

State of Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Bradley M. Pfaff, Secretary

February 28, 2019

«Proper_Legal_Entity__Bus_Name» «Address_Proper» «City», WI «Zip»

Your business has been identified as a grower of Christmas Trees in the State of Wisconsin. This letter is to advise you that operating without an active Christmas Tree Growers license (if required) is a violation of Wisconsin Statutes § 94.10. Continued unlicensed Christmas tree sales may result in a holding order placed on your stock, or additional civil or criminal penalties. Wisconsin's nursery law, Wis. Stat. § 94.10, requires Christmas tree growers that anticipate gross annual sales in excess of \$250.00 of trees that you have grown to obtain a license.

Please review the enclosed information, and make sure to include all growing locations on the application form. <u>A response must be received within 10 business days upon receipt of this letter.</u>

Note that if you have less than \$250 in annual sales of Christmas Trees, or if you are only buying cut Christmas trees and reselling them, a Christmas Tree Growers license is not required. If this applies to you, please complete and return section B, below.

| A. License Required: | B. License Not Required: |
|--|--|
| Please sign and return the completed application form with payment for the applicable license fees. Note that a late fee does not apply to new licenses. Mail completed application and payment to: STATE OF WISCONSIN WDATCP BOX 93598 MILWAUKEE, WI 53293-0598 | Please sign and date below to indicate you do not need a license, and return this letter in the envelope provided. If you need a license in the future, you may apply then. By signing below, you attest that you have less than \$250 in annual sales of Christmas Trees you have grown. |
| Or apply and pay online at: <u>https://mydatcp.wi.gov/</u> Wis. Stat. § 94.10(3g) | Signature: Date: |

If you have any questions regarding this notification or the license application process, contact the DATCP Nursery Program Email: <u>DATCPnursery@Wisconsin.gov</u> • Tel: (608) 224-4574 Mailing Address if no license is needed: DATCP Nursery Program, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911



State of Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Bradley M. Pfaff, Secretary

February 28, 2019

«Proper_Legal_Entity__Bus_Name» «Address_Proper» «City», WI «Zip»

Your business has been identified as a supplier of perennial plant nursery stock (herbaceous and/or woody) in Wisconsin. Anyone selling more than \$250 annually in nursery stock is required to have a nursery license. This letter is to advise you that operating without an active nursery license (if required) is a violation of Wisconsin Statutes § 94.10. Continued unlicensed nursery sales may result in a holding order placed on your stock, or additional civil or criminal penalties.

- A Nursery Dealer license is required if you buy nursery stock from a wholesaler or distributor and re-sell the nursery stock in the same season. A nursery dealer can include garden centers, landscape contractors, perennial installers, tree "spaders", or brokers.
- A Nursery Grower license is required if you sell more than \$250 per year in Nursery Stock that you have grown.
- Nursery Stock includes perennial herbaceous plants, bulbs and rhizomes, woody shrubs and trees and perennial aquatic plants and perennial herbs. Nursery stock excludes seeds, sod, cranberry cuttings and annuals.

Please review the enclosed information to determine the specific nursery license type that may be required. You may need one or both of these license types. <u>A response must be received within 10 business days upon receipt of this</u> <u>letter.</u>

Note that if you have less than \$250 in annual transactions of nursery stock, a nursery license is not required. If this applies to you, please complete and return section B, below.

| A. License Required: | B. License Not Required: |
|--|---|
| Please sign and return the completed application form | Please sign and date below to indicate you do not need |
| with payment for the applicable license fees. Mail to: STATE OF WISCONSIN WDATCP | a license, and return this letter in the envelope provided. If you need a license in the future, you may |
| BOX 93598 | apply then. |
| MILWAUKEE, WI 53293-0598 | By signing below, you attest that you have less than |
| Or apply and pay online https://mydatcp.wi.gov/ | \$250 in annual transactions of perennial plant stock. |
| Note that a late fee does not apply to new licenses. Also note that there is an additional surcharge* for operating without a license in the previous year. Wis. Stat. § 94.10(2)(d), 94.10(3)(d) | Signature: |
| *Surcharge Amount: In addition to the license fee | |
| required for this year, a surcharge equal to the amount of | Date: |
| the previous year's fee is also due. You may include the | |
| total amount in one payment. | |

If you have any questions regarding this notification or the license application process, contact the DATCP Nursery Program **Email:** <u>DATCPnursery@Wisconsin.gov</u> • Tel: (608) 224-4574

Mailing address if no license is needed: DATCP Nursery Program, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911

Agriculture generates \$88 billion for Wisconsin

2811 Agriculture Drive • PO Box 8911 • Madison, WI 53708-8911 • Wisconsin.gov

An equal opportunity employer