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The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (“the Department”) proposes an order to amend DHS 

137.03 (3) and 137.04 (1) (a), (b), and (2) (b), relating to the Wisconsin donor registry for anatomical 

gifts. 

RULE SUMMARY 

Statutes interpreted  

Section 157.06 (4), Stats. 

Statutory authority 

The Department is authorized to promulgate the rule based upon explicit statutory language in ss.  

157.06 (20) and 227.11 (2)(a), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority 

Section 227.11(2), Stats., gives the department authority to “promulgate rules interpreting the provision of 

any statute enforced or administered by the agency, if the agency considers it necessary to effectuate the 

purpose of the statute.” Section 157.06 (20), Stats., authorizes the Department to  

establish a donor registry, and to “promulgate administrative rules governing any donor registry 

established under this subsection.” Section 157.06 (4) identifies that the following individuals can make 

anatomical gifts:  
 

(a) The donor, if he or she is at least 15 years of age or is an emancipated minor. 

(b) An agent of the donor, unless the donor's power of attorney for health care instrument under 

ch. 155 or some other record prohibits the agent from making an anatomical gift. 

(c) A parent of the donor, if the donor is an unemancipated minor and does not object to the 

making of the anatomical gift. 

(d) A guardian of the donor unless a health care agent under ch. 155 has authority to make an 

anatomical gift of the donor's body or part. 
 

The Department incorporated these provisions into the donor registry rules established under s. 157.06 

(20), Stats.  

Related statute or rule 

Section 29.024, Stats.  

Section 157.06, Stats. 

Section 343.07 (1g), Stats. 

Plain language analysis 

The proposed changes to Chapter DHS 137 would modify the rule to lower the age requirement for those 

who may make a record of anatomical gift in the Wisconsin Donor Registry. Consistent with statutory 

language at the time the rule last amended in 2010, the current rule provides that when you apply for a 

driver's permit at 15 ½, you may add your name to the Wisconsin donor registry. 2021 Wis. Act 64 

amended s. 343.07 (1g) to lower the age for a driver's permit from 15 ½  to 15 years, and 2021 Wis. Act 

220 similarly amended s. 157.06 (4) (a)  to lower the age requirement for making an anatomical gift to 15 

years, with a parent or guardian able to revoke that decision for anyone under 18 years old. The proposed 

rule will make Chapter DHS 137 consistent with statutes by replacing all references to 15 ½  years of age 

in the rule with 15 years of age.  

 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/ch.%20155


No viable alternatives exist to rulemaking. Without the proposed revisions to Chapter DHS 137, 

administrative rules regarding the Wisconsin donor registry will not be consistent with Wisconsin 

Statutes. 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations 

There are federal regulations regarding the recovery and distribution of donated organs, tissues, and eyes. 

For organs, regulation includes the 1984-National Organ Transplant Act (NOTA-P.L. 98-507). NOTA 

established the framework for the OPTN within the United States, the Scientific Registry of Transplant 

Recipients, a government unit within the Public Health Service (Division of Transplantation) to oversee 

contractual activities of the OPTN and prohibited the buying and selling of organs. The regulation and 

distribution of donated tissue is governed by the Food and Drug Administration. These rules and 

regulations govern the distribution of organs and tissues once recovered. Rules regarding registries and 

consent for donation are determined by states. 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states 

Illinois: 

Illinois statute allows 16- and 17-year-olds to give consent to donate their organs and tissue at the 

time of their death, with a single limitation. The procurement organizations must make a reasonable 

effort to contact a parent or guardian to ensure they approve of the donation. The parent or guardian 

will have the opportunity to overturn the child’s decision. Once the 16- or 17-year-old turns 18, 

his/her decision would be considered legally binding without limitation. Applicable law found in 755 

ILCS 50/5. 

Iowa: 

Iowa statute states that an anatomical gift of a donor’s body or part may be by any of the following: 

(1) An adult. (2) A minor, if the minor is emancipated. (3) A minor, if the minor is authorized under 

state law to apply for a driver’s license or identification card because the minor is at least fourteen 

years of age, and the minor authorizes a statement or symbol indicating an anatomical gift on a 

driver’s license, identification card, or donor registry entry with the signed approval of a parent or 

guardian. (4) A minor, if the minor is authorized under state law to apply for a hunting, fishing, or fur 

harvester license, the minor is at least fourteen years of age, and the minor authorizes a symbol 

indicating an anatomical gift on a hunting, fishing, or fur harvester license with the signed approval of 

a parent or guardian. If a donor who is an unemancipated minor dies, a parent of the donor who is 

reasonably available may revoke or amend an anatomical gift of the donor’s body or part. Applicable 

law found in Iowa Code §142C. 

Michigan: 

An anatomical gift of a donor’s body or body part may be made during the life of the donor for the 

purpose of transplantation, therapy, research, or education in the manner provided by any of the 

following: (a) The donor, if the donor is an adult or if the donor is a minor and meets 1 or more of the 

following requirements: (i) Is emancipated. (ii) Has been issued a driver license or identification card 

because the donor is at least 16 years of age. (b) An agent of the donor, unless the power of attorney 

for health care or other record prohibits the agent from making an anatomical gift. Public Applicable 

laws are found in Michigan Public Health Code § 333.10104. 

Minnesota: 

An emancipated minor or a minor who is at least 16 years old may make an anatomical gift during the 

life of the minor. However, upon the death of an unemancipated minor, the minor’s parent may 

revoke or amend an anatomical gift or may revoke the minor’s refusal to make an anatomical gift 

Applicable law is found in Minnesota Statute Chapter 525A.04 and 525A. 

 



Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies 

The proposed rule is being promulgated to conform an existing rule to statute. No factual data or sources 

were relied upon.  

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business 

The proposed rule is anticipated to have no economic impact. 

Effect on small business 

The proposed rule is anticipated to have no effect on small business. 

Agency contact person  

Christopher Gjestson 

Lead Budget & Policy Analyst 

Bureau of Operations 

1 W. Wilson St. 

Madison WI 53701 

Christopher.Gjestson@dhs.wisconsin.gov 

608-266-0472 

Statement on quality of agency data 

The data used by the Department to prepare these proposed rules and analysis comply with s. 227.14 

(2m), Stats. 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission 

Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person that is listed above until the deadline given in 

the upcoming notice of public hearing. The notice of public hearing and deadline for submitting 

comments will be published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register and to the department’s website, at 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rules/active-rulemaking-projects.htm. Comments may also be submitted 

through the Wisconsin Administrative Rules Website, at: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/chr/active. 

 

RULE TEXT 

SECTION 1. DHS 137.03 (3) is amended to read:  

DHS 137.03 (3) “Record of intent" means a statement or symbol in the department of transportation 

electronic database that indicates an individual responded affirmatively to the donor question when 

applying for a driver's license or identification card before March 29, 2010 or before the individual was at 

least 15 and one-half years of age. 

SECTION 2. DHS 137.04 (1) (a), (b), and (2) (b) are amended to read: 

DHS 137.04 (1) (a) Beginning March 29, 2010, an individual at least 15 and one-half years of age who 

indicates a desire to register as an organ, tissue, and eye donor when applying for or renewing a 

Wisconsin driver's license or identification card makes an anatomical gift of organs, tissues and eyes by 

authorizing his or her inclusion in the registry. The department of transportation's inclusion of a statement 

or symbol in its database that the individual has indicated a desire to register as an organ, tissue, and eye 

donor constitutes a record of an anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (t), Stats. 

DHS 137.04 (1) (b) An individual who is at least 15 and one half years of age and has a Wisconsin 

driver's license or identification card may authorize his or her inclusion in the registry as a means of 

making an anatomical gift of organs, tissues and eyes by completing a form available on the Wisconsin 

donor registry website. The department shall forward the individual's authorization to the department of 

transportation, or the individual may write to the Wisconsin department of transportation. The department 

mailto:Christopher.Gjestson@dhs.wisconsin.gov
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rules/active-rulemaking-projects.htm
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/chr/active
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/157.06(2)(t)


of transportation's entry of a statement or symbol in its database indicating that the individual has made an 

anatomical gift shall constitute a record of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (t), Stats. 

DHS 137.04 (2) (b) An individual under 15 and one-half years of age, who indicates a desire to make an 

anatomical gift when applying for a Wisconsin driver's license or identification card, or who has a driver's 

license or identification card and communicates in writing to the department of transportation a desire to 

make an anatomical gift or indicates a desire to make an anatomical gift by completing the donor form on 

the registry website, has stated an intent to make an anatomical gift. 

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule takes effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/157.06(2)(t)

