
NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
2019 Governors Pre-Conference DEU 

 
Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby 
seeking comment on 2019 Governors Pre-Conference DEU, a proposed guidance document. 
 
PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION 

Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 1 
day by: 
1. Department’s 
website: https://trust.dot.state.wi.us/act369/?id=DMV984&uri=2019GovernorsPre-
ConferenceDEU&division=DMV&tags=DEU 

  

2. Mailing written comments to: 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
4822 Madison Yards Way 
PO Box 7336 
Madison, WI  53707-7336 

 
WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
The final version of this guidance document will be posted at wisconsindot.gov to allow 
for ongoing comment. 
 
AGENCY CONTACT 

DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV 
 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
mailto:DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV
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What does the Driver Eligibility Unit Do?

The Driver Eligibility Unit (DEU) works on:

• Legal Presence

• Fraud/Security Notations

• Out of state issuance

• Undeliverable license/ID card products

• Cancellations involving GDL and sponsorship



GDL Restrictions

What is GDL?

• Since 2000, Wisconsin has used GDL or Graduated Driver License help novice drivers 
ages 15 ½ to 18 to gain knowledge and driving experience while under the supervision 
of an experienced driver

• GDL restrictions effect both Instruction Permits and Probationary driver licenses

• GDL restrictions on a Probationary License last for 9 months or longer on a license.

• GDL Restrictions no longer are in effect once a driver turns 18



GDL Restrictions
GDL Cancels

• Teen drivers need to be violation free for 6 months prior 
to obtaining a probationary driver license

• If a under age 18 driver is convicted of a violation after 
obtaining a Probationary Driver License but the 
violation occurred in the 6 months prior to being issued 
a Probationary Driver License, the driver license is 
cancelled





Sponsorship
What is Sponsorship?

• Under Wisconsin law, under age 18 drivers require an adult 
sponsor unless they have SR-22 in lieu of sponsorship.

• Sponsors do the following:
 accepts liability for any and all driving actions of the minor
 verify the minor has at least 30 hours of driving experience
 confirms that the minor is enrolled in school or high school 

equivalency program
 confirms the minor is not a habitual truant



Sponsorship
Who can be a sponsor?

• Parent (natural or adoptive parent), step-parent, or legal 
guardian (person named by the court having the duty and 
authority of guardianship)

• Sponsoring family parent of a foreign student
• If the teen is not living with a parent or court-appointed 

legal guardian, other approved adults are:
 Grandparent
 Aunt or Uncle
 Sibling 18 years or older
 Spouse 18 years or older
 Foster Parent



Sponsorship

Sponsorship Cancels

• Withdrawal of Sponsorship – When a sponsor of a minor 
withdrawals/cancels their sponsorship of a minor

• Sponsor Deceased – When the sponsor of a minor is 
reported as deceased to the DMV. DEU notifies the minor 
that a new sponsor is required to maintain the license



REAL ID
What Is REAL ID?

Beginning October 1, 2020, you 

will need REAL ID compliant 

identification or other acceptable 

documentation to fly within the 

US, visit a military base or other 

federal buildings.



REAL ID
What documents do you need?

• Proof of Name and Date of Birth
• Proof of Legal Presence in the US
• Proof of Identity
• Proof of Name Change (if applicable)
• Proof of Social Security Number
• Proof of Address
• https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/how-to-

apply/realid.aspx



Online Services

• Duplicate Driver 
Licenses/Instruction Permit 
Renewals

• Interactive Driver License Guide
• Schedule road exam online
• eNotify



Online Driver License Application

• Can obtain duplicate instruction permit or renew your 
instruction permit online

• Driver education must be completed if you are under 18
• Must have sponsor information if you are under 18
• Can only be used by US citizens
• https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/other-

servs/duplicate-license.aspx





Interactive Driver License Guide
• Find out what kind of licenses you qualify for
• Find out what steps you need to take to get your driver 

license
• Checks eligibility for a license if you submit your 

information
• Learn about what kind of documents that you need to 

bring to the DMV
• Schedule an appointment with a DMV
• Complete an online application to be electronically 

submitted to the DMV
• https://app.wi.gov/DLGuides/





Schedule Your Road Exam

• Schedule your road exam up to 11 weeks in advance
• Receive confirmation and reminders of your 

appointment via email or text message
• Schedule, reschedule, and cancel your exam
• Verify your appointment
• Appointments added daily





eNotify

• Get alerts about activity on 
your driver record

• Correspondence for certain 
driver record updates, if 
allowed by law

• Driver license renewal notices
• Notifications via text or email





Questions
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