
 

Clearinghouse Rule 24-010 

 

PROPOSED ORDER OF THE  

STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

AMENDING RULES 

 
The scope statement for this rule, SS 084-23, was published in Register No. 815B, on October 30, 2023, and approved by 

State Superintendent Jill K. Underly on November 28, 2023. 
 
The State Superintendent of Public Instruction hereby proposes an order to amend s. PI 34.028 (2) (c), relating to issuing a 

tier I license with stipulations based on district need. 

 

 

ANALYSIS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Statute interpreted: s. 118.19 (1), Stats. 
 

Statutory authority: s. 118.19 (1), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 
 

Under. 118.19 (1), Stats., any person seeking to teach in a public school, including a charter school, or in a school or 

institution operated by a county or the state shall first procure a license or permit from the department. Under Wis. Stat. s. 

115.28 (7) (a) the superintendent of public instruction shall make rules establishing standards of attainment and procedures 

for the examination and licensing of teachers within the limits prescribed in ss. 118.19 (2) and (3), 118.191, 118.192, 

118.193, 118.194, and 118.195. 

 

Related statute or rule: 
 

N/A 

 

Plain language analysis: 
 

The proposed rule change amends s. PI 34.028 (2) (c) of the Wisconsin Administrative Code with respect to the rules 

governing the issuance of a tier 1, one-year renewable license with stipulations due to a school district need. The proposed 

change will include CESAs, charter schools, and private schools under this section as a means of providing all schools with 

access to this license option. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations: 
 

Because educator licensure in the United States is typically governed by each state and local government, federal 

regulations are generally silent with respect to the issuance of teacher licenses. As a result, the requirements for licensure 

vary by state. 

 

Summary of any public comments and feedback on the statement of scope for the proposed rule that the 

agency received at a preliminary public hearing and comment period held and a description of how and to 

what extent the agency took those comments into account and drafting the proposed rule: 
 

The Department held a preliminary public hearing and comment period on November 9, 2023, and received no comments 

on the statement of scope for the proposed rule.  

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
 



 

Illinois: A district in Illinois can only request a Provisional Career and Technical Educator (CTE) license with verification 

that no teacher holding a Professional Educator License (PEL) or and Educator License with Stipulations (ELS) endorsed 

in career and technical education is available. 

 

Iowa: Iowa requires teachers to hold a bachelor’s degree and complete an approved teacher education program at an 

accredited institution prior to receiving their initial teacher certification. If a teacher has an Initial (2-year), Class A (1-year, 

nonrenewable), Class B (2-year, nonrenewable), Standard (5-year), or Master Educator (5-year) license and at least one 

endorsement but are in the process of obtaining another endorsement, a school district administrator can request an 

exception be made with regard to meeting the minimum content requirements of an endorsement based on the need of the 

school for the issuance of a two-year, nonrenewable class B license. 

 

Michigan: Michigan provides for an alternative route to teacher certification using a non-traditional preparation program 

for individuals who hold a minimum of a bachelor’s degree and are seeking to complete an expedited teacher preparation 

program. Once enrolled in an approved program, and employed by a school, the alternative route program provider gives 

guidance on the steps for applying for a five-year, nonrenewable Interim Teaching Certificate (ITC). If the teacher leaves 

the preparation program, they are no longer authorized to teach under the ITC. A district in Michigan can also request an 

Annual Career Authorizations license for a Career and Technical Educator when a properly certified and endorsed 

candidate is not available for the assignment. The district must verify the work experience and assign a mentor teacher. 

 

Minnesota: To obtain a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license in Minnesota, applicants must have a job offer by a Minnesota public 

school district. The District Verification for a Tier 1 (or Tier 2) License Form must be completed, then signed and dated by 

the authorized Minnesota public or charter school official. An Educational Service Agency in Minnesota cannot request 

this license. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 
 

Chapter PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code contains the rules governing educator licensure, including the 

issuance of tier 1, one-year renewable licenses with stipulations. Under s. PI 34.028 (2) (c), the state superintendent may 

issue a tier I license to an applicant who does not meet all the requirements for a tier II, III, or IV license if the applicant is 

hired to meet a school district need and meets the enumerated requirements based on the license sought (teacher, school 

social worker, or school psychologist). Additionally, the applicant's employing school district must have conducted a 

searched for a fully licensed candidate and no fully licensed candidates were acceptable for the assignment, and the district 

administrator of the employing school district submitted a written request to the state superintendent on behalf of the 

applicant for the applicant to receive the license. 

 

The proposed rule change will permit the state superintendent to issue a tier I license to an applicant who is hired to meet 

the needs of an employing CESA, charter school, or private school. To receive the license, the applicant shall meet the 

same degree requirements as currently written in PI 34.028 (2) (c) and the administrator of the employing CESA, charter 

school, or private school shall submit a written request to the state superintendent on behalf of the applicant for the 

applicant to receive the license. Without a rule change, the department will be unable to implement this flexibility for all 

schools and will be required to implement ch. PI 34 based on current rule. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of 

economic impact report: 
 

N/A 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 
 

N/A 

 

Effect on small business: 
 

The proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats. 

 



 

Agency contact person: (including email and telephone) 
 

Carl Bryan 

Legislative Policy Coordinator 

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction 

adminrules@dpi.wi.gov 

(608) 266-3275 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 
 

Comments should be submitted to Carl Bryan, Department of Public Instruction, at adminrules@dpi.wi.gov. The 

Department will publish a hearing notice in the Administrative Register which will provide information on the deadline for 

the submission of comments. 

 

 

RULE TEXT 
 

SECTION 1. PI 34.028 (2) (c) (intro.), 2., and 3. are amended to read:  

 

PI 34.028 (2) (c) School district, CESA, charter school, or private school need. The applicant is hired to meet a school 

district, CESA, charter school, or private school need and meets all of the following requirements: 

 

2. The applicant's employing school district, CESA, charter school, or private school conducted a search for a fully 

licensed candidate and no fully licensed candidates were acceptable for the assignment. 

 

3. The district administrator of the employing school district, or the administrator of the CESA, charter school, or private 

school, submitted a written request to the state superintendent on behalf of the applicant on a form provided by the 

department. 

  

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE: 

 

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin 

Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 

Dated this _____ day of ____________, 2024 

 

 

 

 

__________________________________________ 

Jill Underly, PhD 

State Superintendent 
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