
ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

ADOPTING RULES 
 

 
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation adopts an order create ch. TRANS 178, 
relating to the Unified Carrier Registration system. 
 

 
 Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation  
 
 Statutes interpreted:  s. 194.407, Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20 
 

Statutory authority:  s.  194.407 (1) and (3), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20 
 
 Explanation of agency authority:  Section 194.407 of the statutes authorizes the 
Department to implement and administer a unified registration system for motor carriers 
consistent with 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, and to prescribe annual fees for that registration. 
 
 Related statute or rule:  Section 194. 407, Stats., 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, 49 
CFR 367. 
 
 Plain language analysis:  This chapter establishes in Wisconsin Administrative Code 
the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) system, and establishes a 
method for counting the number of vehicles so that an entity knows whether it is required to 
register under UCR and, if so, which fee bracket applies to the entity. 
 
 Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal 
regulation:  This rule complies and is consistent with federal law and regulations pertaining to 
the Unified Carrier Registration system. 
 
 Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
 
 Michigan: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 2008. 
 
 Minnesota: Minnesota is not a participating state in the UCR program in 2007.  There 
are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 2008. 
 

 Illinois: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 2008. 
 
 Iowa: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 2008. 
 
 Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the related 
findings support the regulatory approach chosen:  This rule is derived solely from federal 
law, federal regulation and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, both of which are 
authorized by 49 USC 13908 and 14504a and implement those sections.  If Wisconsin 
chooses not to participate in the UCR program, Wisconsin will forfeit revenues from carrier 
registration pursuant to federal law. 
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 Effect on small business and, if applicable, any analysis and supporting 
documentation used to determine effect on small businesses:  This rule is derived solely 
from federal law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.  Any effect on 
small businesses is a result of federal law, federal regulation and the Unified Carrier 
Registration Agreement.  The bill will affect some small businesses by requiring them to pay 
an annual registration fee based on the size of its truck fleet, with fees of $39 to $806 annually. 
These fees are established under federal law at 49 CFR 367.20 but may be revised annually 
by publication in the federal register.  If Wisconsin does not charge these fees, small 
businesses that operate affected trucks and trailers outside this state will nevertheless be 
required to pay these same fees to other states.  The Department’s Regulatory Review 
Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 
438-4585. 
 

 Fiscal effect: This rule is derived solely from federal law, federal regulation, and 
Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.  Any fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues of any 
county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult education district, 
sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands is a result of federal law, federal 
regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. The Unified Carrier Registration 
Agreement authorizes states to exempt solely intra-state carriers and qualified school buses 
from the registration fee, and the Department has made registration and payment of the fees 
optional for those entities.     

 
 Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  This rule is derived solely from federal 
law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.  Any cost incurred by the 
private sector is a result of federal law, federal regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration 
Agreement.  Many parties subject to these fees are paying higher fees under the Single State 
Registration System (SSRS), which the Unified Carrier Registration fee replaces; they will see 
significant annual fee reductions.  Numerous smaller motor carriers, motor private carriers, 
brokers, leasing companies, and freight forwarders are exempt from SSRS and are made 
subject to Unified Carrier Registration; they will be required to pay annual fees of $39-$806 or 
more depending upon their fleet size.  The sum of fees collected by this state will be the same 
under Unified Carrier Registration as presently collected under SSRS.  Under federal law, 
federal regulation, and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, the amounts of UCR 
registration fees is established so that the amount collected, in total, is the same as the total 
amount of fees that had been collected under the former SSRS program.  More motor carriers 
are required to register and pay fees under UCR than were required to register and pay under 
the SSRS program.  Therefore, some types of carriers may pay more (those newly subject to 
UCR) or less (those previously subject to SSRS) fees under UCR, but the sum of fees paid by 

all registrants is the same. 
 
 Agency contact person and copies of rule:  Copies of the rule can be obtained, 
without cost, by writing to Carson P. Frazier, Division of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 7911, Room 
255, Madison WI  53707-7911, by calling (608) 266-7857, or via e-mail at 
carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us.   
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 TEXT OF RULE 
 
 SECTION 1.  Chapter Trans 178 is created to read: 

CHAPTER TRANS 178 
UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION SYSTEM 

 Trans 178.01  Authority, purpose, and scope.  (1) As authorized by s. 194.407, 

Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to establish, consistent with federal law, an annual fee 

under s. 194.407, Stats., for a fleet of commercial motor vehicles that is used in interstate 

commerce, is subject to the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, and whose owner or 

operator is based in Wisconsin, or is based in a state that is not participating in the UCR and 

has elected to declare Wisconsin as its base state. 

 (2) This chapter applies to any motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder, 

broker, and leasing company that meets any of the following criteria: 

 (a) Operates any commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce. 

 (b) Has no vehicles but is a motor carrier related business located in Wisconsin. 

 (c) Has declared Wisconsin as the base state for UCR, as required in federal law 49 

USC 14504a and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.   

 (3) This chapter applies to any motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder, 

broker, or leasing company that operates any commercial motor vehicle in interstate 

commerce, as provided in 49 USC 14504a.  The requirement to register under the Unified 

Carrier Registration system is not affected by the type of motor carrier authority that the motor 

carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder, broker, or leasing company possesses, and is 

not affected by the type of business activity undertaken.   

 Trans 178.02  Definitions.   Words and phrases used in this chapter have the 

meanings given in 49 USC 14504a, and in the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement unless 

this chapter provides a different definition.  In this chapter: 
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 (1) “Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier or an employee or agent of a 

motor carrier, that as a principal or agent sells, offers for sale, negotiates for, or holds itself out 

by solicitation, advertisement, or otherwise as selling, providing, or arranging for, transportation 

by a motor carrier for compensation.  

(2) “Commercial motor vehicle,” as defined in 49 USC 31101, means a self-propelled 

or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or 

cargo, if the vehicle meets any of the following criteria: 

(a) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 

pounds. 

(b) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver. 

 

 (c) Is used in transporting material found by the secretary of the United States 

department of transportation to be hazardous under 49 USC 5103 and transported in a 

quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by that secretary.  

(3) “Freight forwarder” means a person holding itself out to the general public, other 

than as a pipeline, rail, motor or water carrier, to provide transportation of property for 

compensation and, in the ordinary course of its business, does all of the following: 

(a) Assembles and consolidates, or provides for assembling and consolidating, 

shipments, and performs or provides for break-bulk and distribution operations of the 

shipments. 

(b) Assumes responsibility for the transportation from the place of receipt to the 

place of destination. 

(c) Uses for any part of the transportation a carrier subject to 49 USC subtitle IV. 

(4) “Interstate commerce” means trade, traffic, or transportation in the United States 

between any of the following: 
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(a) A place in a state and a place outside that state, including a place outside of the 

United States. 

(b) Two places in a state through another state or through a place outside of the 

United States. 

(c) Two places in a state as part of trade, traffic, or transportation originating or 

terminating outside the state or the United States. 

(d) Wisconsin and any adjacent state under a registration reciprocity agreement 

between Wisconsin and that other state. 

 (5) “Intrastate commerce” means any trade, traffic, or transportation in any state that 

is not described in the term "interstate commerce" and is conducted wholly within a state.  

 (6) “Leasing company” means a lessor that is engaged in the business of leasing or 

renting for compensation motor vehicles without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private 

carrier, or freight forwarder. 

 (7) “MCS-150” means the form prescribed by the federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Administration for Motor Carrier Identification Report, Application for USDOT Number. 

 (8) “Motor carrier” means a person providing motor vehicle transportation for 

compensation. 

(9) “Motor private carrier” means a person, other than a motor carrier, transporting 

property by motor vehicle when all of the following occur: 

(a) The transportation is as provided in 49 USC 13501. 

(b) The person is the owner, lessee, or bailee of the property being transported. 

(c) The property is being transported for sale, lease, rent, or bailment or to further a 

commercial enterprise. 

 (10) “Motor vehicle” means any vehicle, machine, tractor, trailer, or semitrailer 

propelled or drawn by mechanical power and used upon the highways in the transportation 
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of passengers or property, or any combination thereof as determined by the Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Administration, but does not include any vehicle, locomotive, or car operated 

exclusively on a rail or rails, or a trolley bus operated by electric power derived from a fixed 

overhead wire, furnishing local passenger transportation similar to street-railway service. 

 (11) “Registrant” means a motor carrier, motor private carrier, broker, leasing 

company, or freight forwarder. 

 (12) “Registration year” means a calendar year. 

 (13) “Unified Carrier Registration Agreement” or “UCR Agreement” means the 

interstate agreement developed under the UCR Plan governing the collection and 

distribution of registration information and UCR fees paid by motor carriers, motor private 

carriers, brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies pursuant to 49 USC 14504a. 

 Trans 178.03  Fees.  (1) Except as provided in par. (b), as provided in 49 CFR 

367.20, fees for registration year 2007 and thereafter are as follows: 

 
 
 
 

 
Bracket 

 
Number of commercial motor vehicles 
owned or operated by exempt or non-

exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier, 
or freight forwarder 

Fee per company for 
exempt or non-exempt 
motor carrier, motor 

private carrier, or freight 
forwarder 

 
 
Fee per company for 

broker or leasing company 

B1 0-2 $39 $39 

B2 3-5 $116 $39 

B3 6-20 $231 $39 

B4 21-100 $806 $39 

B5 101-1,000 $3,840 $39 

B6 1,001 and above $37,500 $39 

 

 (2) If the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or the U.S. department of 

transportation acting under 49 USC 14504a(d)(7) publishes in the federal register a schedule 

of fees for the Unified Carrier Registration Plan that differ from the fees set forth in par. (a), the 

department shall send notice of those revised fees to the chairpersons of the standing 

committees of the legislature having jurisdiction over transportation.  If no chairperson notifies 

the secretary of transportation within 14 working days after the date of the department’s 

notice that the committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose of reviewing the fees, 
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the department shall implement the fees.  If within 14 working days after the date of the 

department’s notice a chairperson of a committee notifies the secretary of transportation 

that the committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose of reviewing the fees, the 

department shall implement the fees only with the approval of the committee. 

 Trans 178.04  Determining the number of commercial motor vehicles.  (1) The fee 

is determined by the number of commercial motor vehicles that the registrant operates in 

interstate commerce, which shall be counted as follows as provided in the UCR Agreement: 

(a) The number of commercial motor vehicles owned or operated subject to the fee 

under this chapter is the greater of the following: 

 1.  The number reported on the MCS-150 most recently filed with the U. S. 

department of transportation. 

 2.  The total number of commercial motor vehicles owned or operated for the 12-

month period ending on June 30 immediately prior to the beginning of the registration year. 

(b) The registrant shall include the number of commercial motor vehicles owned or 

operated by the registrant, or controlled by the registrant under a lease having a term longer 

than 30 days.  A registrant may not include any vehicle that is operated by the registrant 

under a lease of 30 days or less. 

 (c) Before issuing any documentation of UCR Agreement compliance, the 

department may require the registrant to reconcile any discrepancy between the number of 

motor vehicles owned and leased as reported on the MCS-150 most recently filed with the 

U. S. department of transportation. 

(d) The registrant may, at its sole option, add to the sum of vehicles required to be 

counted under this section any of the following: 
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1.  Any self-propelled commercial motor vehicle operated in intrastate or interstate 

commerce for compensation regardless of the weight of the vehicle, or the number of 

passengers transported by the vehicle, or whether the registrant owns or leases the vehicle. 

2.  Any motor vehicle used only in intrastate commerce regardless of the state in 

which the vehicle has been operated, or whether the registrant owns or leases the vehicle. 

(e) The registrant may exclude the number of commercial motor vehicles owned or 

leased that were operated exclusively in the intrastate transportation of property, waste or 

recyclable material. 

 (2) A registrant that operates commercial motor vehicles solely in intrastate commerce 

is not required to register or pay any fee under this chapter.   

 (3) Except as provided in sub. (1), only motor vehicles that are operated in interstate 

commerce shall be counted under this section.  Except as provided in sub. (1), motor vehicles 

operated exclusively in intrastate commerce may not be counted under this section. 

 (4) Except as provided in sub. (1), a school bus is not required to be counted under this 

chapter if it is all of the following: 

 (a) Operated exclusively for school activities.  

 (b) Not operated for any charter activity. 

 (c) Not used for any activities other than school activities. 

 (5) A business that is a single legal entity and operates more than one type of carrier 

operation that is subject to this chapter shall pay the fee that is the highest applicable fee for 

any of its carrier operations subject to this chapter.  A business that comprises multiple legal 

entities that operate separate carrier operations subject to this chapter shall pay all appropriate 

fees for each legal entity.  

 (6) The department may authorize and designate an agent to collect fees and process 

registration applications under this chapter. 
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Effective Date.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats. 
 
      Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this ____ day of 

May, 2008. 
 
 
 
      ______________________________________ 
      FRANK J. BUSALACCHI 
      Secretary 
      Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
  

 


