April 4, 2019

WDVA Bulletin No. 1068

TO: County/Tribal Veterans Service Offices

SUBJECT: Change for Paper Check to Electronic (ACH) Deposit for Grant Payments

As part of a statewide initiative to streamline payment processes, the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs' (WDVA) is transitioning to electronic disbursement of grant funds. Beginning with payments in fiscal year 2020, the following grants to counties/tribes will be disbursed via electronic deposit (ACH):

- County Veterans' Service (CVSO) Grant.
- American Indian Veterans' Service (Tribal Veterans Service/TVSO) Grant.
- County Transportation Grant.

Your county's or tribe's finance officer must complete and submit the <u>Department of Administration (DOA) form 6456, STAR Authorization for the Electronic Deposit of State of WI Payments</u>. Beginning July 1, 2019 grant funds <u>will no longer</u> be disbursed via check.

The above mentioned form can be found attached with this announcement. Please note the following sections of the form:

- Under Section 1, Name of the State Agency you are invoicing
 - Write/type in "Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs"
- Under Section 1, Type of Transaction
 - o If you are one of the Counties or Tribes noted below you should select the "ADD" box.
 - If you are NOT one of the Counties or Tribes noted below you should select the "CHANGE/UPDATE" box.

Under Section 2, Contact Information

 Email address is mandatory when signing up for ACH. ACH Payment Advice will be sent via email once voucher is approved for payment.

Under Section 6

- Ensure that the information is readable.
- The authorized person to sign the form is the County/Tribal Treasurer.

If you add/create a new banking account every fiscal year for the Grant funds, then a new DOA form 6456 must be completed and submitted for each year.

The form must be submitted to the Grants Units via mail or to the Grant inbox at <u>vetsbenefitsgrants@dva.wisconsin.gov</u> no later than April 30, 2019. If the DOA form 6456 is not completed and returned by April 30, 2019 you will experience delays in receiving your 2020 CVSO/TVSO Grant funds.

After you have read the instructions included with the form and if you have any additional questions regarding the form please contact **Rachel Thompson** at **(608) 266-0535**.



The following is a list of CVSO/TVSO offices that will need to select the "ADD" box as mentioned on previous page:

Forest County Potawatomi Community

Ho-Chunk Nation

Bayfield

Clark

Crawford

Dane

Dodge

Door

Dunn

Eau Claire

Fond du Lac

Forrest

Green

Green Lake

Iowa

Jackson

Jefferson

Lincoln

Marathon

Marquette

Pierce

Polk

Portage

Rusk

Shawano

Washburn