## NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

Driver Training School - Starting Requirements

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby seeking comment on Driver Training School – Starting Requirements s.343, a proposed guidance document.

## PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION

Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21 days by: 1. Department's website: https://appengine.egov.com/apps/wi/dot/guidance-docs?guidDocId=DMV124

 Mailing written comments to: Division of Motor Vehicles Wisconsin Department of Transportation 4822 Madison Yards Way PO Box 7336 Madison, WI 53707-7336

## WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

The final version of this guidance document will be posted at <u>wisconsindot.gov</u> to allow for ongoing comment.

AGENCY CONTACT

DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV



# Course summary

Opening/maintaining a driver training school

Find a driver training school

Find a failure to yield right of way course

Find a CDL training school

Motorcycle courses

Find a motorcycle school

Find a traffic safety school

Driver license/ID cards

**Commercial license** 

Teen drivers

Vehicles

A licensed driver school as specified in Wisconsin State Statute 343.60 may not offer courses in driver education without first obtaining the department's approval which shall be evidenced by an endorsement on the license certificate. The endorsement shall specify whether the licensee is authorized to provide classroom instruction or behind-the-wheel instruction, or both to persons under age 18.

Driver training schools are required to submit a course summary/outline (no more than two pages suggested) for each course offered (classroom, behind-the-wheel, 10 hour refresher, and/or 40 hour instructor).

Send only the course summary to the department with the driver training school application and keep the lesson plans on file at the school office. Each summary shall specify a minimum of one main topic or more for each hour of instruction. To be approved, the summary for classroom and/or behind-the-wheel instruction must include all required topics below.

The classroom course is only required for students under 18 years of age.

The course summary shall specify a minimum of one main topic or more for each hour.

### Classroom course must include, but is not limited to, the following:

- responsibility of vehicle operation
- vehicle mechanical/control features
- vehicle ownership responsibilities
- environmental dynamics
- pre-driving skills/maneuvers
- city driving
- freeway driving
- rural driving
- hazards of farm animals and machinery
- hazards of railroad crossings
- psychophysical aspects (alcohol, mood, health, etc)
- organ and tissue donation
- traffic citizenship and highway safety progress
- awareness of motorcycles, bicycles, and pedestrians
- Move-Over Law
- hazards of text messaging and provisions of Wis. Stat. 346.89(3)

### The behind-the-wheel course shall cover, but is not limited to, the following:

- introduction to the automobile
- left and right turns
- backing and y-turns
- parking
- city driving
- rural driving (including multiple lanes and freeways, if possible)
- hazards of farm animals and machinery
- hazards of railroad crossings

The behind-the-wheel course summary must indicate the number of driving hours/observation hours (6/6, 7/4, 8/2, 9/0).

## For more information

- Wisconsin State Statutes Chapter 343
- Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter 105

### **Driver Training Schools**

P.O. Box 7920 Madison WI 53707-7920

#### Email dotdrvrtrnschool@dot.wi.gov

**Phone** (608) 264-7495 **Fax** (608) 223-7705

## Contact Information

Contact Us

□ Support

Translate website口 Traducir el sitio de web口 翻譯網站 Website übersetzen口 ग्रं тхнаіз website口 웹 사이트 번역 Перевести сайт

#### Forms/Notices

Acceptable use policy Forms Legal notices Privacy policy Software information

## WisDOT Employees

Employee information PTA web HR Self-Service Travel Expenses WisDOT LearnCenter

