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Manufacturer's Sales Tax Credit

State of Wisconsin

Department of Revenue

This is a proposed guidance document. The document has been submitted to the
Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Administrative Register for public
comment as provided by sec. 227.112(1), Wis. Stats.

1. Since the manufacturer's sales tax credit was replaced with a sales and use tax exemption
beginning January 1, 2006, what happens to my unused manufacturer's sales tax credits from
taxable years that began before January 1, 2006?

2. Can I use the credit to offset my entire Wisconsin tax liability?

3. I am a shareholder in a tax-option (S) corporation. What types of income can I include when
computing the tax imposed on the business operations of the tax-option (S) corporation?

4. I am being audited for my taxable year beginning July 1, 2004, and ending June 30, 2005. I
miscalculated the manufacturer's sales tax credit for that taxable year. May I claim credit for
the additional amount of manufacturer's sales tax credit discovered during the audit?

5. How do these rules apply to manufacturer's sales tax credits computed by a partnership,
limited liability company (LLC) treated as a partnership, or tax-option (S) corporation for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1998?

1. Since the manufacturer's sales tax credit was replaced with a sales and use tax
exemption beginning January 1, 2006, what happens to my unused manufacturer's
sales tax credits from taxable years that began before January 1, 2006?
If you have $25,000 or less of unused credits as of January 1, 2006, you may use up to 50%
of the credit in each of your taxable years beginning in 2006 and 2007. You may use any
remaining credits in future taxable years within the 20-year carryforward period.

If you have more than $25,000 of unused credits as of January 1, 2006, you may deduct in
each of your next two taxable years beginning after December 31, 2005, 50% of the amount
of unused credit that you had added back to income at the time that you first claimed the
credit. You may take these deductions even if you otherwise have no Wisconsin income due to
business losses or carryforwards.

If you have more than $25,000 of unused manufacturer's sales tax credits as of January 1,
2006, you may not elect to claim any of those amounts as a credit. However, if you became
certified by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation as eligible for a manufacturing

https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/pages/home.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/227/II/112/1
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investment credit, you may claim the manufacturing investment credit. For more information
on the manufacturing investment credit, visit the Economic Development Corporation's
website at inwisconsin.com.

2. Can I use the credit to offset my entire Wisconsin tax liability?
Corporations may offset the credit from their own manufacturing operations against their
entire Wisconsin franchise or income tax liability. Sole proprietors may offset the credit only
against tax on the income from the business operations in which the fuel and electricity were
consumed. If you have an unused manufacturer's sales tax credit from more than one sole
proprietorship or if you have an unused credit that was passed through from an estate, trust,
partnership, limited liability company treated as a partnership, or tax-option (S) corporation,
you must compute the allowable credit from each entity separately. You may not offset credits
from a business that operated at a loss against the income from another business that
operated at a profit. See Wisconsin Schedule MS and its instructions to compute your
allowable credit.

Note: You may not offset the credit against the economic development surcharge. Tax-option
(S) corporations may not offset the credit against the built-in gains tax.

3. I am a shareholder in a tax-option (S) corporation. What types of income can I
include when computing the tax imposed on the business operations of the tax-
option (S) corporation?
For purposes of computing the tax imposed on the business operations of the tax-option (S)
corporation, the income is limited to your pro rata share of the corporation's net income or
loss which is taxable by Wisconsin. This includes your pro rata share of the corporation's
ordinary income or loss, interest and dividend income, capital gains or losses, and other
separately stated items of corporate income or expense passed through to you.

You may not include the following types of payments you received from the tax-option (S)
corporation:

Salary for services you performed for the corporation
Interest on loans you made to the corporation
Taxable dividends paid by the corporation
Rents or royalties from assets you leased to the corporation.

4. I am being audited for my taxable year beginning July 1, 2004, and ending June 30,
2005. I miscalculated the manufacturer's sales tax credit for that taxable year. May I
claim credit for the additional amount of manufacturer's sales tax credit discovered
during the audit?
You many claim an offset for the credit against the franchise or income tax owed in the same
period in which the sales tax was paid.

5. How do these rules apply to manufacturer's sales tax credits computed by a
partnership, limited liability company (LLC) treated as a partnership, or tax-option
(S) corporation for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1998?
A partnership or LLC treated as a partnership was required to pass through to its partners or
members the credits for sales and use tax paid by the entity on fuel and electricity used in
manufacturing. The partners or members could offset the credits only against the tax on the

http://inwisconsin.com/
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
https://revenue2016-auth-prod.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/formpub.aspx
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partner's or member's distributive share of the partnership or LLC income. Therefore, each
partner or member must separately determine whether his, her, or its unused credit is
$25,000 or less or more than $25,000 and apply the appropriate rules.

A tax-option (S) corporation had the option of claiming the credits computed for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998, at the corporation level or passing the credits through
to its shareholders. The shareholders could offset the credits only against the tax on the
shareholder's pro rata share of the tax-option (S) corporation's income. The tax-option (S)
corporation and each of its shareholders must separately determine whether his, her, or its
unused credit is $25,000 or less or more than $25,000 and apply the appropriate rules.

See Wisconsin Schedule MS and its instructions to compute the allowable credit for each
partner, member, or shareholder.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations in effect
as of December 17, 2019: Sections 71.07, 71.23 and 71.28, Wis. Stats., sec. 71.28(3)(d), Wis.
Stats. (1995), and sec. Tax 2.11, Wis. Adm. Code.

Laws enacted and in effect after December 17, 2019, new administrative rules, and court decisions
may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to December 17, 2019, that
is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, pursuant to sec.
73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

FOR QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS CONTACT:

MS 5-77
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Customer Service Bureau
PO Box 8949
Madison, WI 53708-8949
Phone: (608) 266-2772
Fax: (608) 267-1030
Email additional questions to DORIncome@wisconsin.gov

Guidance Document Certification: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Certification-Statement.aspx
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