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IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING BOARD 

 
 

ORDER OF THE CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING BOARD  
ADOPTING RULES 

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 17-057) 
 
 
 

ORDER 
 
An order of the Chiropractic Examining Board to repeal and recreate Chir 11.01, relating to 
patient records. 
 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 
 

Statutes interpreted: 

None. 
 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 446.02 (7m) (a), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that examining boards, such as the Chiropractic Examining 
Board, “shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or 
profession to which it pertains . . .” 
 
Section 446.02 (7m) (a), Stats., provides a patient record created and maintained by a chiropractor 
“shall contain complete and comprehensive health care information, as defined by the examining 
board by rule.” 

 

Related statute or rule: 

None. 
 

Plain language analysis: 

The rules clarify the term “new patient” used in s. Chir 11.03 (intro.) by defining it under s. Chir 
11.01 to mean an individual who has not been examined or treated by the chiropractor or another 
chiropractor in the same group practice within the last 3 years. The remainder of s. Chir 11.01 is 
revised to meet standards for drafting style and format. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 



None. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: Illinois rules and statutes do not specify the record keeping requirements of licensees 
practicing chiropractic in Illinois. 

 
Iowa: Rules of the Iowa Board of Chiropractic specify the record keeping requirements of 
chiropractic physicians (645 IAC 43.10). The rules do not contain requirements specific to new 
patients. 
 
Michigan: Rules of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs specify 
requirements for patient records of a licensee practicing chiropractic in Michigan (Mich Admin 
Code, R 338.12015). The rules include a requirement that a patient record entry for an initial 
patient visit include all of the following: 

- History, including description of presenting condition. 
- Physical evaluation. 
- Diagnostic studies, if applicable. 
- Diagnosis. 
- Treatment or care provided. 
 
Minnesota: Minnesota statutes specify the record keeping requirements for licensees practicing 
chiropractic in Minnesota (Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.107). The statutes do not contain 
requirements specific to new patients. 
 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The Board utilized the definition of new patient in the American Medical Association’s Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) code set to develop its definition of new patient. The CPT 
definition of new patient is “one who has not received any professional services from the 
physician, or another physician of the same specialty who belongs to the same group practice, 
within the past three years.”    
 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic impact, 
including how the rules may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals. No 
comments were received. 
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 
 
Effect on small business: 

These rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), 
Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at 
Kirsten.Reader@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 
 
Agency contact person: 



Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, 
Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, 
Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

The deadline for submission of comments was December 21, 2017. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 
 
SECTION   1.  Chir 11.01 is repealed and recreated to read: 

 Chir 11.01 Definitions. In this chapter: 

 (1)  “New patient” means an individual who has not been examined or treated by the 
chiropractor or another chiropractor in the same group practice within the last 3 years. 

  (2)  “Patient record” has the meaning given “patient health care records” in s. 146.81 (4), 
Stats. 
 
SECTION  2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of 
the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 
(2) (intro.), Stats. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 
 


