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G - Other Issues Affecting Combined Filers

State of Wisconsin

Department of Revenue

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the
Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public
comment as provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

 X1.1. How is the economic development surcharge computed for a combined group?

All corporations engaged in business in Wisconsin are subject to the economic development
surcharge. If at least one member of a combined group is conducting unitary business in
Wisconsin, all corporations in the group are considered to be doing business in Wisconsin (sec.
71.255(5)(a), Wis. Stats.).

Each corporation in a combined group is considered a separate corporation for purposes of
computing the economic development surcharge. Therefore, the $4,000,000 gross receipts
threshold, the $25 minimum economic development surcharge, and the $9,800 maximum
economic development surcharge must be determined separately for each entity in the
combined group.

Example:

A Wisconsin combined group is made up of corporations A, B, C and D. The following gross
receipts and gross tax liabilities are reported:

Corporation A's gross receipts are greater than $4,000,000; therefore, the economic
development surcharge must be calculated. The minimum economic development surcharge is
3% of the tax or $25, whichever is greater. Since 3% of the tax is $0, the economic
development surcharge is $25.

Corporation B's gross receipts are greater than $4,000,000; therefore, the economic
development surcharge must be calculated. The maximum economic development surcharge
is 3% of the tax but not more than $9,800. Since 3% of the tax is $9,900, the economic
development surcharge is $9,800.

Corporation   Gross Receipts Gross Tax

A $4,200,000 $0

B $51,000,0000 $330,000

C $350,000 $0

D $250,000 $7,000

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/227/II/112/1
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Corporations C and D are not subject to the economic development surcharge because their
gross receipts are less than $4,000,000.

The economic development surcharge for the Wisconsin combined group is $9,825, which is
the sum of the individual corporations' economic development surcharges of $25, $9,800, $0
and $0.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in
effect as of December 13, 2019: Sections 71.22, 71.255, 77.93 and 77.94, Wis. Stats., and
secs. Tax 2.32 and 2.82, Wis. Adm. Code.

Laws enacted and in effect after December 13, 2019, new administrative rules, and court
decisions may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to
December 13, 2019, that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this
document, pursuant to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT:

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Corporation Franchise/Income Tax Assistance
PO Box 8906
Madison, WI 53708-8906
Phone: (608) 266-2772
Fax: (608) 267-0834
Email additional questions to DORFranchise@wisconsin.gov

Guidance Document Certification: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Certification-Statement.aspx
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