Worker Protection Standard (WPS) Pesticide Safety Training Record-Wisconsin¹

I, the undersigned, certify that I have received worker protection standard pesticide safety training on the following date(s) as required by state and federal law.

First and last name (print)	Permanent home address (street, city, state, zip) Note: if this information is in personnel files, write "See file"	² Training Date(s) (MO/DA/YR)	Worker (W) or Pesticide Handler (PH)	Employee signature
EMPLOYER NAME:	3 TRAINER NAME(S) AND QUALIFICATION:		4 NAME AND APPROVAL# OF EPA-APPROVED TRAINING MATERIAL USED:	

¹Records Retention: WPS pesticide safety training records for workers/handlers must be kept on the establishment for 2 years from the date of training. [40 CFR Part 170.401(d)(1), 170.501(d)(1)] Training Records Upon Request: An agricultural employer must provide a copy of the training record, upon request, to a worker or handler who has been trained at the agricultural establishment. [40 CFR Part 170.401(d)(2) and 40 CFR Part 170.501(d)(2)]

Farm Labor Contractors: If your establishment hires workers or handlers through a farm labor contractor, you may verify that the workers/handlers have received WPS safety training and request copies of their training records. If you are not able to get training records, you are responsible to train those workers or handlers before they begin work on your establishment.

²Training Timeline: WPS pesticide safety training must be performed <u>before</u> any worker enters an area that has been treated with pesticides within the last 30 days or <u>before</u> any handler performs any handler task and then training must be provided once every 12 months (annually), counting from the end of the month in which the previous training was completed [40 CFR Part 170.401(a) and 170.501(a)]. The exceptions to training is when a worker or handler has current pesticide certification to apply restricted-use pesticides or is certified as a crop advisor or when a worker has been trained as a WPS handler within the last 12 months a[40 CFR Part 170.401(b) and 170.501(b)].

³Trainer Qualifications: Only qualified trainers may provide WPS training. A qualified trainer must be one of the following: (a) Be currently certified as an applicator of restricted-use pesticides, (b) Have completed an EPA-approved pesticide safety train-the-trainer program for trainers of workers or handlers, respectively, (c) Employed by the University of Wisconsin Extension to train pesticide applicators [40 CFR Part 170.401(c)(4) and 170.501(c)(4)]

⁴EPA Approved Training Materials: Only EPA approved training materials may be used. For updated list of EPA-approved training materials see the PERC (Pesticide Educational Resources Collaborative) website at http://pesticideresources.org. [40 CFR Part 170.401(c)(1) and 170.501(c)(1)]

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection March 2017 608-224-4545