Scott Walker, Governor

John A. Scocos, Secretary



201 West Washington Avenue P.O. Box 7843 Madison, WI 53707-7843

Phone: (608) 266-1311 Toll-free: 1-800-WIS-VETS (947-8387)

Fax: (608) 267-0403 Email: WisVets@dva.wisconsin.gov

Website: www.WisVets.com

February 21, 2014

WDVA Bulletin No. 1001

TO: County Veterans Service Offices

SUBJECT: Wisconsin Veterans Homes Care Rates, Effective January 1, 2014

Effective January 1, 2014, the rates for skilled nursing care and assisted living care are adjusted for the Wisconsin Veterans Homes at King and Union Grove. Members at the homes received notice of the change in care charges on or before December 1. Rates for the King and Union Grove homes are provided for your information on the attached WDVA 4020A (02/14) form.

The Wisconsin Veterans Homes are required by law to establish rates based on projected costs. Twice each year, in January and July, rates may be adjusted to reflect the cost of our operations. The calculation is based on the costs we incur or expect to incur in the following year. These calculations will be reviewed and rates may be adjusted in July.

See attachment.



ADMISSION AGREEMENT — ATTACHMENT A — DAILY RATES

WVH–Chippewa Falls	WVH-King	WVH–Union Grove
2175 E. Park Ave.	N2665 County Rd. QQ	21425 G Spring St.
Chippewa Falls, WI 54729	King, WI 54946-0600	Union Grove, WI 53182
(715) 720-6775	(715) 258-5586	(262) 878-6702
(715) 720-6775	(715) 258-5586	(262) 878-6702
Toll-free Fax (888) 966-8821	Toll-free Fax (888) 966-8819	Toll-free Fax (888) 966-8816

SUMMARY:

- Per Chapter VA 6.01 (16) Wisconsin Administrative Code, the WDVA must adjust care rates to cover the cost of operations.
 - The calculation is based on the costs incurred currently and the expected costs for the following year.
 - o Inclusion of projected costs in the calculation is required by code.
 - o The calculation determines what the cost of care needs to be to break even based on the current approved budget for the facility.
- Twice each year rate calculations are reviewed and if necessary updated in January or July.
- A written notice to members/legal representatives is provided a minimum of thirty (30) days prior to the change.
- Daily rate information is provided to the prospective member/legal representative on application for admission and at the time of admission.
- Member absence from the Wisconsin Veterans Home past midnight will be counted as a furlough day.
- Qualified veterans with a permanent service-connected disability rating of 70% or higher are entitled to cost-free care.

WISCONSIN VETERANS HOME — KING

SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES PRIVATE PAY DAILY RATES (Rates Effective Since January 1, 2014)

Each Veterans Home receives a daily offset (VA per diem) from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA), to help cover the cost of care for each veteran member. Effective October 1, 2013, the amount of the per diem for nursing care, as set by the USDVA, is \$100.37.

		INPATIENT RATE	
Level of Care	Description	Non-Veteran (Spouse, Surviving Spouse, Dependent) Full Care Rate	Veteran* (after VA per diem offset) Cost
IS	Intensive Skilled	\$353.00	\$252.63
SNF	Skilled	\$297.00	\$196.63
ICF 1	Intermediate	\$241.00	\$140.63
ICF 2	Limited	\$204.00	\$103.63
HOSPICE	Hospice	\$283.00	\$182.63

Daily care rates continue to be charged to maintain residency when a member is out of the facility. After 15 nights, a member may be discharged unless they request to maintain their residency at the full care rate.

Out of facility, other than hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 12 nights of absence **per**

calendar year. The full care rate is charged beginning with day 13.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for entire absence.

Out of facility, hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 10 **consecutive nights of**

each hospital stay. The full care rate is charged for day 11 through day 15.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for the first 15 days of each hospital stay.

WISCONSIN VETERANS HOME — UNION GROVE — SNF

SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES PRIVATE PAY DAILY RATES

(Rates Effective Since January 1, 2014)

Each Veterans Home receives a daily offset (VA per diem) from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA), to help cover the cost of care for each veteran member. Effective October 1, 2013, the amount for nursing home care, as set by the USDVA, is \$100.37.

		INPATIENT RATE	
Level of Care	Description	Non-Veteran (Spouse, Surviving Spouse, Dependent) Full Care Rate	Veteran * (after VA per diem offset) Cost
IS	Intensive Skilled	\$404.00	\$303.63
SNF	Skilled	\$339.00	\$238.63
ICF 1	Intermediate	\$273.00	\$172.63
ICF 2	Limited	\$230.00	\$129.63

Daily care rates continue to be charged to maintain residency when a member is out of the facility. After 15 nights, a member may be discharged unless they request to maintain their residency at the full care rate.

Out of facility, other than hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 12 nights of absence **per**

calendar year. The full care rate is charged beginning with day 13.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for entire absence.

Out of facility, hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 10 **consecutive nights of**

each hospital stay. The full care rate is charged for day 11 through day 15.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for the first 15 days of each hospital stay.

WDVA 4020A (02/14) Page 2 of 4

WISCONSIN VETERANS HOME — UNION GROVE — AL

UNION GROVE ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES DAILY RATES

(Rates Effective Since January 1, 2014)

Each Veterans Home receives a daily offset (VA per diem) from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA), to help cover the cost of care for each veteran member. Effective October 1, 2013, the amount for domiciliary care, as set by the USDVA, is \$43.32.

	INPATIENT RATE	
	Non-Veteran	
	(Spouse, Surviving Spouse,	Veteran
	Dependent)	(after VA per diem offset)
Level of Care	Full Care Rate	Cost
Fairchild Hall Domiciliary Memory Care	\$175.00	\$131.68
Fairchild Hall Non-memory Care	\$168.00	\$124.68

BED HOLD RATE (rate charged to members who are out of the facility)

Veterans:

- Non-VA hospital stays <u>not exceeding 96 hours</u> are billed at the veteran rate
- Non-VA hospital stays <u>exceeding 96 hours</u> are billed at the non-veteran rate retroactive to day 1
- VA hospital stays will be billed at the non-veteran rate effective day 1
- All other absences <u>not exceeding 96 hours</u> are billed at the veteran rate
- All other absences <u>exceeding 96 hours</u> are billed at the non-veteran rate retroactive to day 1

Non-Veterans: All absences are billed at the non-veteran rate.

WISCONSIN VETERANS HOME — CHIPPEWA FALLS

SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES PRIVATE PAY DAILY RATES

(Rates Effective Since January 1, 2014)

Each Veterans Home receives a daily offset (VA per diem) from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA), to help cover the cost of care for each veteran member. Effective October 1, 2013, the amount for nursing home care, as set by the USDVA, is \$100.37.

		INPATIENT RATE	
Level of Care	Description	Non-Veteran (Spouse, Surviving Spouse, Dependent) Full Care Rate	Veteran * (after VA per diem offset) Cost
IS	Intensive Skilled	\$421.00	\$320.63
SNF	Skilled	\$335.00	\$234.63
ICF 1	Intermediate	\$249.00	\$148.63
ICF 2	Limited	\$191.00	\$90.63

Daily care rates continue to be charged to maintain residency when a member is out of the facility. After 15 nights, a member may be discharged unless they request to maintain their residency at the full care rate.

Out of facility, other than hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 12 nights of absence **per**

calendar year. The full care rate is charged beginning with day 13.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for entire absence.

Out of facility, hospital stay:

Veterans: Federal VA will continue the \$100.37 nursing offset for the first 10 **consecutive nights of**

each hospital stay. The full care rate is charged for day 11 through day 15.

Non-veterans: Full care rate is charged for the first 15 days of each hospital stay.