
NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
Dealer License Fees 

 
Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby 
seeking comment Laws Related to Vehicle Sales s. 218, a proposed guidance document. 
 
PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION 
Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21 
days by: 
1. Department’s website: https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-
lcnse/dealer-fees.aspx   
2. Mailing written comments to: 

Division of Motor Vehicles 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
4822 Madison Yards Way 
PO Box 7336 
Madison, WI  53707-7336 

 
WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
The final version of this guidance document will be posted at wisconsindot.gov to allow 
for ongoing comment. 
 
AGENCY CONTACT 
DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV 
 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
mailto:DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV
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Dealer license fees
Title and registration
processing

Business licenses

Dealer forms

Dealer license fees

eMV Agent - electronic
lien transactions

eMV11 - electronic titling
and registration

eMV Fleet registration

Motor vehicle
salesperson manual

Special motor vehicle
industry plates

Tips and tools for dealers

DMV customer service centers accept cash, checks, debit cards and the following credit cards: Visa,
MasterCard, American Express and Discover. Debit cards will be processed as credit. For online
transactions, we accept most credit and debit cards and ACH (Automated Clearing House) from
your checking or savings account.

Dealer-distributor license fees: Current fee (All fees valid for 2 years
unless otherwise noted.)

Agency Directory
 Online Services

DMV ONLINE SERVICES DMV INFO DOING BUSINESS TRAVEL SAFETY PROJECTS AND STUDIES ABOUT WISDOT 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-frms-pbs/dealer-forms.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/emvagenttransaction.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/emvagenttransaction.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/main.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/main.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/e-mv-fleet-reg.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salespersonmanual.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salespersonmanual.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-inds-plt/dlrspecialplate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-inds-plt/dlrspecialplate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/tips.aspx
http://www.wisconsin.gov/
https://www.wisconsin.gov/Pages/AllAgencies.aspx
https://www.wisconsin.gov/Pages/onlineServices.aspx
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Auction dealer license $100

Buyer's license $6 or $12

​Dealer license $40

​Dealer plate ​$150 (1st 2 plates, $10 each additional)

Demonstration plate ​: 1 calendar year ​ ​​20% Truck Fees, $10 for trailers/semi-trailer

​Distributor plate ​$150 (1st 2 plates, $10 each additional)

​Distributor's license ​$40

​Finance company plate: 1 calendar year $75 (1st plate, $5 each additional)

​Manufacturer plate ​$150 (1st 2 plates, $10 each additional)

​Manufacturer's license ​$40 + $40/branch

​Moped dealer license ​$40

​Motorcycle dealer license ​$40

​Recreational vehicle dealer license ​$100

​Recreational vehicle dealer plate ​$150 (1st 2 plates, $10 each additional)

​Salesperson exam ​$5

​Salesperson & representative license ​$8

​Salvage Buyer identifcation card ​$6 or $12

​Salvage dealer license ​$150

​Trailer dealer plate: 1 calendar year ​$75 (1st 2 plates, $5 each additional)

​Transporter plate: 1 calendar year ​$75 (1st 2 plates, $5 each additional)

​Wholesale dealer license ​$40

​Note: Additional fees may be required when applying for dealer licenses.

 

For more information:
Field investigation ofces

 

If you have questions:

Email Wisconsin DMV email service

Contact Information Forms/Notices

Acceptable use policy

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/whlsaleauctdealer.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/buyerslicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/retaildealerlicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Dealer
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Demotrailer
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Dist
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/manufacturerlicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Finance
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Manuf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/manufacturerlicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/mopedealer.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/motorcycledealerlic.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/recreationdlr.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Rec
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salespersonlicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salvage-buyer-id.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salvagedealerlicense.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Trailer
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dealer.aspx#Transporter
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/whlsaledealerlic.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/fieldinvestigateoff.aspx
https://trust.dot.state.wi.us/eif/emailInq.do?action=lookUpInquiry
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/about-wisdot/contact-us/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Acceptable-use-policy.aspx
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Contact Us


Support

Translate website

Traducir el sitio de web

翻譯網站

Website übersetzen


ترجمة الموقع
Txhais website

웹 사이트 번역

Перевести сайт

Forms
Legal notices
Privacy policy
Software information

WisDOT Employees

Employee information
PTA web
HR Self-Service
Travel Expenses
WisDOT LearnCenter

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/about-wisdot/contact-us/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/about-wisdot/contact-us/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Support.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Support.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Support.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
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https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
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https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/translate.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/formdocs/default.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Legal-notices.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/Privacy-notice.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/global-footer/software.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/about-wisdot/careers/employees.aspx
https://ptaweb.state.wi.us/ptaweb/default.asp
https://ess.wi.gov/
https://travelexpense.wi.gov/
https://federated.dot.state.wi.us/adfs/ls/IdpInitiatedSignOn.aspx?loginToRp=CornerStone
http://www.wisconsin.gov/
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