  Omitted Taxes Page 1 of 3
	1. Is a municipality required to share non-manufacturing omitted taxes with other taxing jurisdictions?
	2. What are the requirements for submitting a request to share omitted taxes to DOR?
	3. What if the tax roll is not finalized by October 1?

	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/F  AQS/slf-nmomittx.aspx 12/5/2019
	4. When does DOR notify municipalities of its determination?
	5. If the amount of omitted taxes on a municipality's tax roll is $5,000 or less, is the municipality required to file a request with DOR?
	6. Where do Iget Form PC-205, Request for Sharing Non-Manufacuring Omitted TaxesHow do I file a Request for Sharing Non-Manufacturing Omitted Taxes (Form PC-205)?
	7. If DOR determines the omitted taxes affect the equalized value, when does a municipality need to settle with other taxing jurisdictions?
	8. Where should a municipality send the state's share of omitted taxes?
	For omitted taxes before January 1, 2017, send the state's payment to:
	Include:
	9. How many years can a municipality go back for reporting omitted property?

	https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/slf-nmomittx.aspx 12/5/2019

	SOA CQ LMO 2019.lk
	1. What is the Statement of Assessment (SOA)?
	2. What is the deadline to file an SOA?
	3. How do I file an SOA?
	6 Why is it important to submit a complete and accurate SOA?
	7 Why did the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) contact us about our Managed Forest Land (MFL) or Private Forest Crop (PFC) acreage?
	8 How often do Managed Forest (MFL) rates change and how are we notified
	9 Do I need to report an assessed value for a special district if it does not levy any tax?
	10 How do I record a Section 70.43 Correction on Line 23 of the SOA?
	11 Where can I find my final SOA?
	10. I filed my SOA. Why isn't there a final SOA for my municipality?

	11. I amended my SOA. Why don't I see the amended values on the final SOA?
	12. Are there additional resources for the SOA process?

	TIW 2019 CQ Revision LMO.lk
	1. What is the Tax Increment Worksheet (TIW)?
	2.  Who needs to file the TIW?
	3. How do I file the TIW?
	4. What is the deadline to file the TIW?
	5. Where do my values come from for filing the TIW?
	Note:
	6. What if an auto-filled apportioned levy is missing or incorrect?
	7. Which levy amount from the TIW should Iuse to calculate property tax mill rates -
	8. I found an error on my TIW; can Ifix it?




