File inserted into Admin. Code 5–1–2018. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin\_code

3

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin\_code CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING BOARD

Chir 2.07

## **Chapter Chir 2**

## **EXAMINATIONS**

Chir 2.01	Scheduling of examination.	Chir 2.04	Unauthorized assistance or cheating on examinations.
Chir 2.02	Applications.	Chir 2.07	Passing grade.
Chir 2.025	Time for completing applications and taking examination.	Chir 2.11	Reexamination.
Chir 2.03	Form of examination.	Chir 2.12	Practical examination demonstrating clinical competence.

**Chir 2.01** Scheduling of examination. (1) The board shall determine the subjects for examination of applicants for license as a chiropractor. The scope, content, form and character of the examination shall be the same for all applicants.

(3) An otherwise qualified applicant with a disability shall be provided with reasonable accommodations.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1–1–85; CR 03–082: cr. (3) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8–1–04; **2017 Wis. Act 180: r. (2) Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5–1–18**.

**Chir 2.02 Applications.** An applicant for licensure as a chiropractor shall make an application on a form prescribed by the board at least 30 days prior to the date of the next scheduled board meeting and shall also submit:

**Note:** Applications are available upon request from the Department of Safety and Professional Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

(1) The fee required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats.

(3) An official certified transcript sent directly to the board from a college or university or post-secondary technical college accredited by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college or post-secondary technical college showing completion by the applicant of a minimum of 60 credits in post-secondary academic education as specified in s. 446.02 (2), Stats.

**Note:** Accrediting bodies nationally recognized by the United States Office of Education include the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

(4) An official certified transcript sent directly to the board from a chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accrediting agency.

(5) Proof of successful completion of the initial licensure examinations of the national board of chiropractic examiners.

(6) Applications for an initial license to practice chiropractic in this state received on or after July 1, 1998, shall include all of the following:

(a) An official certified transcript sent directly to the board from a college or university accredited by an accrediting body listed as nationally recognized by the secretary of the federal department of education, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college or university by an approved accrediting agency, stating that the applicant has graduated from that college or university with a bachelor's degree.

(b) An official certified transcript sent directly to the board from a college of chiropractic accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accrediting agency, stating that the applicant has graduated from the college with the degree of doctor of chiropractic.

(c) Evidence that the applicant has current proficiency in the use of an automated external defibrillator.

**Note:** The bachelor's degree and the doctor of chiropractic degree may be earned in either order or simultaneously, but the board may not grant a license to any applicant who does not have both degrees.

**History:** Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1-1-85; am. (4), Register, May, 1986, No. 365, eff. 6-1-86; am. (4), Register, November, 1989, No. 407, eff. 12-1-88; cr. (6), Register, September, 1949, No. 456, eff. 7-1-98; am. (4), Register, September, 1995, No. 477, eff. 10-1-95; am. (intro.), (1), (3) to (6), r. (2), cr. (7), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10-1-99; CR 03-082: am. (intro.), (3), (4), (6) (a) and (b), r. (7) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8-1-04; CR 08-093: cr. (6) (c) Register October 2009 No. 646, eff. 11-1-09.

Chir 2.025 Time for completing applications and taking examination. An application is incomplete until all materials described in s. Chir 2.02 are filed with the board. All application materials described in s. Chir 2.02 shall be filed with the board within one year from the date the first item is filed. If an application is incomplete for more than one year, or if an applicant fails to take an examination within one year from the date the first item was filed, the applicant shall begin the application process anew.

**History:** Cr. Register, November, 1989, No. 407, eff. 12–1–89; am. Register, June, 1993, No. 450, eff. 7–1–93; am. Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10–1–99; CR 14–068: am. Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8–1–15.

**Chir 2.03** Form of examination; state law examination. An applicant shall pass an examination on state laws including ch. 446, Stats., and chs. Chir 1 to 12.

**History:** Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1-1-85, am. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. (1), (2) (intro.) and (b), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10-1-99; CR 03-082: am. (intro.) Register July 2004 No, 583, eff. 8-1-04; CR 14-068: renum. from (1) and am., r. (2) Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8-1-15; correction in title made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 2., Stats., Register July 2015 No. 715.

**Chir 2.04 Unauthorized assistance or cheating on examinations.** The board may withhold the grade, deny release of grades or deny issuance of a credential of an applicant who gives or receives unauthorized assistance during the state law examination, violates rules of conduct of an examination, or otherwise cheats or acts dishonestly respecting an examination. The board may consider this applicant for retesting at a future time.

**History:** Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1–1–85; r. and recr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11–1–88; am. Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10–1–99; CR 03–082: am. Register July 2004 No, 583, eff. 8–1–04.

**Chir 2.07 Passing grade. (1)** NATIONAL EXAMINATION. To pass the examination of the national board of chiropractic examiners, each applicant for licensure by exam shall receive a grade determined by the legislature to represent minimum competence to practice.

(2) STATE LAW EXAMINATION. To pass the state law examination, each applicant shall receive a grade determined by the board to represent minimum competence to practice.

**History:** Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11–1–88; am. (2) and (3), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10–1–99; CR 03–082: am. (3) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8–1–04; CR 14–068: am. (1), r. (3) Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8–1–15.

Chir 2.11 Reexamination; state law examination. An applicant who fails the state law examination shall be required to retake that examination.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. (1) and (2), Register, June, 1994, No. 462, eff. 7-1-94; am. (2) and (3), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10-1-99; CR 03-082: am. (2) and (3) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8-1-04; CR 14-068: r. (2) and (3) Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8-1-15; renum. from (1) under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., correction in title made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 2., Stats., Register July 2015 No. 715.

Chir 2.12 Practical examination demonstrating clinical competence. An applicant who applied for licensure as a chiropractor between January 1, 2012 and July 2, 2013, and who took the practical exam, under s. 446.02 (3) (a), 2011 Stats., shall

not be required to have successfully completed the practical exam and shall be considered to have satisfied all examination requirements to obtain a license to practice as a chiropractor in this state if the person has completed all of the following:

(1) Achieved a score of 375 or higher on Part III of the examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners

(2) Achieved a score of 375 or higher on Part IV of the examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

(3) Successfully completed the exam on Wisconsin laws, pursuant to s. Chir 2.03, related to the practice of chiropractic. History: CR 14-068: cr. Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8-1-15.

Register April 2018 No. 748

4