NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Oversize Overweight MI Permit Condition Sheet for Michigan Border DTSD40

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby seeking comment on the department's Oversize Overweight MI Permit Condition Sheet s.348.27(9), Trans 251, Trans 253.

PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION

Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21 days by:

- 1. Department's website: https://appengine.egov.com/apps/wi/dot/guidance-docs?guidDocId=DTSD40
- 2. Mailing written comments to:

Division of Transportation System Development Wisconsin Department of Transportation 4822 Madison Yards Way PO Box 7965 Madison, WI 53707-7965

WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

The final version of this guidance document will be posted at <u>wisconsindot.gov</u> to allow for ongoing comment.

AGENCY CONTACT

dotdtsdguidancedocs@dot.wi.gov



Wisconsin Department of Transportation - DTSD

Bureau of Highway Maintenance Oversize/Overweight Permits P.O. Box 7980 Madison, WI 53707-7980 (608) 266-7320

MI PERMIT CONDITION SHEET

MICHIGAN BORDER

1. AUTHORITY & ELIGIBILITY

- Under Wis. Stats. s. 348.27(9), and Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 251 and Trans 253, the department
 may issue annual or consecutive month permits, for the transportation of loads near the MichiganWisconsin state line.
- Loads may be on a vehicle, or combination of vehicles, and exceed statutory length or weight limitations.
- Permit also allows for the unladen operation of such vehicles returning from the delivery of a load or operating to or from a point of fueling, servicing, or purchase or sale of the vehicle.
- The vehicle configuration, length and weight must comply with Michigan law.
 - Michigan B-train configurations are allowed under this permit.
 - Maximum GVW of 164,000 lbs. is valid for both the 11 air miles and the routes specified in the Route Limitations section on page 2.
- A trip authorized by this permit may originate and end in Wisconsin without entering Michigan.
- Carriers using Wisconsin axle weight configurations are allowed to transport raw forest products into Michigan, so long as a Michigan Raw Forest Permit is purchased.
- If transporting fluid milk product:
 - Maximum GVW allowed is 98,000 lbs.
 - o Permit is only valid for a combination vehicle having 6 or more axles.
 - Vehicle combinations transporting fluid milk product may only exceed the maximum gross weight limitation in Wis. Stat. s. 348.15(3)(c) by not more than 18,000 pounds.
 - Gross weight imposed on the highway by the wheels of any one axle of the vehicle combination may not exceed 18,000 pounds, except that the gross weight imposed on the highway by the wheels of any steering axle on the power unit may not exceed the greater of 13,000 pounds or the manufacturer's rated capacity, but not to exceed 18,000 pounds.
 - Any axle of a vehicle combination that does not impose on the highway at least 8 percent of the gross weight of the vehicle combination may not be counted as an axle for the purposes of this condition.
 - Permit is not valid for the transport of fluid milk product in excess of the maximum gross vehicle weight provided in Wis. Stat. s. 348.15(3)(c) during spring thaw.

2. SIZE LIMITATIONS - VEHICLE & LOAD

Single vehicle length
 Wehicle combination length
 Must comply with Michigan law.

Overall width 8'6" (legal)
Overall height 13'6" (legal)

3. WEIGHT LIMITATIONS

Axle weight limitations are described in Wis. Admin. Code s. Trans 251.03. The number of axles, axle weight and spacing must conform to truck size/weight law in Michigan and GVW may not exceed 164,000 pounds.

• Single axle 18,000 lbs.

Tandem axle
 16,000 lbs./axle, until GVW/load weight reaches 73,280 lbs.

Any other axle 13,000 lbs.
 Maximum GVW permit weight 164,000 lbs.
 Fluid milk product GVW 98,000 lbs.

4. ROUTE LIMITATIONS

- For the transportation of any load over any class of highway for a distance not to exceed 11 air miles from the Michigan-Wisconsin border.
- For the transportation of raw forest products, lumber, or forestry biomass on any highway route specified below:
 - o USH 2 anywhere in Iron, Florence, and Ashland counties.
 - USH 2 in Bayfield County from the Ashland County line through Hart Lake Road.
 - o USH 8, from the Wisconsin-Michigan border in Marinette County to USH 45 in Oneida County.
 - STH 13, from the junction of USH 2 and STH 13 in the city of Ashland to the intersection of STH 13 and Old Airport Road in Ashland County.
 - USH 45, from the Wisconsin-Michigan border to Sunnyside Road south of the city of Antigo, in Vilas, Oneida, and Langlade counties.
 - USH 51, from the USH 2/51 interchange north of the city of Hurley to Maple Ridge Road in the town of Mercer in Iron County.
 - STH 70, from the junction of STH 70 and USH 45 in the city of Eagle River to the junction of STH 70 and USH 51 in Vilas County.
 - STH 77, from 2nd Avenue in the city of Hurley to Olson Road in the city of Mellen, in Iron and Ashland counties.
 - o STH 139, from the Wisconsin-Michigan border to USH 8, in Florence and Forest counties.
- Must have written statement of route approval by the officer in charge of maintenance if the route desired involves municipal, township or county roads.
 - Local road approval may be emailed to oversize-permits.dmv@dot.wi.gov

5. GENERAL OPERATING REQUIREMENTS

- Vehicles may be operated at the posted speed limit.
- Permits are suspended during the annual spring thaw period, usually mid-March through mid-May.

6. INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

When the permitted load is not overweight by more than 25%:

• Bodily injury, each person \$150,000 or \$750,000 combined single limit

Bodily injury, each accident \$450,000
 Property damage, each accident \$300,000

When the permitted load is greater than 25% overweight:

Bodily injury, each person
 \$200,000
 \$1,000,000 combined single limit

Bodily injury, each accident \$600,000Property damage, each accident \$400,000

7. VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

 Vehicle or vehicles must be registered for not less than the maximum registration weight available or the permit weight, whichever is less.

8. PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

- Apply using Form MV2612.
- Permits may be issued for 3 to 12 months.

9. PERMIT FEE INFORMATION

- Submit the required fee, per the table below, with your application.
- Make checks payable to: Registration Fee Trust.
- Calculate fees from the effective **day** of the permit, not the calendar months. (*Example*: 9/5 to 11/20 greater than 2 months to the day, but less than 3 months, would be calculated as 3 months.)

Months:	12	11	10	9	8	7	6	5	4	3
Weight: 90,000	100.00	106.67	98.33	90.00	81.67	73.33	65.00	56.67	48.33	40.00
100,000	175.00	175.42	160.83	146.25	131.67	117.08	102.50	87.92	73.33	58.75
110,000	225.00	221.25	202.50	183.75	165.00	146.25	127.50	108.75	90.00	71.25
120,000	275.00	267.08	244.17	221.25	198.33	175.42	152.50	129.58	106.67	83.75
130,000	325.00	312.92	285.83	258.75	231.67	204.58	177.50	150.42	123.33	96.25
140,000	375.00	358.75	327.50	296.25	265.00	233.75	202.50	171.25	140.00	108.75
150,000	425.00	404.58	369.17	333.75	298.33	262.92	227.50	192.08	156.67	121.25
160,000	475.00	450.42	410.83	371.25	331.67	292.08	252.50	212.92	173.33	133.75
164,000	525.00	496.25	452.50	408.75	365.00	321.25	277.50	233.75	190.00	146.25

May 2019