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Individual Income Tax Filing Requirements

State of Wisconsin

Department of Revenue

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the
Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public
comment as provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

(En Español )
1. Am I required to file a Wisconsin individual income tax return?
2. As a nonresident, why am I receiving a notice to file when my income is below the $2,000

filing requirement?
3. What individual income tax filing requirements exist for deceased individuals?

1. Am I required to file a Wisconsin individual income tax return?
The individual income tax filing requirements for Wisconsin residents and nonresidents for
2019 are presented in the chart below. You must file if your gross income (or total gross
income of married couple) was:

Filing Status Age as of the
End of Year Full-Year Residents Part-Year/

Nonresidents

Single Under age 65 $11,560 or more $2,000 or more

Single Age 65 or older $11,810 or more $2,000 or more

Married filing a
joint return

Both spouses
under 65 $21,510 or more $2,000 or more

One spouse 65
or older $21,760 or more $2,000 or more

Both spouses 65
or older $22,010 or more $2,000 or more

Married filing
separate
returns
(each spouse)

Under 65
$10,250 or more
(applies to each spouse
individually-must use Form 1)

$2,000 or more
(combined income of
both spouses)

65 or older
$10,500 or more
(applies to each spouse
individually-must use Form 1)

$2,000 or more
(combined income of
both spouses)

Head of
household

Under age 65 $14,730 or more $2,000 or more

Age 65 or older $14,980 or more $2,000 or more

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/227/II/112/1
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-indreq-es.aspx
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Note: Gross income means all income (before deducting expenses) reportable to Wisconsin.
The income may be received in the form of money, property, or services. It does not include
items that are exempt from Wisconsin tax. For example, it does not include social security
benefits or U.S. government interest.

Additional filing requirements

If you (or your spouse) can be claimed as a dependent on someone else's tax return,
you are required to file a Wisconsin return if either of the following applies:

a. You have gross income of more than $1,100 and it includes at least $351 of
unearned (non-wage) income, or

b. You have gross income (total unearned income and earned income combined) of
more than:

$10,860 if single
$20,110 if married filing jointly
$9,550 if married filing separately
$14,030 if head of household

Unearned income includes taxable interest, dividends, capital gain distributions, and
taxable scholarship and fellowship grants that were not reported on a Form W-2 (wage
statement). Earned income includes wages, tips, and taxable scholarship and fellowship
grants that were reported to you on a Form W-2.

Also, if you owe a Wisconsin penalty on an IRA, retirement plan, Coverdell education
savings account, medical savings account, health savings account, or Archer medical
savings account, you are required to file a tax return.

2. As a nonresident, why am I receiving a notice to file when my income is below the
$2,000 filing requirement?
You are required to file a Wisconsin income tax return if your Wisconsin gross income is
$2,000 or more. Gross income means income before deducting expenses. While net income
reported to you may be less than $2,000, gross income may be over that amount, requiring
that a Wisconsin income tax return be filed.

Example: Nonresident A receives a Schedule 3K-1 from a Wisconsin partnership reporting
rental income of $1,800. The partnership's gross income is $500,000 and deductible expenses
are $400,000, resulting in total partnership net income of $100,000. Nonresident A's
ownership percentage in the partnership is 1.8%. Nonresident A's share of partnership gross
income is $9,000, which is above the filing requirement. Nonresident A must file Wisconsin
Form 1NPR.

3. What filing requirements exist for deceased individuals?
A final individual income tax return for a taxpayer who died should be filed on the same form
that would have been used if he or she had lived. Include only the income received by the
taxpayer up to the date of his or her death. For more information, see Estates and Fiduciaries .

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect
as of January 8, 2020: Sections 71.01, 71.03, 71.05 and 71.83, Wis. Stats., and 26 U.S. Code §
911.

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-estate.aspx#estate1
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Laws enacted and in effect after January 8, 2020, new administrative rules, and court decisions may
change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to January 8, 2020, that is
contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec.
73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT:

MS 5-77
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Customer Service Bureau
PO Box 8949
Madison, WI 53708-8949
Phone: (608) 266-2486
Fax: (608) 267-1030
Email additional questions to DORIncome@wisconsin.gov

Guidance Document Certification: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Certification-Statement.aspx
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