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State of Wisconsin 

Department of Workforce Development  

Equal Rights Division 
 

Increasing Wisconsin’s Minimum Wages 
 

DWD 272 
 

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development proposes to repeal DWD 

272.07(3g); to amend DWD 272.03(1m)(intro.) and (3m)(intro.), 272.05, and 

272.07(3r); to repeal and recreate DWD 272.03(1) and (3), and 272.07(3), relating to 

increasing Wisconsin’s minimum wages and affecting small businesses . 
 

 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce Development 

 

Statutory authority: Sections 104.04 and 227.11, Stats. 

Statutes interpreted: Chapter 104 and s. 227.11, Stats. 

Related statutes and rules: Section 103.02, Stats, and Chapter DWD 274.  
 

Explanation of agency authority. Chapter 104, Stats., and Chapter DWD 272 

provide that Wisconsin’s minimum wage should be sufficient to enable the employee 

receiving it to maintain himself or herself under conditions consistent with his or her 

reasonable comfort, physical well-being, decency, and moral well-being. Section 104.04, 

Stats., directs the Department to determine the state’s minimum wage taking into 

consideration the effect of the wage on the economy of the state, including employment 

opportunities for low-wage workers and regional economic conditions within the state. 
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Summary of the proposed rule.  Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the 

federal minimum wage will be $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009.  The Department 

proposes to increase the state minimum wage to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009, to 

match the federal rate. The minimum wage rate and various special rates will be 

increased as follows: 

 

 

Category 

 

Current Rate 

Proposed Rate 

7/24/09 

Federal Rate 

7/24/09 

Non-Agricultural work    

 Adult  $6.50 $7.25 $7.25 

 Minor  $5.90 $7.25 $7.25 

 Opportunity  $5.90 no change $4.25 
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Category 

 

Current Rate 

Proposed Rate 

7/24/09 

Federal Rate 

7/24/09 

Agricultural work    

 Adult $5.15 $7.25 $7.25 

 Minor $4.25 $7.25 $7.25 

Camp Counselors Salary per week Salary per week  

 Adults, no board or lodging $315  $350 exempt 

 Adults, with board only $240  $265  exempt 

 Adults, with board and lodging $189 $210  exempt 

 Minors, no board or lodging $275  $350 exempt 

 Minors, with board only $209  $265 exempt 

 Minors, with board and lodging $165  $210  exempt 

 

The proposed rule will affect employees not covered by or exempt from the federal 
minimum wage law.  The federal minimum wage law applies to employees of businesses 

that have annual gross sales or value of business done of at least $500,000.  It also applies 

to employees of smaller businesses if the employees are engaged in interstate commerce 

or in the production of goods for commerce, such as employees who work in 

transportation or communications or who regularly use the mail or telephones for 

interstate communications.  

In addition, the FLSA covers employees who perform duties that are closely related 

and directly essential to interstate activities, including guards, janitors, and maintenance 

workers. It also applies to employees of government agencies, hospitals, and schools, and 

it generally applies to domestic workers. 

The FLSA exempts any employee employed by an establishment that is an 

amusement or recreational establishment, organized camp, or religious or non-profit 

educational conference center, if either of the following apply: 

 It does not operate for more than 7 months in any calendar year. 

 During the preceding calendar year, its average receipts for any 6 months of 
the year were not more than 33 1/3% of its average receipts for the other six 

months of the year.  

The proposed increase to the state minimum wage may affect camp counselors and 

other seasonal amusement and recreational workers.  In 2007, there were 2,401 

Wisconsin workers that were paid less than $7.25 per hour in the Standard Occupational 

Classification codes for the categories of amusement and recreational attendants; 

recreation workers; lifeguards, ski patrol, and other recreational protective service 

workers; and tour guides and escorts.  The Department does not know how many of these 

workers were employed by an establishment that is seasonal.   

 

Summary of related federal law. The current federal minimum wage rate is $5.85 

per hour.  It will increase to $6.55 per hour on July 24, 2008, and to $7.25 per hour on 

July 24, 2009.   
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Comparison with laws in adjacent states.  Illinois. The minimum wage rate will be 

$7.75 effective July 1, 2008; $8.00 effective July 1, 2009; and $8.25 effective July 1, 

2010.  

Michigan. The minimum wage rate will be $7.40 per hour effective July 1, 2008. 

Iowa. The minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. 

Minnesota.  The minimum wage rate is $6.15 per hour.  The Governor recently 

vetoed a bill that would have increased the minimum wage rate to $6.75 per hour in July 

2008 and $7.75 per hour in July 2009.   

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies. The proposed rule 

increases the state minimum wage rate to match the federal minimum wage rate effective 

July 24, 2009.  Under the proposed rule, minors and agricultural workers will have the 

same minimum wage rate as adult nonagricultural workers.  There are no special rates for 

minors or agricultural workers under federal law.  The proposed rule does not eliminate 

these special categorical rates, which may differ from the adult nonagricultural rate in the 

future.   

The camp counselor minimum wage is a weekly salary based on the hourly rate of 

$7.25 per hour for 48 hours.  Camp counselors are exempt from the federal minimum 

wage law.  The state has a special salary rate for camp counselors due to the difficulty in 

interpreting hours worked in many camp situations.  The responsibilities of a camp 

counselor can vary widely.  Some counselors are working 24 hours per day for 6 days per 

week under the interpretation of hours worked in s. DWD 272.12.  The minimum weekly 

salary for camp counselors is an attempt at a reasonable and affordable rate for the 

special circumstances.  

 

Effect on small business.  The rule will affect small businesses but will not 

have a significant economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses as 

defined in s. 227.114(1), Stats. 

 

Analysis used to determine effect on small businesses.  The number of 

workers that will be covered by the state minimum wage increase but are not 

covered by the federal minimum wage is very small.  Also, most of the 

amusement and recreational workers who were paid less than $7.25 per hour in 

2007 were already being paid at least $7.00 per hour.  

 

Agency contact person.  Bob Anderson, Director, Bureau of Labor 

Standards, bob.anderson@dwd.state.wi.us, (608) 266-3345. 

 

 

mailto:bob.anderson@dwd.state.wi.us
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SECTION 1. DWD 272.03 (1) is repealed and recreated to read: 

DWD 272.03 Minimum rates. (1) MINIMUM RATES.  This subsection is effective 

on July 24, 2009.  Except as provided in ss. DWD 272.05 to 272.09, no employer may 

employ any employee in any occupation, trade, or industry at a lesser hourly rate than as 

follows: 

(a)  All employees except opportunity and minor employees $7.25 per hour. 

(b) Minor employees $7.25 per hour.  

(c) Opportunity employees $5.90 per hour. 

 

SECTION 2.  DWD 272.03 (1m) (intro.) is amended to read: 

DWD 272.03 (1m) MINIMUM RATES. This subsection becomes effective on is in 

effect from June 1, 2006, to July 23, 2009. Except as provided in ss. DWD 272.05 to 

272.09, no employer may employ any employee in any occupation, trade, or industry at a 

lesser hourly rate than as follows: 

 

SECTION 3.  DWD 272.03 (3) is repealed and recreated to read:  

DWD 272.03 (3)  ALLOWANCE FOR BOARD AND LODGING.  This subsection 

is effective on July 24, 2009.  Where board or lodging or both are furnished by the 

employer in accordance with s. DWD 272.04, and accepted and received by a particular 

employee, an allowance may be made not to exceed the following amounts: 

(a) Lodging. 1. All employees except opportunity and minor employees $58.00 per 

week or $8.30 per day. 

2. Minor employees $58.00 per week or $8.30 per day. 

3. Opportunity employees $47.20 per week or $6.75 per day. 
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(b) Meals. 1. All employees except opportunity and minor employees $87.00 per 

week or $4.15 per meal. 

2. Minor employees $87.00 per week or $4.15 per meal. 

3. Opportunity employees $70.80 per week or $3.35 per meal. 

 

SECTION 4.  DWD 272.03 (3m) (intro.) is amended to read: 

DWD 272.03 (3m) ALLOWANCE FOR BOARD AND LODGING. This subsection 

becomes effective on is in effect from June 1, 2006, to July 23, 2009.  Where board or 

lodging or both are furnished by the employer in accordance with s. DWD 272.04, and 

accepted and received by a particular employee, an allowance may be made not to exceed 

the following amounts: 

 

SECTION 5.  DWD 272.05 is amended to read: 

DWD 272.05 Agriculture. (1) MINIMUM RATES. The minimum wage of 

employees employed in agriculture shall be as follows: 

(a) Employees 18 years of age and over: . . . $5.15 $7.25 per hour. 

(b) Employees 17 years of age and under: . . $4.25 $7.25 per hour. 

(2) ALLOWANCE FOR BOARD AND LODGING. Where board or lodging or both 

are furnished by the employer in accordance with s. DWD 272.04, and accepted and 

received by the employee, an allowance may be made not to exceed the following 

amounts: 
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(a) Lodging—Employees 18 years of age               

 and over: 
 

 Employees 17 years of age 

 and under: 

 

$41.20 $58.00 per week or $5.90 $8.30 per 

day. 
 

$34.00 $58.00 per week or $4.85 $8.30 per 

day. 

(b) Meals — Employees 18 years of age 

 and over: 
 

 Employees 17 years of age 

 and under: 

$61.80 $87.00 per week or $2.95 $4.15 per 

meal. 
 

$51.00 $87.00 per week or $2.40 $4.15 per 

meal. 

 

 

SECTION 6.  DWD 272.07 (3) is repealed and recreated to read: 

DWD 272.07 (3) COUNSELORS. This subsection is effective on July 24, 2009. The 

minimum wage of counselors employed in seasonal recreational or educational camps 

and day camps may be computed on a weekly basis as follows: 

(a) Adult counselors 18 years of age and over: 

PER WEEK 

1. If board and lodging are not furnished…………$350.00 

2. If board only is furnished………………………$265.00 

3. If board and lodging are furnished……………...$210.00 

(b) Counselors 17 years of age and under: 

 PER WEEK 

1. If board and lodging are not furnished…………$350.00 

2. If board only is furnished……………………….$265.00 

3. If board and lodging are furnished………………$210.00 

 

SECTION 7.  DWD 272.07 (3g) is repealed.  
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SECTION 8.  DWD 272.07 (3r) (intro.) is amended to read: 

DWD 272. 07(3r) COUNSELORS. This subsection becomes effective on is in effect 

from June 1, 2007, to July 23, 2009.  The minimum wage of counselors employed in 

seasonal recreational or educational camps and day camps may be computed on a weekly 

basis as follows: 

 

SECTION 9.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect the first day of the 

month following publication in the Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) 

(intro.), Stats. 

 


