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1. Type of Estimate and Analysis  2. Date 

 Original  Updated  Corrected       

3. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number (and Clearinghouse Number if applicable) 

Chapter PI 34, Educator Licenses 

4. Subject 

Substitute Teaching 

5. Fund Sources Affected 6. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected 

 GPR  FED  PRO  PRS  SEG  SEG-S       

7. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 

 No Fiscal Effect  Increase Existing Revenues  Increase Costs  Decrease Costs 

 Indeterminate  Decrease Existing Revenues  Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget 

8. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

 State’s Economy 

 Local Government Units 

 Specific Businesses/Sectors 

 Public Utility Rate Payers 

 Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A) 

9. Estimate of Implementation and Compliance to Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals, per s. 227.137 (3) (b) 1., Stats. 

$0 

10. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals Be $10 Million or more 
Over Any 2-year Period, per s. 227.137 (3) (b) 2., Stats.? 

 Yes  No 

11. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 

This proposed rule updates ch. PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code to conform the rule to changes in statute as 

a result of 2021 Wisconsin Act 236. The proposed rule will also define terms used in statutory language to provide 

greater clarity and alignment to current rule, including what is meant by hours of classroom observation. The rule will 

also align the name of this license to the terminology used in statute. 

12. Summary of the Businesses, Business Sectors, Associations Representing Business, Local Governmental Units, and Individuals 
that may be Affected by the Proposed Rule that were Contacted for Comments 

The department held a preliminary public hearing and comment period on the scope statement for the proposed rule. As 

provided in the hearing notice, any comment received during the preliminary public hearing and comment period are 

also considered for the development of this economic impact analysis. However, no comments were received to be 

considered in the development of this economic impact analysis. 

13. Identify the Local Governmental Units that Participated in the Development of this EIA 

None. 

14. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 
Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be 
Incurred) 

State: The proposed rule will conform ch. PI 34 with the changes in statute as a result of Act 236. Rule and statute 

will be consistent and will have the effect of providing clarity to licensure applicants. Therefore, there is no fiscal 

effect to the state as a result of this rule. 

 

Local: No fiscal effect. 

15. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule 

This proposed rule is designed to bring s. PI 34.032 into alignment with changes to statute as a result of Act 236 and 

define observed classroom experience and enrollment for the purposes of this section in rule. The proposed rule would 

also align the name of this license and definitions of educator programs in this section to terminology used in statute. 

Without a rule change, ch. PI 34 would be inconsistent with current statute and create confusion for permit applicants. 
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16. Long-Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 

The proposed rule will conform ch. PI 34 with the changes in statute as a result of Act 236. Rule and statute will be 

consistent and provide clarity to licensure applicants. Additionally, the proposed rule will define observed classroom 

experience and enrollment for the purposes of the rule. 

17. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government 

Because education in the United States is typically governed by each state and local government, federal regulations are 

generally silent with respect to teacher licensure. As a result, the requirements for substitute teacher licensure vary by 

state. 

18. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) 

Illinois: The Illinois State Board of Education administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator licensure 

in Illinois. Short-term substitutes are allowed to substitute teach no more than five consecutive days per licensed teacher 

in the same school. In order to receive this license an individual must have an associates degree or higher of have at 

least 60 semester hours of coursework completed at the 100 level or higher and complete a training provided by the 

school board. 

  
Iowa: The Iowa Board of Educational Examiners administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator 

licensure in Iowa. Iowa requires an individual to serve as a short-term substitute teacher if they have at least 60 

semester hours or have an associates degree or higher and have completed a substitute authorization course. They are 

limited to substitute teaching for 10 days in a row in a 30-day period. 

 
Michigan: The Michigan Department of Education administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator 

licensure in Michigan. A daily substitute permit allows an individual to serve in a position for no more than 90 days. 

The individual may only be used in daily intermittent assignments when a teacher is temporarily unavailable. The 

individual must have at least 60 credits with a grade of C or better from a regionally accredited two or four-year 

institution. Permits are granted to employing schools, not individuals.  Michigan Department of Education (MDE) has 

established administrative rules in accordance with MCL 380.1531 to authorize permits for both general education, as 

well as authorizations within CTE programs, and Special Education Approvals within the Michigan Administrative 

Rules for Special Education (MARSE). 

 
Minnesota: The Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board administers licensure for applicants 

seeking to obtain educator licensure in Minnesota. A short-call substitute licensure candidate must hold a minimum of a 

bachelor’s degree. Minnesota candidates that have completed student teacher through a teacher preparation program, 

but do not yet have a bachelor’s degree awarded may apply. The student teaching grade must be posted on the 

transcripts. In lieu of a bachelor’s degree, a candidate may evidence five years of work experience, an associates 

degree, or a professional certification from an approved certifying organization that is directly aligned to a Career and 

Technical (CTE) or Career Pathways licensure field. The short-call substitute license is valid for three years, expires on 

June 30 of the expiration year and may be renewed an unlimited number of times. 

19. Contact Name 20. Contact Phone Number 

Carl Bryan, Administrative Rules Coordinator 
Department of Public Instruction  

(608) 266-3275 

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request. 


