File inserted into Admin. Code 5–1–2018. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see:

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

Chapter SPS 166

EDUCATION APPROVAL

SPS 166.01 Approval of substance abuse counselor education.

SPS 166.02 Approved prevention specialist education.

Note: Chapter SPS 166 was repealed and recreated by 2017 Wis. Act 262 effective 5–1–18, Register April 2018 No. 748.

SPS 166.01 Approval of substance abuse counselor education. (1) An application to be a department–approved education program shall include all of the following:

(a) A detailed outline of each course, or for core competency programs a detailed outline of each core competency and how the competency will be measured.

(b) For each course or core competency, indicate the allocation of hours or competency hour equivalencies for the following content areas:

- 1. Assessment training.
- 2. Counseling training.
- 3. Case management.

211

- 4. Patient education.
- 5. Professional responsibility.
- 6. Boundaries and ethics.
- (c) Evidence that each instructor satisfies one of the following:

1. The instructor holds one of the following credentials in good standing:

a. Substance abuse counselor.

b. Clinical substance abuse counselor.

c. A license under s. 457.08 (4), 457.10, 457.11, 457.12, 457.13, or 457.14 (1) (d) to (f), Stats.

2. The instructor is a physician with knowledge and experience related to substance use disorder counseling.

3. The instructor is a psychologist with knowledge and experience related to substance use disorder counseling.

4. The instructor is an instructor of substance use disorder related courses at an accredited institution.

(2) An instructor whose credential has been limited, suspended, or revoked may not instruct in an approved program while the disciplinary action is in effect.

(3) An approved program shall inform the department in advance of any major change in a course or instructor qualifications.

(4) An approval of a program remains in effect for 5 years. After 5 years, the program shall resubmit a new application to become an approved educational program.

(5) An approved program shall provide a certificate of completion or transcript to each student and shall retain student records for at least 7 years after a student has completed the program.

History: 2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.

SPS 166.02 Approved prevention specialist education. The department shall accept prevention specialist training provided, sponsored, or approved by any of the following:

(1) An accredited college or university.

(2) The Wisconsin Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse.

(3) The National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors.

(4) The Wisconsin Clearinghouse for Prevention Resources.

(5) The Federal Center for Substance Abuse Prevention.

(6) The National Center for the Application of Prevention Technologies or its regional centers.

(7) The federal department of health and human services, or its agencies, institutes, administrations, or centers.

(8) The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.

(9) The department of health services.

(10) The department of public instruction.

History: 2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.