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CR 11-017 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING 

HEARING AND SPEECH   : BOARD ADOPTING RULES 

EXAMINING BOARD   : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 11- 017) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ORDER 

 

An order of the Hearing and Speech Examining Board to repeal HAS 8.03 (1)(Note) and 

to amend HAS 8.03 (1), (3) and (6) and 8.04 (6). 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: 

 

Sections 459.095 and 459.24 (5m), Stats. 

 

Statutory authority: 

 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 459.095, 459.12 (1) and 459.24 (5m), Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Hearing and Speech Examining Board has the authority under ss. 459.095, 459.12 

(1) and 459.24 (5m), Stats., to promulgate rules relating to continuing education. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

Section 1 of the proposed rule amends to require at least 2 hours of ethics as part of the 

required 20 hours of continuing education. 

 

Section 2 of the proposed rule repeals the note following HAS 8.03(1) which states that a 

list of approved programs may be obtained from the Board. 

 

Section 3 of the proposed rule amends the statement certifying that he or she has 

completed the continuing education programs to include at least 2 of the hours in ethics.  
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It creates an exemption so a licensee is not required to take or report continuing education 

prior to or at the time of the first renewal of the license. 

 

Section 4 of the proposed rule amends to allow other acceptable continuing education 

activities including employer in-service training, other professional organizations’ 

programs, college or university course work and courses offered by any provider 

authorized by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training.  Prior 

approval is not required for activities related to professional development or practice 

completed during the renewal period. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 

None. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: 

 

Illinois includes ethics as an approved content area, but no hour requirement is imposed.  

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcrar/admincode/077/07703000sections.html 

 

Iowa: 

 

There is no provision for ethics or best practices in the statutes or rules.  

http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/continuingeducation.asp?board=had 

 

Michigan: 

 

Michigan has no requirements for continuing education. 

 

Minnesota: 

 

There is no provision for ethics or best practices in the statutes or rules.  

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/hid/certregs.html 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

No study resulting in the collection of factual data, other than a review of surrounding 

states, was used relating to this rule.  The primary methodology for revising the rule is 

based on the Board’s collective experience and determination that a change is necessary.  

 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

 

 

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcrar/admincode/077/07703000sections.html
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/continuingeducation.asp?board=had
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/hid/certregs.html
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Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report 

before submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  

The Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this 

section. 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the private sector. 

 

Fiscal estimate: 

 

The department estimates that the proposed rule will have no significant fiscal impact. 

 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on a substantial number 

of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory 

Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at John.Murray@wisconsin.gov, or by 

calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Sharon Henes, Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 

Room 116, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-2377; email 

at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Sharon Henes, Department of Regulation and Licensing, 

1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 116, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-

8935, or by email to sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received at or 

before the public hearing to be held on April 25, 2011 to be included in the record of 

rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

 SECTION 1.  HAS 8.03 (1) is amended to read: 

 

 HAS 8.03 Continuing education.  (1)  Except as provided in sub. (6), hearing 

instrument specialists, audiologists and speech-language pathologists shall complete at 

least 20 hours of board approved continuing education programs or courses of study 

which pertain to the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing instruments, audiology or 

speech-language pathology, as appropriate, in each biennial period.  Of the 20 required 

hours, at least 2 hours shall relate to ethics. 

 

mailto:John.Murray@wisconsin.gov
mailto:sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov
mailto:sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov
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 SECTION 2.  The Note following HAS 8.03 (1) is repealed. 

 

 SECTION 3.  HAS 8.03 (3) and (6) are amended to read: 

 

 HAS 8.03 (3)  To obtain credit for completion of continuing education hours, a 

licensee shall, at the time of each renewal, sign a statement certifying that he or she has 

completed, within the 2 years immediately preceding the date of his or her application, 20 

hours of continuing education programs or courses of study approved by the board, 

including at least 2 hours of ethics credits. 

 

  (6)  A new licensee is not required to report continuing education hours 

until the second renewal date following the initial grant of his or her license.  A new 

licensee is not required to take or report continuing education prior to or at the time of the 

first renewal of the license after initial licensure.  A licensee is required to take 

continuing education during the second 2 year period following licensure and report full 

compliance with the continuing education requirements at the time of the second renewal 

following licensure and every subsequent biennium. 

 

 SECTION 4.  HAS 8.04 (6) is amended to read: 

 

 HAS 8.04 (6)  Subject to compliance with the requirements set forth in subs. (2) 

to (5), the board may accept attendance at and completion of one or more continuing 

education programs or courses of study approved by the American academy of 

audiology, American speech-language-hearing association, Wisconsin department of 

public instruction, international hearing society or the national board for certification in 

hearing instrument sciences American Academy of Audiology, American Speech-

Language-Hearing Association, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, 

International Hearing Society or the National Board for Certification in Hearing 

Instrument Sciences as fulfilling the continuing education hours required under this 

chapter.  Other acceptable continuing education activities include employer-sponsored in-

service training programs, other professional organizations’ continuing education 

programs, college or university course work from an institution that holds regional 

accreditation or its equivalent, and courses offered by any provider authorized by the 

International Association for Continuing Education and Training.  Prior approval is not 

required for activities related to professional development or practice, which are 

completed during the biennial renewal period, and for which the licensee has obtained 

acceptable documentation of attendance and completion. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Stats. 

 

 

Dated ____________________ Agency ___________________________________ 
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       Member 

       Hearing and Speech Examining Board 


