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Clearinghouse Rule 22-087 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to amend DE 13.03 (1m), relating to 

controlled substances prescribing continuing education requirements. 

 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted:ss. 440.035 (2) and 447.056, Stats. 

 

Statutory authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 447.02 (1) (f), Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that an examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules 

for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, 

and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with 

the law relating to the particular trade or profession.” 

 

Section 447.02 (1) (f), Stats., provides “[the examining board may promulgate rules] 

governing compliance with continuing education requirements under s. 447.056.” 

 

Related statute or rule: None 

 

Plain language analysis: 

The objective of this proposed rule is to extend the 2 hour-controlled substances 

prescribing continuing education requirement outlined in DE 13.03 (1m) that was only in 

effect for the 2019 and 2021 license renewal periods. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None 

 

Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A 
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Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is responsible 

for the licensure and regulation of Dentists in Illinois, with input from the Illinois Board 

of Dentistry. The Illinois Board is also responsible for the promulgation of rules to 

implement certain sections of the Illinois Dental Practice Act. This Act contains 

requirements for dental practice, including continuing education. Illinois does not require 

specific continuing education coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled 

substances for the treatment of dental pain or an equivalent topic [225 Illinois Complied 

Statutes ch. 25; Illinois Administrative Code Title 68, Chapter 8, Subchapter b, Part 1220, 

Section 1220.440]. 

 

Iowa: The Iowa Dentistry Board is responsible for the licensure and regulation of 

Dentists in Iowa. Listed in the Iowa Administrative Code are the requirements for dental 

practice, including continuing education. Iowa requires each licensed dentist who has 

prescribed opioids during a renewal period to complete at least 1 hour of continuing 

education on the topic of opioids, which can count toward the 30 required hours for that 

renewal period. This 1 hour of continuing education content needs to include “guidelines 

for prescribing opioids, including recommendations on limitations of dosages and the 

length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and nonopioid and nonpharmacological 

therapy options.” [650 Iowa Administrative Code ch. 25]. 

 

Michigan: The Michigan Board of Dentistry is responsible for the licensure and 

regulation of Dentists in Michigan. Act 368 Article 15 of the Michigan Compiled Laws 

includes the regulations for dentistry in Michigan, among several other occupations. 

These regulations include requirements for continuing education. Michigan does not 

require specific continuing education coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled 

substances for the treatment of dental pain or an equivalent topic [Michigan Compiled 

Laws s. 333.166]. 

 

Minnesota: The Minnesota Board of Dentistry is responsible for the licensure and 

regulation of Dentists in Minnesota. Part 3100 of the Minnesota Administrative Code 

includes the regulations for dentistry in Minnesota, including the requirements for 

continuing education. Minnesota does not require specific continuing education 

coursework on the topic of prescribing controlled substances for the treatment of dental 

pain or an equivalent topic [Minnesota Administrative Rules part 3100.5100]. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:  

The Board reviewed Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter DE 13 to determine what 

changes were needed to update the controlled substances prescribing continuing 

education requirement. 
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Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rule was posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 

economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 

government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 

Agency contact person: 

Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 

Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O. 

Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-267-7139; email at 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, 

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 

Madison Yards Way, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received on or before the public 

hearing January 4, 2023, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1 DE 13.03 (1m) is amended to read: 

 

DE 13.03 (1m) RESPONSIBLE PRESCRIBING PRESCRIBING CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

CONTINUING EDUCATION. The 30 credit hours of continuing education shall include 2 

hours in the topic of responsible prescribing of controlled substances for the treatment of 

acute dental pain. This subsection applies to the bienniums ending in 2019 and 2021. 

 

SECTION 2 EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on 

October 1, 2023. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 


